New podcast: Seahawks @ Falcons preview

September 10th, 2020 | Written by Rob Staton

In the latest podcast Robbie and I run through the season opener in Atlanta. Please spread the word for the new podcast, share and like the video on YouTube and let us know what your thoughts are on the game in the comments section.

480 Responses to “New podcast: Seahawks @ Falcons preview”

  1. #77Hawk says:

    So far This year Pocic has accomplished what I hoped he would. Wishing you the best Ethan!

    • Sea Mode says:

      Let’s hope so…

      Gregg Bell
      @gbellseattle
      ·1h

      Russell Wilson says his new center Ethan Pocic “has really stepped up…he’s really on it.” Says his three previous years of extra meetings, blitz-pickup work with Pocic is paying off now.

  2. Steve Nelsen says:

    I hope the Seahawks season is like this blog. Started good and kept getting better!

    I think Russ is too much for Atlanta with everyone healthy.

  3. Ashish says:

    That’s good start for the series. Since I know you’re rational in your analysis hope to see hawks doing positive to change your views. I’m not saying we are great or something but there’s hope because we seen in past. Though past does not guarantee anything just gives you HOPE. My prediction hawks win with 31-21

  4. Sea Mode says:

    I’ll believe it when I see it, but ok.

    Gregg Bell
    @gbellseattle
    ·1h

    K.J. Wright cuts to the chase on #Seahawks not going to play so much base 4-3 this season. They are going more nickel because they love Marquise Blair. “We gotta have Marquise on the field this year.”

  5. BobbyK says:

    Huge drop from from Clowney to Mayowa/Irvin and another huge drop from Woods next to Reed (with Poona as depth) to Poona next to Reed with no depth.

    The positives are the Atlanta OL sucks almost as bad as our DL sucks.

    I know Robinson won’t get many snaps in the first game of his career, but I’ll be looking for flashes/potential from him because he is the only guy with legit potential to be good (Reed doesn’t count because he is already good and the only DL who can say-so when you have older guys like Mayowa and Irvin… you know what you’ve got and what it is isn’t very good).

  6. charlietheunicorn says:

    The cross talk brought up something interesting, Seahawks OL has good size while the Falcons DL is on the small side. Just bulldoze them and you can win the game. With a new right side for Seattle, this might be an advantage. Bring the nasty and bulldoze some fools.

    I would love to see Russ cook, but this might be a game to let him bake ;D

  7. Mike says:

    All I can say, is im ready to see what predictions and assumptions we’ve made over the last few months get validated, or get debunked. Either way, itll be good to have concrete football performances to talk about again. Im glad we can move beyond the clowney saga, even though it didn’t work how we wanted.

    If the DL is as bad as we think, and the team falls short, so be it. This offseason is by and large over now. The moves and decisions have been made. If its subpar, we can talk about the development of the guys we got. Or the options for next offseason.

    Any way you skin it, it’s something new.

    • BobbyK says:

      The Atlanta OL is pretty horrendous. Even if the DL has a decent game against them – I’m not going to think the DL has been validated. They would then need to have a good game against NE the following weekend, too. Then I will be (hopefully) pleasantly surprised.

      • Mike says:

        True. But at least we can talk about the hawks in the context of a real performance again.

        Also, im already missing Jacob Martin just from his one sack.

  8. Rob Staton says:

    Duane Brown’s week so far:

    Wednesday — limited practise (knee)
    Thursday — did not practise (knee)

    Concerning.

    • BobbyK says:

      No doubt!

    • Sea Mode says:

      From the sound of it, we had better get used to it. Kinda like Lynch and his back or Bennett and his toe.

    • #77Hawk says:

      Yes and they have a few players on the team who can play LT. The question is can any of them pass protect or run block in the NFL, but at least we can be sure they will look good in the huddle & lining up.

    • charlietheunicorn says:

      Who is the back-up LT? I honestly have no idea.

      • cha says:

        Ogbuehi, who has been nursing a sore shoulder.

        Probably Jamarco Jones behind him.

        • #77Hawk says:

          Former USC LT & Giants OT Chad Wheeler. He looks good getting off the bus. Seriously though Hawks have no excuse, after previous years experience, they must be better at back up LT than last year, otherwise what’s the point of any of this. They had the $$, the time, they didn’t cut Britt when they could have.

    • cha says:

      Today’s frustration with the media

      Joe Fann asked Schottenheimer “How’s Duane doing?” and Schottenheimer gave a stock answer about how long he’s been in the league, he’s a talent, leadership, etc.

      And then no followup about it.

      So was Joe just generally asking how Duane is? Or was he trying to get some insight on the injury and decided not to follow up? I can’t tell.

      Good grief.

    • GoHawksDani says:

      That sounds “awesome”. So cool that we have plenty cash and draft picks to get a successor. Ohh wait… At least it’s not one of the most important position…ohh wait…
      PCJS dropped the ball hard it’s gonna be hard to watch what happens at LT for the years to come

  9. Rob Staton says:

    Maybe the Seahawks should get someone like Frank Clark.

  10. Scot04 says:

    Jacob Martin already with a sack

  11. Bmseattle says:

    Not sure whether to laugh or be extremely annoyed.

  12. CaptainJack says:

    Both Jacob Martin and David Johnson playing well… BOB doesn’t get enough credit

  13. Sea Mode says:

    So David Johnson can still run, and Jacob Martin can still sack…

  14. Sea Mode says:

    Charles Robinson
    @CharlesRobinson

    What it looks like when two Brinks trucks pull up next to each other at a stoplight.

    https://twitter.com/CharlesRobinson/status/1304227340021567489

  15. Troy says:

    CEH looking good…who woulda thought?

  16. RWIII says:

    Midway through the third quarter. The Chiefs are up 24-7. Patrick Mahomes is. 1) Super smart. 2) Super quick/slippery 3)Super accurate. 4) The Chiefs have a BOATLOAD of WEAPONS. 5) The Chiefs play calling is the best I have seen in a long long time.

  17. Troy says:

    So I’m salty. Players playing well this game which could easily be Seahawks:
    Frank Clark
    Jacob Martin
    CEH

  18. Pran says:

    typical BOB’s game…fall behind, garbage time yards, boring…all check.

  19. DougK says:

    While of some interest on how we did last year against the Falcons, I feel it is of limited use comparing last year’s Hawks squad vs last year’s Falcons’s squad. Yes, the core of the rosters are about the same but I feel there are enough differences to warrant such comparisons somewhat moot. We’ll see how the game plays out, but if you think not much has changed then it seems like you are saying the Hawks will get off to a strong start only to see the Falcons’s have their way with the Hawks in the second half. You may be totally right, but if so I think it will be for other reasons than last year’s performance. I’m hoping we exceed my expectations!

  20. charlietheunicorn says:

    TNF = Crap game #1 of the season.

    Texans got smoked, not even as close as the score indicates.

  21. Sea Mode says:

    Now everybody knows what we here already knew: the league is gonna regret big-time letting CEH slip to the Chiefs.

  22. EranUngar says:

    In 10 years with PC the Seahawks won away on day 1 only once. Not a great stat to be optimistic about.

    This game should provide some answers regarding this team. Both teams boast a franchise QB surrounded with ample talent at all skill positions (5th and 6th in yards per game last year). On the other side of the ball they are the opposite of each other. While the Seahawks ride in with a great back 7 behind a very questionable DL, ATL chose to invest in adding Fowler to Gardy Jarrett and Takkarist McKinley while ignoring a questionable secondary (with the possible exception of Keano Neal coming of a serious injury).

    Can the Seahawks play good defense and win in spite of the DL is the greatest question riding into 2020. This game can start answering it.

    On the bright side, if they actually win it (And I predict they will), there is another stat we should consider –

    During the PCJS era, whenever the Seahawks win the first game of the season away from home – THEY WIN THE SB!!!

    • Rob Staton says:

      One game won’t provide answers.

      Regarding the D-line in particular, it won’t provide a complete answer until the playoffs or decisive NFC West games.

      If the Seahawks win a few games because of Wilson, that won’t be progress. Progress and the D-line not costing them will mean getting to the NFCCG or the Super Bowl.

    • All I see is 12s says:

      Not sure that’s true. Off the top of my head… Last season we won the season opener on the road against Cincinnati. In 2013 they won the season opener on the road against Carolina.

  23. DC says:

    Deshaun Watson misses Nuke Hopkins…offense isn’t the same without him.

  24. GoHawksDani says:

    In all honest: CEH looked superb but he’d probably suck as a Hawk. He’s not a break tackle from DL kind of runner which this offense and OL demands. He’s slippery, quick and can break LB/secondary tackles. Will be successful with the Chiefs but wouldn’t be as successful with us.

    • Rob Staton says:

      He’d look awesome as a Hawk.

      And he breaks loads of tackles.

    • cha says:

      Were we watching the same game?

      He ran up the middle and broke tackles more than once.

      • GoHawksDani says:

        He’s not a goal line runner. Got stuffed like 4 times in the game. Not saying he’s not an awesome RB after some exp could easily be top3 in the league. But I think he has a better home with KC than it would with SEA. Taylor or Akers would seem like a better fit style-wise

    • AlaskaHawk says:

      On the touchdown run I watched, he broke a linebackers leg tackle in the hole, juked the safety and ran 20 plus yards for the touchdown. I thought it was a good advertisement for having a great linebacker and safety squad.

  25. SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

    Chiefs are a loaded! Watson absolutely misses Hopkins. Outstanding QB s in last night games. This next AFC version of Tom Brady/Payton Manning obviously different playing styles, but the many AFC playoff/championship games we will be seeing these two play. So thankful football is back. Looking forward to Sunday. My time of the year. Go Hawks!

    • Big Mike says:

      More likely it’ll be Mahomes/Lamar rather than Mahomes/Watson imo. Ravens a very well run franchise……….Texans, um not so much.

      • DC says:

        Maybe Mahomes/Jackson in the playoffs, but Watson can sling it better than Lamar. Unfortunately Watson is in Houston.

        What ever were the Bears thinking with Trubisky? Tall and strong arm, 1st round pick lol. Never mind the guy that took down Alabama with a sheer will to win.

      • SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

        I would like to see Lamar keep doing it for a couple more years. Time will tell about the Houston Texans…fleeced us a third round pick and Jacob Martin.

  26. cha says:

    Tom Pelissero
    @TomPelissero
    The #Cowboys are signing DE DeMarcus Lawrence to a one-year voidable extension for salary cap purposes, converting $15 million of his 2020 base salary to a signing bonus and clearing $12M in cap space this year, source said.
    7:07 AM · Sep 11, 2020

  27. Happy Hawk says:

    * The DL sucks
    * The OL sucks
    * The Coach sucks
    * The Coordinators suck
    * The GM sucks
    * The Ownership sucks
    * Last year’s draft choices suck
    * This year’s draft choices suck
    * The Adams trade sucks
    * Losing Clowney sucks
    * The Off season sucks
    * The star QB is unhappy which sucks
    * No 12’s allowed in the stands sucks
    * Lost all of next year’s draft picks and cap space for 2021 which sucks
    * Someone yesterday referred to the Hawks as “Seachickens” from the old FC West days which I hadn’t heard for a decade – which of course sucks
    Tough way to kick off the season
    Somebody give me a silver lining to cling to!

    • cha says:

      Username most definitely does not check out

    • Ashish says:

      Things didn’t go well for us Hawks this offseason which everyone agrees. How bad it is only time will tell. We get excited with CLM who was selected after Brooks but only time will tell real value (see Todd Gurley). Guys lets just calm down and enjoy the season and hopping for the best.

    • pdway says:

      there’s probably 25 teams in the league that would swap rosters and coach/gm combos with us right now . . .

      it ain’t all bad.

      • Scott says:

        I think this team is a pretty fair distance away from a top 6 roster. They have some very good pieces, but it’s m opinion that you simply cannot have a top 6 roster when both the OL and DL’s are such huge question marks.

        • pdway says:

          I’d disagree. I think all the off-season criticism on here is totally fair and warranted.

          But it’s also easy to stare so hard at the trees that you lose sight of the forest.

          My two cents – –

          clearly better rosters: Ravens, Chiefs, Niners,
          better roster (but their QB is 41): Saints
          others in similar boat to us: Cowboys, Packers, Vikings
          let’s see if their QB’s career-best season was a fluke: Titans

          So, that’s 8 . . and really, if pressed, I wouldn’t trade rosters w any of the above teams outside the top 3.

      • McZ says:

        They would take our QB and possibly our leading MLB. Not so sure about the rest.

    • evan says:

      * the air quality sucks too

  28. JLemere says:

    Forbes has Seahawks valued at $3.075 billion. Probably the sell price would end up at $4 billion.

  29. I think Dak might want 40 million a year. Anyway Rob I have question for every day I read another team is modified a player contact . Either with extension or some kinda bonus . The Seahawks hmm never really do this I can’t seem recall were a player turned some portion of his contact into a signing bonus of a sort. Any thoughts

    • Rob Staton says:

      I think it’s because Seattle’s roster is perfectly constructed with the greatest secondary ever to grace the game and their 17 sack safety who’s also going to play defensive tackle if Jarran Reed gets hurt. Thus, no need to spend any more money.

      On a serious note, it baffles me how they can be so aggressive some of the time and sit on their hands and be conservative the rest.

    • Logan Lynch says:

      SEA did this when they traded for Duane Brown. Doug restructured his contract before the regular season started to give them some space and then Russ did it in order for Brown to fit.

  30. cha says:

    Friday Press Conf w PC

    [john boyle] Exccited to see what team looks like? “Dying to see where we are. Don’t know until you get out there and match it up and see what happens. Experienced FB players and staff. Really looking forward to it.”

    [joe fann] Duane, just rest or managing knee? “Managed him through camp. Been around a long time, wanted to make sure we take care of him. Regulars system managing, will be same for while. ”
    [joe] Able to put “rest” as option? “yes.”

    [ben Arthur] Starting RCB? Dunbar & Flowers unique qualities? “Both guys similar in stature, ability to run and cover. Dunbar more experience, tell by style. Both will play but let you know at gametime who will start. Best we’ve seen from Trey. Comp helped us.”
    [ben] Dunbar legal troubles, focus on football? “Loves playing, being back with us. Anxious to find out about our culture, captured by that. No distraction from work and study time. Good for him to get going, become part of team. Newness there. Worked well.”

    [bob condotta] Dorsett health? Impact WR? “Sore foot get through. Rested him today, see what happens. Moore ready to go. Best on it he’s ever been. Swain’s done a nice job. Anxious to see him, no hesitation playing Freddie.”

    [brady Henderson] Cedric out Sunday, how much seen? Big part of offense? “Capable of both sides of tackle and TE spot. Really good at it. Likely be able to do that for us.”

    [Curtis crabtree] Collier starter on unofficial depth? Seen? “Better shape than year ago. Healthier, quicker, stronger, made it through camp healthy. Much more to his ability level. Good camp, chance to start in this game, he’s earned it. Played well.”
    [Curtis] Skill? “Quickness, length, good technician, high motor.”

    [Gregg bell] Concerning is Dorsett issue? Josh Gordon? “Don’t’ know how long it’s going to be. One day at a time. Philip good camp. Can’t respond on Gordon.”
    [Gregg] Knew about Dorsett? “No, had not known about it for him, found it during camp.”

    [tim booth] KJ 10th season, important to have a guy that long? “Great team guy, competitive guy. Smart player, gracious w other players, mentors them along. Tough, physical, best year last year. Really good w flexibility in his game. One of my all time favorites. Great camp, recovered from shoulder surgery, didn’t miss a day.”

    [jen m] Hyde/Carson compare to former RBs coached? “Yes, very similar. Really physical on that attack and bring it. Similar to Lendale White. Thick and heavy runner. Great balance, pad level, over 230lb. Chris, looks really good when running w the rock. Who plays? Both play. Sometimes you rotate, sometimes you go with the guy that is hot.”

    [michael shawn dugar] Convo with Corey Booker? What expect? “Impressed w him, followed him for a while. Steve (Kerr) stumbled into it as well. Standup against the odds and battle for what he thinks is right. Great competitor.”
    [michael] Racism speech 2 weeks ago? Feel diff than Bennett w LV police in 2017? “Opp to keep learning, growing, understanding things more clearly. Been clamoring about this for a long time. Way back in the LA days. Don’t know that I had the right words to say along the way. Feel very strongly about what I said.”

    • cha says:

      [corbin] Dissly limited yesterday, good to go for game. Recover in camp? “Coaches held him back through camp, ready to go. Phenomenal offseason. Never missed a minute. Great camp, he’s fine. Ready to go.”

      [joe fann] Ups from practice squad this weekend? “Can wait until 90 minutes before game time.”

      [bob condotta] Secondary w Jamal and Quandre, eager? “Really excited. Group has identity and energy, excited to play together. One of my fav aspects of the game. Gonna be real significant part of our FB team this year.”

      [Gregg bell] Business as usual or new aspects? “Part of the flow, dealing w new aspects. Everything different. Nothing feels the same. Adapted to change, have to take care of business. Testing part, locker room, how many can come in to locker room, sidelines. Won’t change way to coach the game, just the lead up to it. Stops along the way remind different.”
      [Gregg] friends, family in locker room off limits? “Yes, very specific, very strict. Leaving hotel, leaving room, very tight. All for it. Elements you can’t control to worry about. NFL and NFLPA decided on regimen.”

      “Brian Schnieder left team for personal reasons, Larry Izzo taking ST over.”

    • pdway says:

      good stuff. man, I really hope Dissly can stay healthy and gets the chance to play a full season. For the on-field production of course, but also because he seems like one of the good guys, and has worked so hard to get back twice.

    • Ashish says:

      Amazing 👏 thanks for sharing. This video needs to be played every day 5 times in locker room, before the game and at half time.

  31. Rob Staton says:

    That press conference really pissed me off.

    A question accusing Pete for not doing his ‘speech’ on social justice three years ago.

    This is a man who has worked for years and years to do his bit in the community and to support this cause.

    Absolutely ridiculous.

    Pete doesn’t have to justify anything.

    • cha says:

      Very strange way of coming at Pete over that. Felt like MSD had been just waiting to pounce on that.

      I remember as a UW fan hating PC and then seeing the stories about him driving through the gang infested areas at 2am to help kids. That’s someone who’s rolled their sleeves up and got to work on a thorny issue.

      • Rob Staton says:

        I saw a tweet of his after Pete dedicated a press conference to the topic and spoke passionately about the cause (in a way no other coach has done). The tweet said, ‘well done’ and then ‘why wasn’t it done sooner?’

        It really pissed me off. And now this too. Go and watch the 60 minutes feature on Pete when he was still at USC. Anyone who has followed the Seahawks over the last decade knows FULL WELL how supportive Pete is of his players and the important causes within society.

        You’re seriously going to have a go at him for the timing of his impassioned press conference?

        That really boiled my piss. Like I said, Pete doesn’t have to justify anything or answer to anyone on the work he has done. Having a go at him over this was a staggering low blow and completely unnecessary.

        • cha says:

          I thought Pete was very gracious in his answer. He didn’t like MSD calling it a ‘speech’ and was gonna say something when MSD prodded him with the ‘hear what I’m saying?’ remark, but kept his cool.

          • Rob Staton says:

            On the second question Pete looked to the side and smiled, composed himself, and answered professionally.

            Kept his cool when he needed to.

            But I think we could all see what he was thinking.

            • Big Mike says:

              So reporters won’t ask tough questions about the stated offseason priority yet this guy calls Pete out for something that was utter bullshit, SMDH.

              If I had a guess, I’d say this guy had political intent with something that seems to easily be classified as an attack.

              • SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

                Exactly. His agenda not in line with asking about pass rush and defensive line depth guess? If you gonna attack Pete on social issues at least be consistent and ask the hard questions on the team your employed to cover? What gives?1

              • TomLPDX says:

                I read all of MSD’s articles on the Athletic and they have historically been very good but now they are getting more and more preachy. To the point where I skip through. I get the feeling he is the self-appointed spokesman for the social injustices that have been occurring for longer than he has been alive. I hope he regains his balance. Taking it out on Pete is just weird.

  32. Sam says:

    Any thoughts on Collier getting the start? Also, have they announced who is going to return kicks this year? I don’t recall anyone asking in the press conference.

    • Rob Staton says:

      It says Tyler Lockett on the depth chart but I guess we’ll see.

      I don’t really have many thoughts on Collier getting the start. Only that it says it all about Rasheem Green.

      • #77Hawk says:

        Green is 23 & Collier is 25 age difference is a huge factor when your in your early 20’s. Isaiah Wilson is a perfect example of that.

  33. charlietheunicorn says:

    Good Job Bill O’Brien. If you don’t get fired by mid season, then we know you have some dirty pictures of the owner in your back pocket for leverage. Texans look solid, except they have ZERO explosive players on offense.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Let’s have some perspective here.

      They lost to the Chiefs on the road. In the first game of the season. Against the Super Bowl champions. Who have the best player in the league at quarterback.

      Maybe the Chiefs are just pretty good?

    • cha says:

      The Seahawks look solid except they have zero explosive pass rushers on the defensive line.

      Gonna be calling for Pete’s head by mid season?

      • charlietheunicorn says:

        SURE. IF YOU NEED SOMEONE TO SRIT THE POT ON THE BLOG 😉

        I would giuve them much more leash than O’Brien. He has given away multiple players and picks for pretty much pennies on the dollar. The rhyme or reason for the moves is also haphazard at best. At least PC/JS seem to have a goal, even if it doesn’t always pan out.

        • GerryG says:

          The O’Brien pile on is a little bit much imo.
          1) Tunsil. He had to get a LT to protect his franchise qb. His mistake was not getting the contract in place first. A big error, but the acquisition was solid.
          2) Clowney. He got a third rd pick (better and sooner than the comp pick) and a young cheap pass rusher that is still contributing. Seattle didn’t get squat. Look JCs FA market. He was never going to command much in trade value.
          3) Hopkins. Ok, flame away. This deal is terrible.

          • Rob Staton says:

            The Hopkins trade also needs some context though.

            He’s just agreed a preposterous $27.25m contract per year in Arizona. If he was making crazy demands of Houston, when they had to pay the QB and LT, then they were never going to come to an agreement there. And there was some talk of him becoming a disruption.

            Not a great trade in terms of compensation. But maybe understandable given the circumstances. And they’ve tried to replace him with Cooks, who is a good player albeit one with major health issues.

            • Pran says:

              that 27.25$ per year is year 4 and year 5. if you look at contract average its only 18ish

              • Rob Staton says:

                My point still stands.

                It’s an enormous contract and Houston had to pay other people.

                • Pran says:

                  they do need to pay other people..he is one of top 3 WRs in the league. its a fair compensation. Houston made their choice on who to retain.

                  • God of Thunder says:

                    In my book (so take it with a grain of salt), for that kind of compensation, you get from your player both production and character.

                    I suspect the Texans saw something they didn’t care for.

  34. cha says:

    One fun thing Sunday will be seeing the offensive combinations the Hawks lay out. They have so many options with their depth, and can disguise their intentions by the versatility of their TEs.

    Imagine a 2 TE set with Olsen and Dissly inline. Lockett and DK split wide with half a step of room off the line. Carson or Hyde in the backfield. There’s so many different things you can do with a setup like that.

    Motion a TE and overload the line on one side and run the ball down their throats.

    Or have both TE chip and release into the flat and run DK and Lockett deep.

    Or have the WRs run crossing routes and find a TE in the deep seam.

    • charlietheunicorn says:

      I think it will be….. great to see guys hit each other on the field!

    • BobbyK says:

      Agreed. Can the OL be decent enough to allow all of this to happen? That’s the question.

      I’ve always heard that if you want to be good/great that you need to win in the trenches. The Seahawks are set up to be a good team in spite of the trenches. How is this going to play out? IDK. Even if the DL looks good week 1 – I won’t get too excited because the Falcons OL sucks. But week two…

  35. Sea Mode says:

    Is this for real…?

    Gregg Bell
    @gbellseattle
    ·6h

    #Seahawks didn’t know WR Phillip Dorsett had a longer-term foot issue when they signed him this offseason.

  36. Nico says:

    Rob,

    1. Given that we are at the start of the season, could you do a review showing potential free agent, trade and draft prospects for next year? It may be interesting to compare what we see the needs of the Seahawks are now with the expected availability of different players now vs where they may be at the end of the season. (I’m primarily curious about what kind of quality we might expect for the lines and Tight end positions)

    2. I’ve see some commenters on this and other blogs suggest that this year might mirror 2012 primarily in the expected performance of the secondary and linebackers vs the D Line. Do you see any similarities or do you think that there is no real correlation between years?

    Really appreciate all you do. It’s been a pleasure to read your columns for the past 10 years. My father and I have had quite a few late night discussions about your analysis and where we perceive the needs of the Hawks are.

    Cheers mate

    • Rob Staton says:

      1. It’s a bit early Nico. Nobody knows what the cap will be next year so I can’t project who will hit the market. Players like Von Miller ‘might’ be available but he might re-do his deal in Denver and there will be a hot market for him. The Seahawks are not predictable in terms of spending. It’s also too early for the draft and projecting the next class will be a mess I’m afraid unless there’s a decent chunk of CFB.

      2. I think that’s part wishful thinking, desperation to validate what Seattle has or hasn’t done and revisionist history. The Seahawks had a FAR better DL in 2012. But it was still lacking and everyone was saying at the end of the season that they must get more. Thus, Bennett & Avril. This is a totally different situation. Diggs isn’t prime Earl. Griffin isn’t Sherm. Flowers isn’t Brandon Browner. They don’t have a nickel corner. Can Adams be Kam? He better bloody be for the price. And on the DL you’ve not got Clemons, Mebane or Bryant. You haven’t even got Alan Branch.

      Finally, thank you Nico for the kind words. I’ve had a lot of nonsense sent to me this year. 12 years of mainly positive reporting and now that I’ve criticised the team, I’ve received abuse, people telling me aggressively that they won’t read any more and people sending me stuff written on other sites and forums — like I really want to see other people slagging me off. So the thought of you and your dad sat having a conversation about something I’ve written is a perfect antidote and means a great deal to me. Thank you.

      • Peppapig says:

        “I’ve had a lot of nonsense sent to me this year. 12 years of mainly positive reporting and now that I’ve criticised the team, I’ve received abuse, people telling me aggressively that they won’t read any more and people sending me stuff written on other sites and forums — like I really want to see other people slagging me off”.

        Easy for me to say don’t worry about it.
        But I think Phuk ‘em.
        I think the content you produce here and the contribution by others is excellent.
        More input here than any other Seahawk site I know of.
        The more popular you get, the more the shit gets thrown at you.
        Looking forward to football.

        • Rob Staton says:

          It’s fine. I did a job for 10 years where after every post-game radio phone-in I did, I’d get hundreds of tweets after telling me to F-off or worse (several death threats). So a few people telling me they’re not arsed about the blog any more is water off a ducks back.

          But it has been irritating at times to see people completely miss the point. I was never being negative for the sake of it. I just want to talk about things that matter with the team. Not write fluff pieces so people can feel a bit better.

  37. Sea Mode says:

    Is this whole “voidable years” thing a cap loophole that needs to be closed? Seems like I hear more and more examples of it.

    Tom Pelissero
    @TomPelissero
    ·1h

    The #Saints tweaked DT Sheldon Rankins’ contract, adding two voidable years and clearing $4 million in 2020 salary cap space. He still is due about $7.7M this season and can be a free agent in March.

  38. Henry Taylor says:

    I do find it interesting how the Saints are so unconcerned about taking on future cap hits for players that wont be on their team, if the cap actually drops like they say it might theyll be in an enormous hole.

  39. Sea Mode says:

    Ah, crap.

    Adam Schefter
    @AdamSchefter
    ·20m

    Titans’ first-round pick Isaiah Wilson was arrested Friday night for a DUI, as @BuckReising reported.

    Titans: “We are aware of the situation. This is not conduct that is indicative of the character of our football team and we are working through details on how to proceed.”

    Ian Rapoport
    @RapSheet
    ·21m

    This is confirmed. #Titans OL Isaiah Wilson was released from prison early this morning.

    • schuemansky says:

      At least we didn’t waste our first round pick on him.
      Also twice on COVID-19 list this summer.
      Must be a really bright kid.

      • Sea Mode says:

        Eyewitness on police report said he was doing donuts in an intersection and crashed into concrete barrier… 😬

        TURRON DAVENPORT
        @TDavenport_NFL
        ·30m

        Tough sledding early for #Titans OL Isaiah Wilson. Two run-ins with the law, two times being placed on reserve Covid list and conditioning issues during camp. Mistakes happen, but not an ideal start for the 29th overall pick in what the Titans hope to be a special season.

  40. cha says:

    ProFootballTalk
    @ProFootballTalk
    Meanwhile, the AQI in Seattle is currently 219, which would make it impossible to play a game there tomorrow; next Sunday, the Seahawks host New England.
    Quote Tweet

    ProFootballTalk
    @ProFootballTalk
    · 2h
    California Air Quality Index could be a problem for both Cardinals-49ers and Cowboys-Rams https://wp.me/pbBqYq-bDNq
    8:32 AM · Sep 12, 2020

  41. Sea Mode says:

    Bye, Carson?

    Adam Schefter
    @AdamSchefter
    ·4m

    Vikings’ RB Dalvin Cook agreed to a five-year contract extension that ties him to Minnesota for the next six seasons, per sources.

    New money average is $12.5 per year, so five years, $62.5 million. Now it just needs to be signed.

  42. Sea Mode says:

    Lol. Seconds later…

    Ian Rapoport
    @RapSheet

    Sources: The #Saints & star RB Alvin Kamara have reached an agreement on a huge 5-year contract extension worth $75M in new money. He gets $77.133M overall and a $15M signing bonus. Kamara cashes in. Agent Damarius Bilbo of Klutch Sports did the deal. Money bag Money bag Money bag

  43. Sea Mode says:

    Footage of the Seahawks front office trying to sign Clowney this off-season:

    https://twitter.com/ElevenSportsBEn/status/1304811193958363140

  44. Big Mike says:

    Sure is nice to not automatically assume a loss because the team is playing at 10 AM Pacific time like was the case in the Holmgren days.

  45. Jeff Stufft says:

    Question about viewing. I don’t have cable or satelite only internet. Is there a way to view the game a day or more later than game day? Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Apparently they are replaying it in a condensed 60-minute version on Q13 Fox in Seattle.

      • charlietheunicorn says:

        Normally the night after the game is likely. The condensed version is the way to go, way less commercials and more action. They also trim some of the fat out of time outs and challenges.

    • Volume12 says:

      Should be able to download the Yahoo sports app and watch games that way.

    • Sea Mode says:

      NFL GamePass is the official, recommended way you can watch replays at any time. They also have a condensed version that lasts about 40 min. (snap to snap, hardly any replays) and you can even watch all-22 or jump to certain plays within a game.

      If you, um, like to watch in HD, then you might also google “nflfullhd” and see what comes up.

      • Big Mike says:

        And if you’re in a city, an over the air antennae attached into your coaxial input will usually get you the game via your local FOX/NBC/CBS station (FOX this week).

    • Aaron says:

      Yahoo Sports and NFL apps will let you watch primetime and local games on a phone or tablet for free, but not a TV. If you’re out of the Seattle market then NFL Gamepass is your best option.

    • DC says:

      There is also a Seahawks app that claims you can watch the game while in the local area. Will test drive it tomorrow. I believe it’s live only though.

    • Largent80 says:

      Here’s a useful map for network broadcasts in your area.

      https://506sports.com/

  46. Sea Mode says:

    Time will tell. Let’s see how many get burned ala Gurley.

    I’ve added APY and the guarantees in parenthesis, as well as Zeke for comparison.

    Albert Breer
    @AlbertBreer
    ·1h

    Running back deals this offseason …

    Christian McCaffrey, Carolina: 4 yrs, $64M, $16M/apy (3 yrs, $39M)
    Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas: 6 yrs, $90m, $15M/apy (4 yrs, $50M)
    Alvin Kamara, New Orleans: 5 yrs, $75M, $15M/apy (3 yrs, $34M)
    Derrick Henry, Tennessee: 4 yrs, $50M, $12.5M/apy (2 yrs, $25M)
    Dalvin Cook, Minnesota: 5 yrs, $62.5M, $12.5M/apy (2 yrs, $28M)
    Joe Mixon, Cincinnati: 4 yrs, $49.2M, $12M/apy (2 yrs, $20.5M)

    (Check back in 2 years on these.)

    Y’all can let me know if I got any of that wrong. The ones with only 2 guaranteed years look best to me if we will look to keep Carson (and you know PC probably will unless he completely falls apart this season…)

    • Sea Mode says:

      Speak of the devil…

      PFF SEA Seahawks
      @PFF_Seahawks
      ·5m

      Chris Carson had the 6th-best rushing grade (79.8) among RBs last season (min. 150 attempts).

      Carson also forced 62 missed tackles in the run game, ranking 3rd among RBs. #Seahawks

  47. charlietheunicorn says:

    Ian Rapoport
    @RapSheet
    ·21m

    This is confirmed. #Titans OL Isaiah Wilson was released from prison early this morning.

    Hum… it would be jail, not prison. Just saying.

  48. charlietheunicorn says:

    Isaiah Wilson

    Let’s not completely give up on the kid already. He is obviously an immature “too” young person, needing to grow up. But he has a chance with the right mentors around him. It just is sad to see someone with such an opportunity start down the wrong path so early in his career.

    • Gohawks5151 says:

      Haha. Like people give up on Penny, Collier and Taylor? Injuries are largely uncontrollable. This was a choice

      • #77Hawk says:

        Pocic too! He can’t even get respect after winning the starting Center job! Isaiah Wilson is too young right now, kids make mistakes, it’s a long term investment.

    • Scott says:

      I lost my brother because of a drunk driver. I have zero sympathy for anyone who drives drunk. The immature kid excuse is crap.

    • Rob Staton says:

      The Seahawks have a WILL linebacker of the future.

      But no left tackle of the future.

      And their LT is 35 and already missing pretty much a full week of practise… before week one.

      • TomLPDX says:

        ..and his primary backups are out or ill. This sucks Rob. I know you are being snarky/honest but the truth really is starting to sink in. Saints (no, not NO) preserve us!

    • Big Mike says:

      Nothing gives me confidence like the thought of Chad Wheeler protecting our HOF QB’s blind side. Can you say “Bradley Sowell”? I knew that you could.

  49. cha says:

    Ian Rapoport
    @RapSheet
    The #Rams and WR Cooper Kupp have reached an agreement on a 3-year contract extension worth up to $48M, per me and
    @MikeGarafolo
    . Los Angeles has done work the last few days, with Jalen Ramsey going first and now Kupp. Time for football.
    9:48 AM · Sep 12, 2020<

  50. cha says:

    I’m locked in my room with my AC on. I think my throat will close up if I go outside with the air quality as it is.

    So here’s an alternative offseason. As close to reality as I could get. Unless specifically mentioned, all other contracts stay the same.

    Finney, Shell, and Hyde signings never happened. That saves about $9.7m

    Let’s sign some of the guys the Seahawks really wanted, but be a little more real-world and team friendly.

    Sign Irvin for $5m (Still a 25% raise)
    Sign Mayowa for $2m (Still a 17% raise)
    Sign Ogbuehi for $1.2m (still a 61% raise)
    Tender Hollister at original round RFA for $2.1m (Still a 300% raise…!!!)
    Either extend Britt and lower the cap hit to what his dead hit is, or bring him back at a similar number

    Saves $4m and change

    So we have almost $14m to spend. But let’s get some more.

    Rework Tyler Lockett’s contract to get more competitive as Rob suggested. Sign him to something like 3yr $55m. Save $4m of cap room in 2020
    Rework RW’s contract in conjunction with one of the signings below. Save $7m of cap room in 2020

    So that’s roughly $25m to spend. Let’s go shopping!

    Give Jack Conklin the same contract he got with Cleveland. $8m 2020 hit
    Trade 4th rd pick (#133, Parkinson in real life) to Jax for Calais Campbell and give him the same contract Baltimore did. $10m 2020 cap hit.
    Sign Everson Griffen $6m 2020 cap hit.

    Now, that frees you up in the draft. I didn’t go crazy with trades or create any weird scenarios where a player fell that didn’t in real life.

    27 CEH
    59 Willie Gay
    69 Damien Lewis
    101 Saadhiq Charles
    144 DJ Dallas
    148 Alton Robinson

    So Lewis, Dallas and Robinson are still Seahawks.

    They don’t have to reach for a pass rusher. Instead of Taylor they add a projectable LB at a much more affordable spot AND a LT to groom behind Duane Brown.

    2020 Seahawk primary players

    QB RW, Geno
    RB Carson, CEH, Homer, Dallas
    LT Brown, Charles
    LG Iupati, Haynes, Simmons
    C Britt, Pocic, Fuller
    RG Lewis, Jones
    RT Conklin, Ogbuehi
    TE Olsen, Dissly, Hollister
    WR Lockett, DK, Moore, Gordon

    SAM Irvin
    MIKE Wagner
    WILL KJ, Barton
    Backup LB Gay Barton BBK

    CB Griffin, Dunbar, Flowers
    S Adams, Diggs, Blair, Hill

    DE Griffen, Mayowa, Collier, Green, Robinson
    DT Reed, Poona, Campbell

    BONUS! You’re in a better position to negotiate with the Jets on the Adams trade. Let’s not go crazy though. Still trade 2 first rounders, but we’ll take that 2021 3rd round pick off the table, and sign Adams to an extension as a condition of the trade that has no cap change in 2020.

    Lines strengthened, fat trimmed, pass rush priority addressed.

  51. Trevor says:

    Can’t believe I am saying this but I can’t ever remember being less excited about a Seahawks season. I have been a Hawks fan for 38 years and this is the first time I have felt blah about game #1. Not sure if it is pandemic crap or all the political and social unrest that has now leaked into sports but things just don’t s.seem the same. Hope the spark comes back when the game comes on tomorrow but I miss the days of sports being an escape from the real world for fans.

    • Rob Staton says:

      I am looking forward to the game. Very much so. But I do share some of that reduced excitement. I think partly it’s the lack of fans and knowing this is a different season with a little less magic to it. Certainly though, it’s a feeling too that the Seahawks have not fixed the areas that needed to be fixed and I get the impression this is all going to be very predictable and that I could probably write an ‘end of season’ article for January right now.

      • Trevor says:

        I think that is part of it too. Nothing changed from last year with regards to addressing areas of weakness so to expect a different outcome seems a little silly.

        Football without fans is going to be so weird.

        One thing about having Russ though is you always have a chance each Sunday for a little magic. At least We have SDB still and it is greatly appreciated.

        • Rob Staton says:

          I’m mostly surprised as well that after months of everyone saying, ‘they’re not done yet’ — they’re just slinking into this first game, almost embarrassed, without actually doing anything to the D-line since the draft. They didn’t even sign a defensive tackle — something we all assumed was a nailed on certainty. Even writing this out again now it’s barely believable.

          If the Seahawks win tomorrow it’ll be 100% Russ.

        • lil’stink says:

          “Nothing changed from last year with regards to addressing areas of weakness”

          Not sure how you can say this with a straight face. Sounds like you just trying to score points with people. The secondary looks to be drastically improved. More speed and depth at LB. Drafted two promising edge defenders. More depth at RB and TE. Just because they didn’t make the moves we might want doesn’t mean they haven’t made improvements.

          • Rob Staton says:

            And I don’t know how you can get after Trevor for what he said with a straight face.

            No, the DL is NOT improved. At all.

          • Trevor says:

            The team weaknesses last year were OL and DL. Look at any stats or metrics. Do you really think they have improved in those two areas? How can you say that with a straight face.

            If you have ever read any of my previous posts you know I have never tried to score points with anyone. Grow up.

    • Aaron says:

      In a year of so much instability, I for one am glad we’ll have a stable, predictable, and uninspiring Seahawks season. Inject that into my veins!

      9-7

    • #77Hawk says:

      Not me I’m pumped up! 1 play at a time, 1 yard at a time, it doesn’t matter whose on the field. Monday thru Friday I will celebrate or cry.

    • pdway says:

      I know what you mean . . . but for me at least, a lot of it is this crazy stretch in the world. With Covid showing no signs of slowing, the fires down here in So Cal seeming apocalyptic, and the politics in our country in such a terrible/divisive place – it’s tough to feel upbeat about anything.

      That said, i’ve definitely enjoyed the nba playoffs, so i’m not underestimating sport’s ability to provide some needed distraction.

  52. charlietheunicorn says:

    Rob, are you going to do a “bold” predictions article prior to the game?

    Here is mine, Hyde will have over 100 yards of total offense.

  53. Adog says:

    Dissly two tds and a two pt conversion…

  54. charlietheunicorn says:

    In a new rule put in place this year, teams are allowed to elevate up to two players for a game, essentially creating a temporary 55-man roster, and those players can then go back to the practice squad after the game without having to pass through waivers.

    NEAT

  55. Darnell says:

    Really appreciate the efforts into producing frequent content Rob.

    Pre-covid my life was very social (work in academia, pickup hoops + the bar on Friday and Saturday nights). With work being entirely online, and gyms/bars being closed it means a lot to be able to access conversational content in areas which I am interested.

    Sports are largely inconsequential, but what you do matters.

  56. Sea Mode says:

    This guy wins Twitter for the week 😂:

    Gregg Bell
    @gbellseattle

    ·1h
    More folks wearing masks in Atlanta than I expected. #Seahawks team hotel particularly vigilant on it. Big dude at front door of lobby won’t let anyone in without a mask. Players sequestered inside their hotel. No visitors in lobby, even.

    Chris Carson, Bruce Irvin from here.

    Dan Cohen
    @DanCohen17
    ·1h

    Hey, if this big dude isn’t letting anyone past, is there he could line up at OT for #Seahawks tomorrow? 😂

  57. Big Mike says:

    Pete 1-5 in road openers does not bode well.
    Falcons 27, Hawks 24
    Nothing I’d like better today than to eat a heapin’ helpin’ of crow on that one.

  58. Sea Mode says:

    Bold or not-so-bold prediction, you decide: Grady Jarrett will have more sacks than the entire Seahawks DL today.

    • Trevor says:

      50/50 proposition I would say. Grady likely gets two sacks. The Atlantis OL is one of the leagues worst though and it is game #1 so the DL should have an advantage so if the Hawks area ever going to have some sacks it should be today. If they don’t things are even worse than expected.

  59. Sea Mode says:

    And he’s worth every penny…

    Chris Curtis
    @_ChrisCurtis
    ·1h

    Tony Romo ($17 million) is making more this season at CBS than any player on either the Dolphins or Patriots.

  60. Sea Mode says:

    2020 continues to amaze me…

    Ian Rapoport
    @RapSheet
    ·10m

    Help on the way for the #49ers? Sources say free-agent Ziggy Ansah, one of the top pass-rushers available, will be in SF today, going through COVID-19 testing in preparation for a workout Tuesday. His second visit to the #49ers, a sign of their interest.

    “one of the top pass-rushers available” = how much did his agent pay for this promo tweet…? 😂

  61. cha says:

    https://twitter.com/Seahawks/status/1304940104578859009

    Two Color Rush and one Wolf Grey this season

    Hopefully one of the Color Rush’s they wear the blue pants. That was sharp.

  62. Trevor says:

    Hawks come out flying today and Russ lights it up 38-34 with a red zone TD pass to Greg Olsen for the win in the final minute.

    • Trevor says:

      Bold prediction is Hawks continue one of the strangest streaks ever as being undefeated in the Russel Wilson era when the opposing teams QB throws for 400+ yards.

      I think Seattle is 8-0 under Pete Carroll when the opposing quarterback throws for more than 400 yards. Matt Ryan lights it up today in a loss and makes it 9-0.

  63. Huggie Hawks says:

    Just came here to say… Go Hawks 😎

  64. Sea Mode says:

    Oh, lookie here: our savior Alton Robinson (yes, the one who “dominated” all camp and will save our pass rush) is inactive today…

    Dorsett
    Dallas
    Robinson
    Walker
    Jones
    Ogbuehi

    https://twitter.com/seahawksPR/status/1305168371747446785

  65. WallaSean says:

    Seahawks go 11-5, but this year it wins a competitive NFC West.
    The D-line improves, slightly, the new edge rushers show some of the improved team speed. The D-line rotation allows players to play at their natural positions more often. Blitzing will be a weapon, not by frequency but by efficiency, shown more than used, but executed by more dynamic players all around. Irvin will be a key piece of this as both a blitzing LB and dropping into coverage as a DE. The D will continue to produce a good turnover margin. The improved coverage and team speed will be the most noticeable improvements. The mediocre D-line play will be just enough to allow playmakers to flash in what will be a top-20 defense that shows well on third down and red zone when it counts.
    The modest improvement on the defensive side will give the offense a chance to win games, and they will. A top 10 rushing attack will be more consistent with the improved depth at RB and TE. The new look line will improve as the season goes along, with early season focus on the run. The strong running game will give Wilson plenty of chances to work his play action magic as his strong finish to the season gives him a legitimate shot at MVP. 10-4 going in to the last 2 games, the Seahawks earn a playoff berth against the reeling niners to clinch the division. A playoff win against a division rival will put them in the NFC title game.
    Seahawks 30 Falcons 23, Seahawks get 2 rushing TD’s, 1+ sacks and we continue to worry about the DL through the bye week.

  66. Zane says:

    Concerns about the lines aside, is there a more dangerous skill group in the league?

    Wilson – Metcalf – Lockett – Olsen – Dissly – Carson

  67. cha says:

    Bob Condotta
    @bcondotta
    Seahawks GM John Schneider confirms on pregame radio show on
    @710ESPNSeattle
    that entire Seahawks team and staff tested negative for COVID-19 this morning. So far, no hiccups for Hawks.
    9:08 AM · Sep 13, 2020

    • Big Mike says:

      Chad Wheeler as your backup LT IS a hiccup Bob

    • WallaSean says:

      This could be a key for the season, Pete has stressed this all along. Guys are going to miss games eventually, if we have the advantage here it could really help us especially late in the season as injuries start to build.

  68. Rob Staton says:

    AlToN rObInSoN Is A bEaSt He iZ gOiNg To Be ThE sEcReT wEaPoN

    Alton Robinson: inactive

    Damontre Moore: On his sofa 2 weeks ago, now starting

    ‘Fixing the pass rush is our priority’

    • Rob Staton says:

      I have horrible 2008 Buffalo vibes about this game.

      That proved to be the beginning of the end for Holmgren.

      • Aaron says:

        Here’s the lowlights of that game..

        https://youtu.be/DEum31VIbFE

        The Hawks finished 4-12. This was Holmgren’s last year, and also Walter Jones’ last year.

        I don’t anticipate 4-12 and Pete, John, and Duane Brown all leaving. I do think the Hawks’ floor is 7-9 and I’m pretty sure this is Duane Brown’s last ride. He’s already missing most practice days in week 1…WEEK 1.

    • Henry Taylor says:

      Why on earth would he be inactive? Is he hurt? Were they just lying about him having a good camp?

      The Seahawks approach to the pass rush is just so strange.

      • Rob Staton says:

        It seems they are being overly cautious with rookies.

        And hey, at the end of the day I was never banking on Robinson as a fifth round rookie. The media overhyped him after a couple of good days at camp.

        But it says it all about the Seahawks pass rush that the decision to go with a guy who was a street free agent two weeks ago over a fifth round rookie feels so important.

  69. Rik says:

    Pete’s been raving about the play of Dallas and Robinson all training camp, but now puts them on the inactive list for the first game?!

    Was he trying to make our draft picks look better than they really are? Or is he that scared to have talented rookies on the field? Seahawks definitely under utilize rookies compared to many other teams, and to our detriment, I think. Use the cheap talent while it’s there. It ain’t like we sign many of them to 2nd contracts.

  70. cha says:

    Gregg Bell
    @gbellseattle
    As expected, Quinton Dunbar the starting right cornerback for #Seahawks pregame drills at Atlanta.
    9:30 AM · Sep 13, 2020

    Bob Condotta
    @bcondotta
    Pete Carroll on pregame radio show with
    @johnpboyle
    still hedging some on the RCB spot, saying Quinton Dunbar “will play some.” Sounds like could see both Dunbar and Tre Flowers out there.
    9:28 AM · Sep 13, 2020

    Why are the Hawks dithering around with this?

  71. CaptainJack says:

    Looking at this defensive line… We’re going to have to score early and often to win. That probably includes a defensive touchdown as well. Going to be hard to stop the falcons offense if Matt Ryan has all day to throw.

    Go Hawks, but I don’t feel extremely optimistic having to trot Damontre Moore out there.

  72. Scot04 says:

    Maybe they’re worried Robinson might prove to be more of a disruptive force than Collier. Sigh

  73. Volume12 says:

    Ya’ll ready? Felt like this was never getting here.

  74. Matt says:

    Bad feeling we get smoked today. Defense looks atrocious on the first 2 snaps.

  75. cha says:

    LJ Collier just exceeded his 2019 production.

    The rest is a bonus!

  76. Troy says:

    Holy shit LJ getting early pressure…encouraging!

  77. TJ says:

    It’s early, but Collier disrupting and causing an intentional grounding call against Ryan. I’ve got to say, I will be watching Collier closely today.

  78. Sea Mode says:

    Wonderful way to start the year offensively…

  79. Sea Mode says:

    Huge fortune on that PI call to bail us out of 3rd and forever…

  80. cha says:

    Wow. Was that a Seahawks drive or what?

    A couple sacks, a couple Carson hard nosed plays and RW passing perfection.

  81. Sea Mode says:

    Let’s go! Nice stop.

  82. Volume12 says:

    Adams is something else. Just everywhere. Fantastic stop.

  83. Bmseattle says:

    Short yardage defense comes up big.
    Surprised and impressed.

  84. Troy says:

    Early pressure from Mayowa and Collier…hype levels intensifying

  85. CaptainJack says:

    Pretty encouraged by how motivated the team seems to play. They are playing harder than ever even though there are no fans…. big factor is having both Russ and Jamal as motivators. Falcons look flat.

  86. AlaskaHawk says:

    Nice defensive play by Mayowa to bat the pass down. This is a promising start for the Seahawks.

  87. #77Hawk says:

    So far it looks like inside pass pressure is the weak spot on the DL but that’s Mack’s territory.

  88. cha says:

    OH MY GOODNESS WHAT A DRIVE

    That was butter

  89. Volume12 says:

    Right down the field.

  90. TJ says:

    Their offense is looking great! So many weapons.

  91. Sea Mode says:

    Well that was easy….

  92. Henry Taylor says:

    This pleases me

  93. AlaskaHawk says:

    I’m loving the way the offense is cutting through their defense. Russell Wilson getting in on the action with a long run. Lets see if the Seahawks have developed a killer instinct on offense and they will keep their foot on the gas pedal that whole game.

    • cha says:

      I think a called RW run is something they’ve gotten away from. Need one or two a game just to add an element of unpredictability to the offense.

  94. Trevor says:

    I guess they have thrown conservative out the window. Going to be fun to watch if Russ keeps playing at this level.

  95. Scot04 says:

    Beautifully setup screen pass for touchdown

  96. EP says:

    Mantra change for the Seahawks. Don’t establish the run early. Establish a lead early

  97. cha says:

    John Boyle
    @johnpboyle
    DE Rasheem Green has a shoulder injury, return questionable. #Seahawks
    10:35 AM · Sep 13, 2020

  98. Thomas Wells says:

    First quarter thoughts:

    Russ is in fire. We need this Russ every week to win a super bowl.

    Pass blocking has been suspect. Which leads to…

    Shotty is calling a great game. Love the short passing attack and screen game as a way to mitigate pressure. Carson looks great catching the ball

    • Thomas Wells says:

      Forgot to add: pass rush looks awful. Collier forced an Intentional grounding and Mayowa batted down a pass. Outside of those two plays Ryan has had all day

  99. Hawkcrazy says:

    Big problems on defense and stopping the run totally forseeable. Big time offense for Hawks also forseeable. Russ is cooking.

  100. Trevor says:

    As expected the secondary has no chance with the pass rush giving Ryan all day. Scary part is that the Atlanta OL is one of the worst in the league.

    Keep balling Russ we are going to need 35+

  101. Matt says:

    RW is winning the MVP this year. Our defense is ugly. Gonna be an interesting year – at least should see a ton of fire works on offense.

  102. Rob Staton says:

    This defense is EXACTLY what we thought it was.

  103. #77Hawk says:

    Atlanta scored the TD running at the DE. Inside pass pressure & DE run defense not looking good against Atlanta

  104. Bmseattle says:

    And, apparently the offensive line is what we feared it was

  105. Rob Staton says:

    Wilson is getting hammered back there.

  106. Scot04 says:

    Atlanta on the other hand; with the addition of Fowler gives them a pretty nice looking D-line. Although i guess anything would look better than ours.

  107. CaptainJack says:

    Not loving how the offensive line is holding up. That was a scary sack to watch

  108. Sea Mode says:

    Couldn’t that be a flag on Fowler for smacking Wilson in the face?

  109. #77Hawk says:

    Wilson held the ball too long! That series was not the best series of play calls against Atlanta.

  110. Hoggs41 says:

    Adams is a one man wrecking crew.

  111. Troy says:

    Jamal Adams sack…looks like gratefully, Carrol is playing to his strengths. Thank god

    • Lewis says:

      I had a feeling all the talk of Blair being nickel corner was more about going big nickel and keeping Adams be free to make plays

  112. Scot04 says:

    Could you imagine Adams with a strong D-line in front of him.

  113. HOUSE says:

    Adams is all over the place…

  114. SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

    This is what we need from Jamal to make up for our defensive line.

  115. TJ says:

    I guess we now know how Carroll plans to use Adams. He is everywhere and blitzing often.

  116. Volume12 says:

    Adams man. My goodness. 5 tackles, 2 PBU, a sack, and has taken multiple cutback lanes away.

  117. SoCal12 says:

    The more I watch him, the more I’m starting to see Jamal as Pete’s ideal safety.

  118. Volume12 says:

    Russ is getting banged. Help protect him.

    • Trevor says:

      That is the big problem with the whole let Russ cook therory where he drops back 40 times a game. This OL is just not good enough to do that he will get killed. He might not get through game #1 at this rate.

  119. Trevor says:

    Have to give Pete credit. Even he knows how bad this DL is and he is using Adams creatively. I was not sure if he would or not and it is nice to see.

    Still can’t hide the fact that the DL can’t get consistent pressure but should help some splash plays and 3rd down stops if they keep doing it.

  120. Gohawks5151 says:

    Russ gun shy. Pressure for sure but missing the check downs

  121. cha says:

    Gregg Bell
    @gbellseattle
    Noticed Jordan Simmons was in at LG for Mike Iupati that #Seahawks drive
    11:05 AM · Sep 13, 2020

  122. CaptainJack says:

    They have struggled to get DK involved. They’ll get that going eventually, but the pass protection is not good.

  123. Rob Staton says:

    Wilson’s holding the ball way too long.

    Offense has ground to a mediocre stall.

  124. SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

    Our offense tackles got me biting my knuckles. Russell is getting pounded. Short game play action from here on out.

  125. SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

    We are witnessing one of the best safety play ever. Jamal Adam’s on fire.

  126. Rob Staton says:

    And again.

    If Russ is going to cook he might want to actually get rid of the football.

  127. Volume12 says:

    A couple have been on him, but look at those #’s for Russ. Imagine if he had some pass protection

  128. SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

    Russell in his beer goggles mode.

  129. cha says:

    Rasheem Green is jogging.

  130. Trevor says:

    At least Michael Dickson looks like he has things back on track.

  131. Rob Staton says:

    Look how quickly Ryan gets the ball out.

    • Lewis says:

      Or Mahomes the other night

    • Volume12 says:

      It’s gonna sound like I’m disagreeing w/ you, and I’m not as weird as this’ll sound. Their 2 different QBs. PC/JS are more than aware of his bad habits. And he’s got a couple huge ones. Going w/ Shell, Iupati (terrible pass pro), and cutting Britt is not helping him. They gotta do better.

      • Olsonc says:

        The run defense has looked real bad , Poona and reed not good enough. Poor pass rush.

        • Volume12 says:

          It has. I almost wonder if they go DT in the draft this year. It’s the easiest position to learn which means it’s gonna be more likely the top prospects at that position are going to hit.

  132. CaptainJack says:

    virtually zero pass rush from Mayowa and Irvin

  133. Rob Staton says:

    Half time thoughts…

    — Think the Seahawks caught Atlanta off guard with their pass-centric start. But now that they know — the whole thing has ground to a complete standstill and looks totally ineffective. The Seahawks need a counter here because they’re not going to win with 14-20 points.

    — There are two big problems on offense. The O-line looks abysmal and Wilson is holding onto the ball too long. The result is he’s going to get hammered. They cannot have him being slammed around 5-10 times a game.

    — The D-line is as bad as we thought. The run defense is appalling and there’s no pressure on Ryan unless they blitz.

    — Jamal Adams is fantastic. It’d be great to see him get some proper front-four support.

    • Matt says:

      Dead on. Looking like another 9-10 win season and an early exit.

      Man what a lost offseason. They managed to spend $60M to have the same problems as last year.

      • clbradley17 says:

        Our 2 big OL FAs Finney and Shell already look like busts. Could’ve signed Ifedi back for cheap and been much better than Shell has been this game, or Conklin for a low cap hit this year, and be set at RT for the next 4 years. If Shell is this bad against Atlanta on almost every snap, it will be hell against the 9ers with Bosa and Chandler Jones of AZ, and we play them each twice a year.

    • CaptainJack says:

      They have been blitzing Blair a lot as well. Just no pressure from the defensive linemen.

    • AlaskaHawk says:

      Atlanta is getting rid of the ball quickly. I don’t care how good your defensive line is, you can’t stop a 2 second passer.

  134. HOUSE says:

    1st half notes:

    1. We knew ATL would dial up pressure and our OL needs to protect Russ
    2. Jamal Adams is as good as advertised
    3. Our DL isn’t doing much at all regarding pass rush
    4. Russ started very efficient and the pressure is getting to him now

  135. pdway says:

    actually have thought the pass rush is not as abysmal as feared (even if they have to generate it in lots of diff ways)- – but run defense looks bad, feels like they can run for 5+ yds any time they want.

    Shell looks bad so far. Pressure keeps coming from his side.

    Adams looks like everything we’d hoped. All over the field.

    Hope we throw the ball downfield a little more – but RW needs some time to do that.

    Bogus missed offensive PI call on Atlanta got them that last 3 points . . .

  136. #77Hawk says:

    Fowler showing or DE’s how to play run defense

  137. cha says:

    1st and 5 to 4th and 9…

  138. Donovan says:

    None of the Homer plays have worked.

  139. Matt says:

    I feel like I’m watching the exact same thing I’ve seen for the last 5 years. Just uninspired. Not making any grand proclamations for the season but this is just new packaging on the same crap.

  140. AlaskaHawk says:

    Wow – Big Balls Russ

  141. Lewis says:

    Geez, I hate going long on 4th and 5, but hard to argue with the results

  142. Volume12 says:

    lol. Big balls Pete right there

  143. Sea Mode says:

    Lol, this team…

  144. Hawkcrazy says:

    Homer has had a tough time moving the chains. Is there a reason Dejay Dallas was inactive. Holly Catfish going for it on 4th down and bomb to Metcalf…beautiful play. Big Balls on that play.

    • Volume12 says:

      I didn’t agree w/ him & Alton being inactive. What can ya do though?

    • AlaskaHawk says:

      I think the Seahawks have enough talent that they don’t need Homer right now. Maybe use him as a last resort when there are injuries. He just isn’t a strong runner.

  145. Volume12 says:

    Big play from Blair. And a late day 3 pick is right there on top of it
    Good heady play by the rook.

  146. Hawkcrazy says:

    Seattle continues it tradition of blowing timeouts,,,

  147. cha says:

    Welcome to Seattle Greg Olsen!

  148. Troy says:

    Holy shit…this offense is EXPLOSIVE!! When it’s on, it is ON

  149. cha says:

    Gregg Bell
    @gbellseattle
    Once again, if #Seahawks don’t blitz Matt Ryan has all month to beat them. Julio Jones beats Lano Hill for 42-yard gain. Hill likes that matchup with TE last drive much better.

    4-man rush for Seattle.

    Hill was in because Quandre Diggs was in the locker room
    12:10 PM · Sep 13, 2020

    • cha says:

      Gregg Bell
      @gbellseattle
      Quandre Diggs doesn’t jog but runs out of the tunnel from locker room right into the defensive huddle after fill-in Lano Hill gives up that 42-yard catch by Julio Jones. Hill was injured on the play. Costly absence of Diggs. #Seahawks
      12:11 PM · Sep 13, 2020

    • Sea Mode says:

      Shoot, now Hill hurt too? Who’s next up…?

  150. Hoggs41 says:

    Is Diggs hurt? Why is Hill out there?

  151. Bmseattle says:

    Lano Hill at deep safety, forced to cover Julio?
    Something not right there.

  152. Rob Staton says:

    Lano playing deep and the two edge rushers just running by the QB and doing nothing 🤦‍♂️

  153. Big Mike says:

    Is Adams out?

  154. Rob Staton says:

    And I’m telling you it doesn’t matter if Diggs is in there. A safety vs Julio deep with no pressure isn’t working.

  155. Hawkcrazy says:

    Thanks Cha that answers my question too. Lano Hill getting beat deep who would have thought?

  156. Sea Mode says:

    Julio gonna Julio… what a catch.

  157. Rob Staton says:

    Shaquille Griffin is the OPPOSITE of Sherman when it comes to toughness.

  158. AlaskaHawk says:

    Mayowa makes another nice play chasing down the QB.

  159. cha says:

    That was definitely a coverage sack right there.

    Bend don’t break boys!

  160. Volume12 says:

    Adams is some kind of weapon.

    • Sea Mode says:

      Nothing short of incredible out there. Intensity and the way he poses after plays reminds me so much of prime Earl, except Adams is everywhere.

  161. Rob Staton says:

    That’s better.

    Great pursuit by Mayowa.

    No idea what Ryan was doing.

  162. Sea Mode says:

    The impossible has happened! Mayowa!!!

  163. clbradley17 says:

    That was a great ending to the Falcons drive! First Adams stuffs Gurley for no gain, then Mayowa sacks Ryan on 4th down.

  164. dcd2 says:

    I’ll check the comments later, but wanted to pop in and say GO HAWKS!!

    Adams looks amazing. Was pretty nervous about things, but so far, so good.

    *knocks wood

  165. Henry Taylor says:

    We’ve seen some good secondary play from Pete’s Seattle these last few years. Jamal is worthy of that group.

  166. Troy says:

    Huge stop by the Hawks there…that is some impressive defense. On 4th and short

  167. Dan says:

    I don’t know Adams looks pretty bored on this defence

  168. CaptainJack says:

    jamal Adams has to be the most enthusiastic/energetic defensive player I’ve watched

  169. SeahawkeyezSubj80 says:

    I’ll be first to admit. This defense awhole lot better than I was willing to admit. Jamal setting the tempo. Better than I could hope for. It’s only one game but I gladly be wrong and take it. I’m go giddy right now.

  170. Man Clowney Would have been fun with Adams and Bwags… O well…

  171. cha says:

    Is there a way to mute Mark Schlereth?

    Good grief.

  172. Gohawks5151 says:

    Man, I love the bubbles and now routes but can we throw it to the right people? Keep throwing them to Moore , Carson and Dissly… DK needs a few a game

  173. Hawkcrazy says:

    Damien Lewis with just a slew of penalties today. He will learn though.

  174. Sea Mode says:

    Settle down, rook

  175. SoCal12 says:

    I like Damien Lewis but man he really needs to simmer down. First game ever yeah, but hope he learns.

  176. Hawkcrazy says:

    Meyers has been perfect today. So far a lot of overall positives. Announcers not one of them.

  177. Hoggs41 says:

    we are going to win this game 31-28 aren’t we?

  178. TJ says:

    I’ve been trying to figure out their odd player rotations (Homer, Simmons, Hill, etc.) all game and it dawned on me that the Hawks are probably trying to look at certain players like they would during pre-season games in normal years.

  179. Pran says:

    Our CBs are also not good just like DL

    • Matt says:

      Shaq Griffin taming the Jarran Reed route during a contract year. I’ve always thought he was a good #2 CB; can’t say I’ve ever understood the idea that he is this blossoming elite talent.

    • Trevor says:

      Hard to cover Ridley and Jones etc when Ryan has all day on 90% of the snaps. Get used to a lot of high scoring games this year I think.

  180. SoCal12 says:

    Disappointing from Shaquille so far. Especially coming in a contract year. Not worth top level CB money at this point.

  181. AlaskaHawk says:

    Not having much luck running to the left. Second series of conservative plays.

    I really like the offense better when the play harder. Like when they play to make a touchdown instead of eating up the clock.

  182. Volume12 says:

    Good stuff. The 2 corners who have struggled the most I thought, make 2 big back to back plays

  183. Troy says:

    0/4 on 4th downs…defense came up huge when it mattered.

  184. Sea Mode says:

    Almost a 40-burger. Gonna need a few more of those this season.

  185. Hawkcrazy says:

    I hate prevent defense. It also seems that most of the game has been prevent defense.

  186. Gohawks5151 says:

    Matt Ryan is the best playing from behind, between the 20s QB of all time

  187. SoCal12 says:

    Can’t help but respect Yunghoe’s onside boot.

    • Hawkcrazy says:

      agree with this very well played by Atlanta. Even so for an onside kick to be recovered I think the receiving team has to do an awful job. Seahawks receiving team players rushed to outside and left a hug whole where the ball went. glad we were up enough it will just be a learning experience. Happy to have win #1 in the books.

  188. Kenny Sloth says:

    Fire Pete Carroll.

  189. pdway says:

    I don’t care about all those late-game Ryan yards – – if our D can make a few plays when it matters, like they did on 4th downs today . .. this team will be good.

    Receiving corps is just better than it used to be – don’t know that we need 4 tight ends, but Olsen, Dissly, even Hollister all bring diff things. Seems like Russ had guys to throw to most of the day, and he’s not missing open receivers.

    O-line wasn’t great, but when you’re QB goes 31/35, they’re doing enough.

    I’ll take that win, Atlanta not top of the league, but they finished 6-2 in 2nd of last season, and have some high caliber talent.

  190. Big Mike says:

    So who predicted this morning the Hawks would give up over 400 to Ryan and win?

  191. charlietheunicorn says:

    Pete Carroll sucks 😉

  192. Trevor says:

    The knives are going to be out early for Dan Quinn in Atlanta. A defensive coach can’t have a unit play that bad for 3 years in a row now.

  193. CaptainJack says:

    Does anyone else think that the chargers and rams have uniforms colors and logos that look way too similar for two teams that share a city and stadium? Nonsensical….