NFL combine preview 2017

February 27th, 2017 | Written by Rob Staton

Groups 1-3 (PK, ST, OL, RB)

Arrival: Tuesday
Measurements: Wednesday
Bench press: Thursday
On-field drills: Friday

Offensive linemen
If you’re not familiar with TEF, here are the details. As soon as we get a full list of workout numbers we’ll calculate and publish the scores. The Seahawks like explosive offensive linemen. 30 reps on the bench press, +9′ in the broad jump and a 31-inch vertical is the ideal physical profile. All of the offensive linemen they’ve drafted since 2010 have had at least 33 inch arms. The three offensive tackles they’ve taken in round one average 35.3-inches for arm length.

Key drills
Vertical, Broad, Bench

Ideal size
6-5, 320lbs, 35 inch arms, +31 inch vertical, +9’ broad, +30 bench reps

Interesting notes
There were 26 ‘explosive’ defensive linemen performing at the combine last year compared to just six offensive linemen (per TEF). The NFL has a tackle shortage and the best athletes, unquestionably, are playing defense instead of offense in college. Who can blame them when a player like Olivier Vernon gets $17m a year?

Some names to monitor

Garett Bolles (T, Utah)
The best left tackle in college football and likely the best athlete. There’s a very good chance he will go in the top-15 if not the top-10. His backstory is emphatically ‘Seahawky’ and he plays with a genuine edge. Tremendous prospect — enjoy his performance and dream about what could’ve been.

Dorian Johnson (T/G, Pittsburgh)
He didn’t attend the Senior Bowl due to injury so it’ll be good to get his measurements (in particular arm length). Johnson is a former 5-star recruit at tackle and could revert back to the outside ala Branden Albert. He’ll need to have the required length and explosive profile to be on Seattle’s radar at #26.

Taylor Moton (T/G, Western Michigan)
Nasty run blocker and physically reminiscent of what Seattle has gone for in the past. He’s 6-5, 330lbs with 33 1/8 inch arms and massive 11-inch hands. They tried Justin Britt at right tackle with this type of profile.

Isaac Asiata (G, Utah)
Really nasty, physical guard who took it to Washington’s talented D-line. Provided a fantastic combo with Garett Bolles on the left side and consistently created huge running lanes for Joe Williams. Let’s see how explosive he is. Asiata might be a better athlete than people realise.

Jermaine Eluemunor (T/G, Texas A&M)
Similar profile to Moton and has nice footwork for 6-4, 325lbs. Has Seattle size. British born and late to the game but there’s some upside here. Will be interesting to see how explosive he is.

Roderick Johnson (T, Florida State)
Looks the part but had an underwhelming career at FSU. Never lived up to the hype as a possible first round pick. That said, in a class without a ton of viable offensive tackle options — Johnson is at least a decent project for someone with starter potential. He’s listed at 6-7 and 311lbs.

Running back
The Seahawks have consistently drafted a ‘body type’ at the position. Christine Michael (220lbs), C.J. Prosise (220lbs), Robert Turbin (222lbs), Alex Collins (217lbs) and Spencer Ware (228lbs) all had similar size, height and athletic profiles. This might be the year Seattle goes ‘bigger’ — but it’ll be the first year they do if so. Look for RB’s in the 220lbs range with fantastic explosive traits (vertical, broad jump).

Key drills
Vertical, Broad

Ideal size
5-11, 220lbs, +36 inch vertical, +10 broad

Interesting notes
The Seahawks haven’t drafted a burner at running back. Michael (4.54), Prosise (4.48) and Turbin (4.50) were explosive rather than really fast. Explosive suddenness and power over straight line speed appears to be the order of the day.

Some names to monitor

Elijah Hood (RB, North Carolina)
In 2013 at the Nike SPARQ Combine he ran a 4.48 at 6-0 and 221lbs, jumping a 36.3-inch vertical. Hood can squat 635lbs and bench 375lbs. He’s in Seattle’s range as a body type and appears to have the explosive qualities too.

Samaje Perine (RB, Oklahoma)
It’ll be interesting to see if Perine really is his listed 5-10 and 235lbs. He should excel in the short shuttle — his change of direction and agility traits are superb. Combine testing will have a huge impact on his stock. Can he pull off a terrific vertical/broad?

Kareem Hunt (RB, Toledo)
It was a bit of a surprise when he turned up at the Senior Bowl weighing just 208lbs. He might be more naturally suited to being 215-220lbs and he looked big in college. Hunt has been tipped to run a really impressive forty time. If he has a complete performance and has added weight, he’ll be one to watch.

Brian Hill (RB, Wyoming)
Listed at 5-11 and 219lbs, Hill is tough to bring down and finishes runs. Ploughs through tackles and gets extra yardage. Another player being tipped to run an electric forty time. Like Hunt, if he has a complete performance and shows off some explosive traits — he could be an option for Seattle.

Wayne Gallman (RB, Clemson)
The RB position is a bit of a complimentary role at Clemson. Gallman doesn’t have the numbers but he’s really tough. He’s a competitor. It’s possible he’s bigger than the listed 6-0 and 210lbs. If so — and if he can test well — he’s another option for Seattle beyond the first two or three rounds.

Groups 4-6 (QB, WR, TE)

Arrival: Wednesday
Measurements: Thursday
Bench press: Friday
On-field drills: Saturday

Quarterbacks
There’s little to capture the imagination of Seahawks fans here unless you think one of the top guys ends up in San Francisco or Arizona. Focus on the buzz more than anything. The Patrick Mahomes hype will likely pick up. We’ll get an angle on how teams view Mahomes, Deshaun Watson, Mitch Trubisky and Deshone Kizer.

Wide receivers
Kenny Lawler (4.64) and Chris Harper (4.50) are the only receivers they’ve drafted who didn’t run in the 4.4’s. Paul Richardson (4.40), Golden Tate (4.42), Tyler Lockett (4.40), Kris Durham (4.46) and Kevin Norwood (4.48) all cracked the 4.4’s. That appears to be a benchmark. The Seahawks have collected sudden, shifty athletes at the position. Kris Durham (216lbs), Chris Harper (229lbs) and Kenny Lawler (203lbs) are the only three receivers drafted that were +200lbs.

Key drills
Forty, catching drills (proper technique)

Ideal size
6-1, 210lbs, 4.45 forty

Interesting note
The best non-FA athlete Seattle has acquired in the Carroll/Schneider era was an UDFA — Ricardo Lockette. He ran a 4.41, had a 39-inch vertical and a 6.76 three-cone. He was also well-sized at 211lbs with 33.5-inch arms. The Seahawks have been comfortable bringing in high-ceiling UDFA receivers, finding success with Lockette, Doug Baldwin and Jermaine Kearse.

Some names to monitor

Jehu Chesson (WR, Michigan)
A forgotten man in this draft class due to Michigan’s propensity to run the ball. Chesson is a dynamic athlete with good size (6-3, 203lbs). His all-round game is very good and he offers plus run-blocking and special teams value.

Malachi Dupre (WR, LSU)
Had a 42.4-inch vertical at the 2013 SPARQ combine. It’s hard to judge Dupre considering LSU basically played without a proper quarterback for the last two years. He might only be a 4.5 runner but could be a steal in the middle rounds.

Mack Hollins (WR, North Carolina)
If they’re looking for another Lockette — Hollins could be an option. He’s 6-4 and 210lbs and expected to run a fast time. He was a special teams captain in each of his four years at UNC with 20 special teams tackles over his first three seasons.

Tight ends
The three tight ends Seattle’s drafted — Nick Vannett, Luke Willson, Anthony McCoy — are all quite different. Vannett was considered a throw-back style blocker with some pass-catching potential. Willson ran a 4.51 at his pro-day with a 38-inch vertical. McCoy ran a 4.78 but was familiar with Carroll and had great size and big mitts. This is one of the more unpredictable positions to judge for Seattle.

Key drills
Vertical, Broad, Bench, Forty

Ideal size
6-5, 260lbs, +34-inch arms, +10-inch hands

Interesting note
In 2010 when Jimmy Graham was drafted in round three by the Saints — the following players left the board between pick #95 and Seattle’s next pick at #111: Everson Griffen, Alterraun Verner, Darrell Stuckey, Aaron Hernandez and Geno Atkins. The Seahawks took Kam Chancellor at #133. The 2010 draft had some depth.

Some names to monitor

Scott Orndoff (TE, Pittsburgh)
He’s 6-5 and 256lbs. Not a freak of nature type but a very capable blocker with some downfield ability. Really helped Pitt run the ball as well as they did. If you’re a run-heavy team wanting a TE that can do it all, Orndoff is worth a look. Watch his workout just in case.

Darrell Daniels (TE, Washington)
If the Seahawks want a Luke Willson replacement, Daniels could be the answer. He might have the most athletic/explosive performance among TE’s. He ran a 4.44 at the 2016 Husky combine. Could be a major riser at around 6-4 and 246lbs.

Adam Shaheen (TE, Ashland)
The current small school darling of the national media. He’s listed at 6-6 and 275lbs and being tipped to excel in drills. He’s about 8-10lbs heavier than Vance McDonald (he ran a 4.69). Anything in that region will get teams excited.

Groups 7-9 (DL, LB)

Arrival: Thursday
Measurements: Friday
Bench press: Saturday
On-field drills: Sunday

Defensive line
Quinton Jefferson, Jordan Hill and Jaye Howard all tested superbly in the short shuttle (4.37, 4.51 and 4.47 respectively). If they’re looking for a quicker, interior pass-rush option — this drill appears to be significant. The Seahawks haven’t drafted a defensive tackle with sub-33 inch arms. Dynamic quickness is a trend for EDGE players. Bruce Irvin (4.03) and Frank Clark (4.05) both ran incredible short shuttles. Cassius Marsh’s 4.25 and Obum Gwacham’s 4.28 were also really good. All of the EDGE rushers they’ve drafted also had +33 inch arms.

Key drills
Vertical, Broad, Bench, Short Shuttle, Three-cone, 10-yard split (forty)

Ideal size
6-4, 310lbs, 33 inch arms, +31 inch vertical, +9’ broad, 4.50 short shuttle

Interesting note
The Seahawks have only drafted 5 players with a +140 SPARQ score. Christine Michael (150), Kevin Pierre-Louis (149) and Bobby Wagner (147) were the only three to beat Bruce Irvin (144) and Frank Clark (142).

Some names to monitor

Daeshon Hall (DE, Texas A&M)
Seattle born with great length (34.5-inch arms) and size (6-5, 265lbs). Has the frame to add bulk and play inside/out but might have the athleticism to be a Cassius Marsh type. Pete Carroll has noted the priority needs (CB, LB, OL) so we have to find players that might be available from the end of the third round.

Carlos Watkins (DT, Clemson)
Has the arm length they’ve gone for in the past (33.5-inches). Big hands (10 3/8 inches) to go with good size (6-4, 312lbs). Unlikely to go early despite his 2016 production. The Seahawks have targeted rounds 3-5 at defensive tackle in the past and if they add a DT in this class, that could be the range again.

Carroll Phillips (DE, Illinois)
Listed as a DE and might workout with the defensive linemen at the combine. He’d likely be a SAM project if drafted by the Seahawks. Played well in space at the Senior Bowl and is the same size as Haason Reddick (237lbs).

Dalvin Tomlinson (DT, Alabama)
Physical, stout interior defender. Plays three musical instruments and excelled in multiple sports. Has a Seahawks-style backstory plus the length (33-inch arms) and size (6-3, 312lbs) Seattle likes.

Elijah Qualls (DT, Washington)
Played really well next to Vita Vea and Greg Gaines. It’ll be interesting to see how much he weighs and whether he has the necessary length. Disciplined, good cap control and a capable three-technique in a scheme like Seattle’s. Might go too early for their liking.

Linebackers
The Seahawks have drafted a collection of freakish athletes at linebacker since 2010. Kevin Pierre-Louis, Korey Toomer, Malcolm Smith and Eric Pinkins all ran between a 4.44 and a 4.51 in the forty. KPL, Smith and Pinkins all jumped +39 inches in the vertical. Bobby Wagner was a 4.4 runner at his pro-day with a 39.5-inch vertical. Of the five players they’ve drafted with a +140 SPARQ score, Wagner, KPL and Bruce Irvin are included. Speed (forty yard dash) and explosive traits (vertical, broad) appear to be a must.

Key drills
Forty yard dash, Three-cone, Vertical, Broad

Ideal size
+6-0, 230-240lbs, 4.4-4.5 forty, 6.70 three-cone, +10’ broad

Interesting note
Bobby Wagner played 99.35% of the defensive snaps in 2016 and K.J. Wright played 97.41%. How sustainable is this without burning out two core players? Pete Carroll specified in his end of season press conference they would draft for the linebacker position. It looks like a top-heavy class of linebackers.

Some names to monitor

Haason Reddick (LB, Temple)
At his junior pro-day he reportedly ran a 4.47, jumped a 10-10 in the broad and had a 36 inch vertical. He’s 6-1 and 237lbs and could be the ideal pick for Seattle at #26. He has the athletic profile, the college production (21.5 TFL’s in 2016), the gritty backstory and the potential to play SAM, MIKE or WILL.

Zach Cunningham (LB, Vanderbilt)
Long limbed. Cunningham was originally recruited to play for Alabama but they switched their attention to Auburn-commit Reuben Foster and he ended up at Vanderbilt. His playing speed is good. Lean frame so it’ll be interesting to see how explosive he is.

Tyus Bowser (LB, Houston)
Considered a freakish athlete, Bowser has a basketball background and would likely be a SAM in Seattle. He’s 6-3 and 244lbs. He only scratched the surface of his potential in college. Expect him to test well in everything and possibly garner some first round buzz.

Alex Anzalone (LB, Florida)
How athletic is he? At times at Florida he looked really quick and sudden. That showed up at the Senior Bowl too. Medical checks are important because he’s missed time. Has Clay Matthews’ hairstyle and some of his playing style too.

Note: Jarrad Davis would’ve been named on this list but he is missing the combine due to injury

Groups 10-11 (DB)

Arrival: Friday
Measurements: Saturday
Bench press: Sunday
On-field drills: Monday

Cornerback
The final day of the combine will be the most exciting. This is a loaded class at cornerback and safety. It’s possible more than 20 cornerbacks could be drafted in the first two days.

The Seahawks have drafted six cornerbacks in the Pete Carroll era. All six have +32 inch arms. So why is length so important? 100% of multiple first team All-Pro cornerbacks drafted since 1998 have +32 inch arms. You can pretty much run through the list of CB measurements on Saturday and cross off any player with sub-32 inch arms. Having never drafted a cornerback earlier than the fourth round, a prospect drafted in the first 2-3 rounds (especially at #26) by this team is probably going to need to have a truly sensational workout.

Key drills
Three-cone, Vertical, measurements (arm length)

Ideal size
+6-1, 195lbs, +32-inch arms, 4.50 forty, +35-inch vertical

Interesting note
The player Seattle stashed in 2016 (DeAndre Elliott) ran a 4.55 at 6-1 and 188lbs last year. He jumped 41-inches in the vertical. Speed is not crucial. Five of Seattle’s six drafted cornerbacks ran between a 4.47 and a 4.56 in the forty yard dash (the sixth, Walter Thurmond, was injured at his combine and didn’t run).

Some names to monitor

Howard Wilson (CB, Houston)
Wilson averaged an interception every 15 targets in college and is one of the most underrated prospects in a deep cornerback class. He’s approximately 6-1 and 190lbs with room to grow. Better in run support than most of the other CB’s in this draft. Expect a terrific workout especially in the vertical jump. If he has the 32-inch arms, he could easily be on Seattle’s radar and will probably go earlier than people think.

Kevin King (CB, Washington)
If he repeats his 2016 Husky combine performance he’ll not only run the fastest ever recorded three-cone, he could be a certainty for the first round. Recent reports have suggested he could run in the 4.4’s too. With his size (6-3, 192lbs), length and tremendous physical profile — King is a man to watch for Seattle.

Akhello Witherspoon (CB, Colorado)
On tape he was very impressive in coverage, doing as good a job as anyone in 2016 marking Washington’s top-20 pick John Ross. He’s listed at 6-3 and 190lbs. He needs to do a better job in run-support and his tackling form needs major work. However, he has the size and profile of a Seahawks cornerback.

Rasul Douglas (CB, West Virginia)
Great production in 2016 (eight interceptions) and has 32-inch arms. Made plays during the Senior Bowl week and there’s an X-factor to his game. Would be nice to see some traits to go with the production. A former Four-star JUCO recruit so he has athletic potential.

Quincy Wilson (CB, Florida)
Great size (6-1, 213lbs) and plays with extreme confidence. Carries himself like a pro-corner. He only ran a 4.6 and jumped 32-inches at the 2013 SPARQ combine so he’ll need to do better in Indianapolis.

Gareon Conley (CB, Ohio State)
A player who looks neat and tidy on tape so let’s see how physically good he is. Everyone expects Marshon Lattimore to have a big workout. There isn’t that much separation on tape between the two. They both played well. It helps having Malik Hooker at safety.

Fabian Moreau (CB, UCLA)
Thick lower body suggests he’ll have an explosive workout. Not as physical as you’d expect on tape but that’s a complaint for a number of CB’s in this class. Measured at 6-0 and 205lbs at the Shrine game with 31 3/4 inch arms. Let’s see if a re-measure gets him to 32-inches.

Marquez White (CB, Florida State)
White was one of only two cornerbacks at the Senior Bowl with +32-inch arms (Rasul Douglas was the other). He’s only 184lbs so could do with adding size. There’s a player to work with here but he might need time. It’d be nice to see a really fast forty yard dash given his lack of bulk.

Treston Decoud (CB, Oregon State)
Measured at 6-1 and 203lbs at the Shrine game with +33-inch arms. Let’s see how athletic he is to go with the size/length. Could be a day three option.

Safety
After hitting on Earl Thomas and Kam Chancellor in 2010, Seattle hasn’t had much success drafting for the safety position. Ryan Murphy, Winston Guy and Mark LeGree have come and gone. There’s a real mix of physical profiles too. Thomas (31 1/4) and Legree (30 1/4) have short arms so the 32-inch test isn’t necessary here — but Guy had great arm length (33). Murphy ran a 4.48 at his pro-day with an impressive 39-inch vertical but Legree (4.59) and Guy (4.70) didn’t run fast times (Legree only had a 31-inch vertical too). Overall it’s hard to determine a Seahawks ‘type’ with these numbers. The only safety they’ve drafted before the end of day two (Earl) is a tremendous athlete. He ran a 4.37 at his pro-day after pulling a hamstring running the forty at the combine (while still managing an official 4.49).

Key drills
Forty yard dash, Three-cone, Vertical, Broad

Ideal size
+6-0, 200-220lbs, 4.4 forty, +39-inch vertical, +10-5 broad jump

Interesting note
Will the Seahawks look to add pure safety depth or a ‘Buffalo’/’big nickel’ to play in a 4-2-5? They’d essentially be swapping the SAM for a highly athletic DB if they did. They’ve already drifted towards this concept. Seattle’s starting SAM, Mike Morgan, only played more than 50% of the defensive snaps in one game last season (@ LA Rams). He played 20% or less of the snaps in four games. Jeremy Lane played 71% of the total 2016 defensive snaps as an orthodox nickel. A ‘Buffalo’ could conceivably take those snaps from Lane.

Some names to monitor

Justin Evans (S, Texas A&M)
Everyone will be talking about Evans this time next week. Expect a super-fast forty yard dash, potentially +40 inches in the vertical and a leading broad jump. There might not be a more explosive player attending the combine this year. He’s 6-0 and 193lbs and hits like a train. Evans can play nickel, eraser FS, Buffalo. He’d also add to the Kam Chancellor fear-factor on crossing routes. Watch him.

Shalom Luani (S, Washington State)
He has the kind of backstory that screams Seahawks. Deone Bucannon has tipped him to make the transition to ‘Buffalo’. Luani’s the best safety nobody ever talks about. Expect him to turn a few heads at the combine and run a really nice forty. It’d be good to see him excel in the vertical/broad jumps too.

Obi Melifonwu (S, Connecticut)
He’s being tipped to be one of the stars at the combine. He has the quickness and fluidity as an athlete to match-up in coverage vs dynamic TE’s and bigger WR’s. He has the size (6-4, 219lbs) and length (32.5 inch arms). He’s a sure tackler and would provide adequate run support as a ‘Buffalo’. Teams might try him at corner.

Budda Baker (S, Washington)
He’s really dynamic, physical and tough — but he’s small. Weigh-ins and measurements will be important. You want to compare him to Tyrann Mathieu but Mathieu is so unique. If the Seahawks were going to consider him at #26 as a nickel/FS hybrid he’ll likely need a really sensational workout. He ran a hand-timed 4.35 at the Husky combine last year, a 4.08 short shuttle and a 6.66 three-cone so the potential is there for a great performance.

Tedric Thompson (S, Colorado)
His brother (unbelievably named ‘Cedric’) had a superb pro-day in 2015, running a 4.48 forty, jumping 40.5 in the vertical and 10-2 in the broad. Tedric flashed incredible closing speed and range in 2016, had major production in terms of interceptions and looks like a player with a future at free safety.

John Johnson (S, Boston College)
He measured at 6-1 and 205lbs with 31.5 inch arms at the Senior Bowl. Let’s see if he can crack 32-inches on a re-measure (it happens sometimes). That could be important because he has experience playing at cornerback and he’s a great athlete. The more you can do etc.

Marcus Maye (S, Florida)
One of those players that never really stands out for his athleticism but made enough plays in college to wonder if he’s secretly got some traits. He’s 6-0 and 216lbs. Quite an underrated player but did give up some plays at Florida.

Jabrill Peppers (S, Michigan)
There’s been so much talk about what Peppers is and what he isn’t. It’ll be nice to finally get some confirmed measurables. It’ll be even better to see if he can prove some of the doubters wrong during this week.

205 Responses to “NFL combine preview 2017”

  1. Trevor says:

    Wow Rob that is the best combine prep write up I have read to date and I have read 100s of them. Simply amazing work again. I am shocked one of the major networks or teams has not snapped you up yet. I will enjoy the great work while I can. Thanks again as this type of work and detail had to take some serious time and effort. It is greatly appreciated.

    I can’t remember the last time I was this excited about the combine with 5 picks in the top 106 this really is the year for JS to rebuild that SB caliber roster depth particularly on defense. Guess he knew something when he focused on offense last year!

  2. Ed says:

    How do you find the time (still need the donation button).

    OL needy teams (Robinson/Bolles/Ramczyk) Do you see Lamp/Feeney getting into first round?

    Jets
    Chargers
    Panthers
    Colts
    Buccaneers
    Broncos
    Texans

    QB needy teams (Trubisky/Watson) Do you see Mahomes/Kizer getting into first round?

    Browns
    49ers
    Bears
    Jets
    Bills
    Browns
    Cardinals (prepare to replace Palmer)
    Chiefs (prepare to replace Smith)

    • CharlieTheUnicorn says:

      I would add the Patriots to the QB needy teams. They most likely do not have a back-up / need some depth when they trade their current back-up.

      • Ed says:

        True, but I was more focusing on teams that pick before the Hawks, hoping more defensive players drop down by teams reaching for positions of need.

      • RealRhino2 says:

        They drafted Jacoby Brissett in the 3rd last year. They are fine, even if they do find a sucker for Garoppolo.

    • D-OZ says:

      Need quality depth:
      Steelers
      Chargers
      Saints
      Jaguars

  3. CharlieTheUnicorn says:

    The Underwear Olympics commences tomorrow!

  4. LeoSharp says:

    I think Jalen Reeves-Maybin and Anthony Walker Jr could both be WILL candidates if they perform well at the Combine, they certainly wouldn’t need to be drafted in the first or early second either.
    They both seem to fit the physical profile the for the position from what I’ve seen on tape. Walker in particular definitely has the coverage ability and speed when at his lower playing weight.

    • LeoSharp says:

      Also some more info on the types of players the Seahawks want at LB as translated by Danny Kelly

      “The Mike linebacker is a traditional middle linebacker. He is instinctive and makes a lot of calls for the defense. He may be the guy with the most experience or the best feel for the game.

      The Will linebacker can be a smaller player. He is generally protected in the defensive schemes and will not see as many blocks. All you want him to do most plays is flow and chase the football. We want our fastest linebacker at this position.

      The Sam linebacker has to be a good containment player. He has to be big and strong enough to play on the edge of the tight end. He has to be able to run in pass coverage also.”

      http://www.fieldgulls.com/2011/7/12/2266929/seahawks-4-3-pete-carroll-tatupu-hawthore-aaron-curry

      • Kenny Sloth says:

        Tatupu-Hawthorne-Curry, huh!!

        • "LeoSharp says:

          It’s a link from 2011 so those guys were still playing when the article was written.
          On a side note K.J. has stated in the past that the distinction between SAM and WILL is not that great espicially when you think about how often he is the one setting the edge

          • Kenny Sloth says:

            No, I totally remember that article from when it came out xD

            Its a good one.

            Ywah, I’ve said before I think KJ’s best position is SAM.

            He can play all 4 (LEO) LB spots for us.

            Jarrad Davis is looking sweeter and sweeter.

            Ben Boulware from Clemson is a player I left out of my LB preview because I couldn’t find tape.

            • LeoSharp says:

              You can watch him against Ohio state, I think he might be the only white starter on defense so he’s easy to spot. This is the usuallyonly way I find additional tape on guys if hey don’t have thier own. Should also be able to watch him agains FSU because of Dalvin Cook
              http://draftbreakdown.com/video/pat-elflein-vs-clemson-2016/

              He doesn’t look like a great athlete so probably not someone the Hawks would be intersted in but he does seem to run the defense.

              • Kenny Sloth says:

                That’s what I’ve done in the past as well.

                There’s all kinds of different athletes, but it’s true that the Seahawks focus on sparq at LB, RB and TE than other positions

  5. Scraps says:

    Oh yeah! Thanks, Rob!

  6. Lord almighty, can we please grab a safety who can play corner, slot and/or buffalo please? Given our CB issues (Shead hurt, Lane was sub-par) it would be really nice if the safety we got was dependable and productive in the secondary, even when Earl & Kam are out there, healthy.

    Rob, would your expectation for almost any CB we take be that they will need time (at least a year) to learn our system (kick-step, scheme, communication, etc) before they could earn a starting job?

    It sure feels like unless we take a CB with our #26 pick (or trade down and take one at the top of R2) that the CB(‘s) we take will need time to develop. That more than likely the case will be that one of these guys; Seisay, Jean-Baptiste, Desir, Elliot, Thorpe, Cox or D. McCray will earn CB2 (or nickel with Lane playing outside). Obviously the favorites would be Seisay & SJB with the underdog favorites being Thorpe & Desir. And the CB’s that we take that make the roster will enter the Pete Caroll Secondary School and meaningfully compete for a job in 2-3 years.

    • Rob Staton says:

      I think they’ll only take a CB at #26 if it’s an insane athlete.

      And I think it’s likely any CB they draft is going to have a fight on their hands to learn the technique to start week one. There’s no precedent of that happening. Not impossible but perhaps an uphill task. That’s one of the reasons why I think traits are important here. They can act as an equaliser while you learn.

      • BobbyK says:

        If King tests like he did last year – he could climb this this level. If he fails in comparison to last year, he could be had in the third round. Crazy how some of these tests are so important. Will be fun to monitor.

        • Peanut says:

          It´s almost as one could hope that King ( or any player that would be nice to have) does a sub-par combine, so that they fall on the boards. Imagine picking up King in the third round, would be a steal.

        • Kenny Sloth says:

          I don’t think much will affect King’s early second round grade.

      • Thanks. I completely agree.

      • Del tre says:

        Rob, I have a strong belief that if King falls to the Hawks at 26 and they don’t feel that they can get him later, they will take him. So long as he has 32+ inch arms i think the Hawks will have trouble saying no to a guy who fits almost exactly the profile of Richard Sherman. We saw how long they waited for Tharold Simon to develop (cost us a superbowl) so they are willing to really commit to the athletes who fit the profile. Given Kings lack of issues and physical ability PC is probably salivating at the chance of having both his outside corners fit his perfect profile. After the last 2 years i doubt the Hawks are interested in taking a chance at CB #2, they are going to get the guy they want to do the job, after the Cary Williams experiment i believe the coaches probably are going to value corner more than LB I’m thinking the draft shakes out like this

        Round 1 Kevin King
        Round 2 Tyus Bowser, fits that Bruce Irvin profile, i assume by pick 2 Reddick will be gone.
        Round 3 Foreman massive back, 250 and fast plus he has shown he can handle a lot of carries.
        Round 3 Shalom Luani
        Round 3 best OT prospect or another linebacer for some cheap depth.

        Rob if you completely disagree (we can have pretty oposite opinions, for example our stance on a Garropolo trade) i could still see the Hawks going with Reddick in round 1 but the 1st pick in the third would probably be Douglas. I fully expect teams to see exactly what i saw with Douglas, and incomplete and somewhat inconsistent product, i think the combine will hurt his stock as i expect him to run a 4.55 or slower and teams will make the mistake of passing over him. My issues with Douglas are that he catches blockers too often on screens and that he comes from an unfamiliar 3-3-5 base scheme, i think teams are more weary of this than we realize and it could be a reason that the west Virginia corner from last year (who’s name escapes me) fell to the 3rd.

        • Kenny Sloth says:

          We drafted Bruce Irvin playing 5 tech in that 3-3-5

          I see a lot of the same things in Douglas’ game.

          He’s really aggressive,

          He’s better than Darryl Worley from last yeat

          • Del tre says:

            I don’t disagree one bit, I just don’t think Douglas gets chosen as early as some expect. His weakness to deep passes and screens is concerning, a big reason for that was the 3-3-5 scheme, Douglas had to cover for a very long time as WV sends 3 a play. Worley was an intriguing prospect last year and I hoped the Hawks would choose him but he was chosen in the late 3rd round by Carolina and has been their best corner (not saying much but still). I really like Douglas and could certainly see him coming out of the Seahawks tunnel, just not as a second round draft pick in a year with deep corner talent.
            Wouldn’t it be great to snag Douglas and King? Slide Sherman to the slot on third down and goodness the Hawks would be tough to stop.

      • AlaskaHawk says:

        They threw that one rookie in when Kam Chancellor held out. PC has done a lot of unconventional things with rookies when he had to. Sweezy was another one who started on offense with no experience.

        • Rob Staton says:

          I’m not saying they’re not prepared to start rookies. I’m saying it might be difficult to learn the CB technique. They’ve had safety’s and O-liners play early. Never had a CB play early unless they had to.

  7. RealRhino2 says:

    Hard to see how Peppers is going to prove any doubters wrong if they have him with the linebackers group, which is what I heard. Doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. He should be with the DBs, IMO.

    • Rob Staton says:

      A workout is a workout though. If he runs and jumps really well, measures well, job done really.

      • RealRhino2 says:

        The problem for him will be that a good workout will just confirm what people already think of him: he’s a good athlete. I think the job for him would be to show that he can backpedal, that he can track the ball, etc.

        • Misfit74 says:

          Good point

        • Adog says:

          If peppers drops within reach of one of those 3rd round picks…I think the Seahawks grab. He checks a lot of boxes…certainly as a punt returner. I could see him playing fullback for the Seahawks…as well as a sort of safety/linebacker hybrid in the nickel defense.

  8. Smitty1547 says:

    So where and what Rd did Cedric Thompson go and how has he done?

  9. Austin Hall says:

    It doesn’t seem like Pinkins measurables should be used as an example for what the Seahawks look for when they draft Linebacker’s since they drafted him to play Cornerback.

  10. Trevor says:

    15 Free Agents I hope the Hawks consider.

    My ideal scenario would be sign Zietler to play RG, Blount as a big Power / Short yardage RB and then Sheard as situational pass rusher. Then the Hawks could focus on defense in the draft or difference makers on offense.

    #1 Calias Campbell- I know he is not getting younger but he would take our defense to another level with the interior pass rush he provides. I think he would fit in great in the locker room and with our scheme. I can’t see us being able to afford him unfortunately.

    #2 Kevin Zeitler – He is young, really good, plays nasty and is durable. Everything you could want in and RG. He knows Russ well and would really solidify the middle of the OL with Britt and Glowinski. If you had a dominant middle of the OL the young OT’s Fant and Ifedi would have a far greater chance of success and it would really help in the run game.

    #3 Ricky Wagner – He is not a great RT but he is young and the best one on the market. He would be an upgrade over Gilliam and has to be a consideration at $7mil APY or less.

    #4 Nick Perry – Was really hoping we would sign him last year to replace Bruce. Would be a great addition to team with Wags and KJ. If we got him in free agency we could wait till the 3rd round or later to draft a young LB.

    #5 Alshon Jeffery – I don’t think we will sign him but he exactly the type of big WR Pete loves. He would instantly improve our red zone offense. The thought of Locket and Jeffery out wide, Baldwin working the slot and Jimmy busting the seam would be scary.

    #6 Andrew Whitworth – I know he is 35 but is the best OT on the market and would be an ideal 2 year stop gap while our young guys develop. Would he want to play in our scheme however.

    #7 Martellus Bennett – He and Jimmy would be a formidable duo. Would he take a discount to finally play with big bro?

    #8 LaGarrette Blount – Ideal short yardage and power RB to compliment Rawls and Prosise.

    #9 Russell Okung- Would he come back and play RT for the Hawks? Depends on the price and if he wants to do it but he is an upgrade to the OTs on the roster.

    #10 Jared Odrick – I have always liked him as an interior pass rusher. Coming off an injury so depends on the medicals.

    #11 Riely Reiff – Another not great but serviceable OT who can play either spot.

    #12 Jabal Sheard – Would be an ideal situatonal pass rusher to help keep Avril, Bennett and Clark fresh into the 4 Q which was an issue last year.

    #13 Latavius Murray – Another big power back. Younger and more upside than Blount but also would be pricier.

    #14 John Simon – Under rated linebacker who could come and be a significant upgrade to Morgan and a great depth guy if we take an Lb early in the draft.

    #15 Matt Kalil – Pette knows him well and if they can get him on a cheap one year prove it deal he might be a great signing to compete for one of the OT spots.

    If we could somehow get either Zietler or Campbell they are the type of impact player in a key area of weakness for this roster who could put this group over the hump and back into SB.

    The rest are pieces that will have to fit together with the draftees to create a collective difference.

    • nichansen01 says:

      I really like Blount or Murray. One DT one OT and one RB would be the right free agent mix IMO.

    • nichansen01 says:

      My wishlist would be Murray, Earl Mitchell (Miami DT) and Zeitler.

      • Sea Mode says:

        Earl Mitchell already signed (or agreed) with SF for $4m/apy. I think the Hawks will be looking more in the $2m/apy range for DT depth unless its a player like Campbell.

    • Misfit74 says:

      My pants would come off if we signed Alshon. Instantly. They would fly off of their own accord.

    • Matt B. says:

      Lots of fun names, however, I have a feeling we won’t end up with any of them as we’ve recently been fairly conservative in free agency. This could be the year though given that we don’t have big name FA’s that will net us comp picks and we actually have a little cap room to work with. I think the most likely names on this list would be Blount or maybe Murray, depending on how cheap they can be signed for. Seems like they usually look for value and I’m not sure I see much value with the rest of those guys. It will definitely be fun to watch.

  11. Trevor says:

    Watched more Huskies tape today and all I can say about Buddah Baker is wow does he jump off the screen. Liking him more and more every day as an option for our first pick. Whether at 26 or with a slight trade back. He is one of only 2-3 DBs in this class who could start week #1 in our secondary I think.

    Imagine him as our slot guy to start and as a blitzer etc. He and Earl buzzing around in the secondary would be awesome. Longer term I think he could legitimately replace Earl.

    • Phil says:

      Agree 100%. I don’t live in Seattle any more, but has there been any talk in the media about interactions between the LOB and the UW defensive backs? Any mentoring? It seems natural to presume that maybe there has been some sharing of techniques (e.g., the drop step), but perhaps league rules prohibit this as “tampering”.

    • Matt B. says:

      I’m with you, knowing that any CB will take time to develop into our system, why not take someone that if he is still there at 26, could be BPA and insurance for Earl long term. Doesn’t mean he will ever be as good as Earl, but we saw last year how much Earl holds the defense together, its a very important position given our scheme.

  12. RWIII says:

    Guys. It sounds like Eric Berry is in position to become the highest paid safety in the NFL. I understand Eric Berry is a free safety type player. And free safety players get paid more than strong safetys. But Kam Chancellor will be looking at the Eric Berry deal. Both players are same age (28). Don’t know why Kam is not resigned. Brock Huard said signing Kam to a long-term deal should be priority number 1. Well it looks like it priority #1 justify got more difficult .

    • Cameron says:

      It’s interesting – Mike B just got re-upped with a year left on his last deal. Kam is going into the last year of his deal and either hasn’t been offered or hasn’t accepted a new one.

      I’ve seen Kam tweet something along the lines of ‘sometimes you got to bet on yourself.” These tweets have been made without added context. We are left to read the tea leaves if you will.

      Perhaps Kam has been offered a contract extension already and has turned it down? Perhaps Kam is content to try the open market in 2018? Could be.

      If we take a bigger safety in this draft it could be a Kam hedge as much as any other reason.

      • RWIII says:

        Cameron : You have hit the nail on the deal. Totally agree with your assessment.

      • Ground_Hawk says:

        If Seattle can draft Melifonwu, I don’t think the FO would be necessarily drafting an eventual replacement for Kam, exclusively, but rather an injection of talent on a thin secondary.

  13. stretchjohnsen says:

    Great work Rob. Thanks for your analysis and insight. My only question is regarding Elijah Hood. You have been singing his praises all year. He may do well in drills, but I don’t find that his tape compares to that of Hunt, Perine, Gallman and Jamaal Williams. I’d be happier to see the Hawks pick one of them at #90, #102 or #104.

    • peter says:

      That’s my problem with Hood in a nutshell. The numbers say he should explode but I have never seen tape of him doing that. It’s hard to say why that is…

    • Rob Staton says:

      I think Williams is a bit overrated. Hunt, let’s see how he tests. Perine hit and miss, same as Gallman. Hood a bit underrated for me.

    • Kenny Sloth says:

      Joe Williams is really good!

      Wrong J. Williams

      Hood is physical and athletic. What’s not to like.?

      • peter says:

        I know he will test great. It’s hard to say. I just rewatched Hood vs GT and Hood vs FSU. I think I’ve clarified my opinions on Hood. at least on those tapes his best runs come off some excellent playaction manuevering typically mixed into a sring of trubisky runs and throws. But every other time he runs he just doesn’t seem to me to make anything really happen on his own. Just a very solid Turbin/Collins-esque style runner to me. Teams need a guy like that. But unless more game tape surfaces I’m not sold.

        • Kenny Sloth says:

          Teams love traits

          • peter says:

            yeah but does he add anything that the team doesn’t have? And that’s the pickle with the draft I think if Hood was some no name riser and Seattle could get him at say their last pick in the third or even in the fourth (if they had/have a pick there) then it makes all the sense in the world.

            But the running game has never died and teams realize at least some that it’s not as “fungible,” of a position. Quotes mine that was the hot term 5 drafts back. And I think it goes Fournette, Cook, then ?,….

            I just worry with a good combine Hood rises. Which he should he looks very solid. I just don’t know if he makes any sense for Seattle. Two years back Rob got me on the idea of Suddenness in players. I’ve just never seen any of that in Hood’s game.

    • Matt B. says:

      I’m hoping that they don’t use any of their top 5 picks for RB. I think we have a lot of potential with Rawls, Prosise, and Collins and could likely find one of the cheaper veteran RB’s for some added depth. There’s a lot of other areas of our roster where the depth is much thinner (LB, CB, S, OL).

  14. WALL UP says:

    Great post Rob! It will be interesting to see how things pan out this weekend, as they’re poked, prodded & measured. One measurement that should be added to the “Ideal Size” category for LBs is their arm length, since the OL, DL & DBs also have a required arm length.

    This could be a significant measurement with this group for dropping in coverage and having the added reach to ward off blockers, as they slip thru gaps. All those drafted in the earlier rds, and were starters, have had @ least 33 inch arms: Irvin 33.38, Wagner 33 & Wright 34.75.

    I’m not attempting to discount the necessity of speed, which is vital for a defense that flies to the ball. But, it would be unfair to not mention arm length when determining potential LBs in comparison with those that they have drafted in the past. It may set a precedent in determining the next LB prospect, along with speed.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Kevin Pierre-Louis had 32 inch arms though, not sure about Malcolm Smith.

      • Wall Up says:

        Those that are “starters and drafted in earlier rds”, would indicate their preference in the past few years. It’s good to see the pattern of their selections, by at least having arm length as part of the determining factor, rather than not taking it into consideration at all.

        Malcolm & Kevin were not targeted in earlier rds, and both played WILL & were not their preference, since KJ filled that role.

        • Rob Staton says:

          I want to identify defined traits though. They’ve never, not once, drafted an OL or DL with sub-33 inch arms. They’ve never drafted a CB with sub-32 inch arms. They have, to be fair, drafted at least one LB with sub-33 inch arms. And even though KPL didn’t work out, he was drafted in the same round as KJ Wright. They didn’t take him with the intention of never starting. And I don’t have the arm length numbers for Malcolm Smith. So they might have a preference but a LB with 32 inch arms isn’t going to be out of contention.

          • WALL UP says:

            “They’ve never, not once, drafted an OL or DL with sub-33 inch arms.” Actually, Joey Hunt has 30 1/4 inch arms: http://insider.espn.com/nfl/draft/player/_/id/50320

            The point made is that they do draft those less than their ideal size. Determining that Ideal Size is predicated by their earliest selections for that position, as you mentioned for all except the LBs.

            Putting 33 inches as that ideal length is a fair assessment for LBs, based upon those early rd selections, as mentioned previously. Whether this criteria is used is yet to be seen, but it’s good to give it fair consideration.

            • Rob Staton says:

              Hunt was R6 though so that’s really a throwaway pick. I think more is expected of a R4 LB. IMO length is nice but not vital at LB.

              • Wall up says:

                The same can be said of Malcolm & Kevin, since they too were late Rd picks. But, all of their early Rd selections (1-4), that were tried @ any LB position, have had @ least 33 inch arms. KJ, BWag, Irvin, Clark, and Marsh, just to mention a few, have all had at least 33 inch arms.

                To not acknowledge this as a pattern, due to personal preference is unfair journalism. My intent for suggesting this as a plausible determining factor was based upon their own selections, not my personal preference. But, your right, everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

                • Wall up says:

                  I would think that it would be an important unbiased factor to consider for determining their selection in the earlier Rds. We’ll see if history does repeat itself. I think it will. Of course, that’s just an opinion, based upon the current trend. I just thought it should be considered along with your other fine observations. :- )

                • Wall Up says:

                  Kevin Pierre-Louis was a late 4th Rd Comp pick 132, to be fair, even though it has not worked for him.

                • Rob Staton says:

                  I just think it’s a bit of a red herring you’re creating here. I mean, why would length matter when you’re playing in space? We’ve seen a mid-round pick at the position taken with sub-33-inch arms and the idea they’d pass on someone like Haason Reddick (who has 32 1/8 inch arms) because of length doesn’t make any sense when the job he’ll be doing requires a ton of work in space.

                  There’s a legitimate reason why length would matter on the OL and DL and at cornerback. It’s just a nice bonus at linebacker.

                  • WALL UP says:

                    You cover more space with length in their zone scheme. It also helps you to ward off would be blockers. Pete likes length for his LBs. That’s one of the reasons why KJ, BWag & Irvin were selected early as starters @ their positions.

                    Reddick more than likely will be gone @ 26. He will excel in a 3-4 scheme as an ILB, or a WILL in a 4-3. I’d have no issue if he were selected, if available, by the Hawks. He would though, be the 1st LB with sub 33″ arms selected in the first 3 rounds by the Hawks under JS & PC.

                  • Rob Staton says:

                    They’ve drafted two LBs early and one was brought in to be a LEO anyway.

                    It’s not a sample size.

                    Again, length is probably a bonus only. There’s a clear reason why it matters at DL, OL and CB. Not at LB.

                    In the end it comes down to this. Would they take a sub-32 inch arm CB in R1-2? No. Would they take a sub-33 inch arm OL or DL in R1-2? Probably not. Would they take 32-inch arm Haason Reddick in R1? Probably.

                  • Wall Up says:

                    C’mon Rob! Everyone knows length does matter! 🙂 This should be interesting to watch non the less.

  15. Cameron says:

    I just realized something cool as I went about searching for more tape of John Johnson (S, Boston College). If a teammate from the same side of the ball has a bunch of videos you can scout that player from their videos. In this case I found the videos from 2016 for Justin Simmons, who was his Safety counterpart.

    I’ll save you some trouble and provide the link: http://draftbreakdown.com/players/justin-simmons/

    • Cameron says:

      Update:

      Watched John Johnson vs Clemson and Notre Dame. Solid Tape. Interestingly against ND Johnson played almost exclusively corner and outside cornerback at that. He was barely targeted.

      Against Clemson Johnson played more what we saw in 2016 – a little bit of corner, a little bit of safety.

    • peter says:

      I do that all the time. I’ll also do that when trying to track a prospect that has no tape and find a game from a WR against that players team.

    • Sea Mode says:

      Nice. You can also look for the opponent’s offensive player’s highlights if you know Johnson covered him mostly, for example.

  16. Misfit74 says:

    Killer article, Rob.

    I found some combine stats that might be interesting to some, multi-year averages, benchmarks for position players by round drafted, etc.

    http://www.nfldraftdiamonds.com/combine-stats/

  17. CHawk Talker Eric says:

    Pro-worthy crib sheet this. Pure eye candy for draftniks.

    Justin Evans is fast becoming my favorite must-have prospect.

    I think Reddick (and even King) fills a more immediate need. But there isn’t a more Seahawky prospect in this draft than Evans. He’s the love child between Kam and Earl – flies like a missile, hits like a locomotive.

    • Kenny Sloth says:

      Couldn’t have said it better, Eric.

      This piece is just oozing information.

      Someone asked about this kind of piece a few days ago and I was like “oh just wait”

      • Sea Mode says:

        Yeah, when Rob hinted he had a SDB version of the already awesome FieldGulls combine article coming, I was like “Christmas in February”!

    • Ishmael says:

      Just watched the Evans tape from the LSU game and it’s… Not good. Doesn’t fill well in run support. Pursues too aggressively early and gets burned, overcorrects and gets too hesitant later. Footwork gets sloppy and choppy. You can clearly see the athleticism, undeniably pops off the screen, but he needs a lot of coaching.

  18. Poko says:

    Great job!Thanks,Rob.

    I like possibility or R.Johnson,and I will keep watching him.
    I think,he will become the target unless they get LT in R1.

  19. Greg Haugsven says:

    What’s people’s thoughts of a 2017 Oline looking like this?

    LT…Russell Okung
    LG…Forest Lamp
    C…Justin Britt
    RG…Mark Glowinski
    RT…Germain Ifedi

    It could happen.

    • peter says:

      yikes a hope not. I’m all about some continuity. I don’t mind the players per se but I’m not sold that Okung is really what this team needs. Lamp I don’t mind so much. I think Glow and Britt where they are could be killer next year. Ifedi I love but if they are moving him to RT I hope it’s for Moton or even better for me Asiata. Fant/Glowinski/Britt/Asiata/Ifedi.

      That’s my preference.

    • Bayahawk says:

      Two years in a row with no continuity.

    • Aaron says:

      While that looks solid on paper, I’m really hesitant about another huge reshuffle on the o line. From 2013 to 2014 RT changed, from 2014 to 2015 LG, C, and RT changed, and from 2015 to 2016 LT, LG, C, and RG changed. Having 2016 to 2017 change LT, LG, RG, and RT would most assuredly set us up for another year where the line doesn’t gel and Wilson is pummeled once again. At the most I would like the two tackle spots to change, anything more is too much for me.

      Also it’s looking more and more likely that the Hawks aren’t going to have enough cap space to bring in a LT FA, and may have to settle for a RT FA. This story from 12th Man Rising has me worried…

      http://12thmanrising.com/2017/02/27/seahawks-free-agent-exploding-bad-news/

      I would personally prefer a 2017 o line depth chart that looks like this…

      LT: Odhiambo, Fant
      LG: Glowinski, Draft pick
      C: Britt, Hunt
      RG: Ifedi, Draft pick
      RT: FA, Gilliam

      • lil'stink says:

        I think this is the way to go. We only get to see Ifedi in games, and not practices like the coaches do, but I’m convinced moving him to RT next year is a bad idea.

        We should be able to get a serviceable RT in free agency if we are willing to be aggressive. I think it should be our main priority this offseason, something above even extending Kam or Jimmy. We don’t have a ton of money relative to other teams, but we need to solidify one of the tackle spots this year. Trying to do so through the draft has more upside, but also more risk.

    • Trevor says:

      I like it Greg as long as Lamp is a 2nd round pick not first. Everyone wants continuity and I agree to a point but these guy have all been in the system so can focus on developing as a unit.

      Continuity is great if the OL had shown it had potential to be good. I would argue it did not and there was not only a lack of experience but overall talent. Therefore any upgrade in the talent level would be an improvement IMO.

      I still think Fant has big time upside however so the Okung deal would need to be really team freindly and he should be open to playing RT if Fant makes big improvements this off season.

      • peter says:

        That’s why I lean towards continuity. I don’t actually see very few players that can be had where Seattle picks that are going to improve the line. I’ve watched more Moton and tape that has Asiata in it. Either player to could push Ifedi out to RT which could possibly be a boon. Though even that worries me because (for me) I ‘m not sure he’s going to be a good RT. In the little tape I’ve watched at A&M it seemed to me a superior athlete dominating or at least positively effecting plays but not necessarily with good technique.

        So in that scenario the RG spot is improved but i think Ifedi on a natural learning curve without a high ankle sprain will be a monster at the RG spot. I like but don’t love Fant’s potential but I’m really not seeing any LT to draft. Maybe Moton could play RT? though a good deal of stuff written about him is about how Guard is the position he’s suited for.

  20. dingbatman says:

    Kenny Lawler is 203 pounds??? I thought one of the initial concerns was his slight frame and he would need to bulk up. He was listed at 185….

  21. Seahawcrates says:

    Rob, any thoughts about Rob Rang’s assessment of Bolles : “Interviews will be key for Bolles, an older prospect (he turns 25 in May) who comes with a reputation as a bully and questions about his ability to handle a pro blocking scheme after being spoon-fed his assignments with the Utes.” Have you heard this ” spoon-fed” take before? I know he was new to their system but that seems an odd descriptor for someone who you put at left tackle.

    • Cameron says:

      “Hey you! Block that guy lined up on your outside shoulder”

    • Scraps says:

      “Spoon-fed” maybe is a nasty way to say “easy to coach”. You know, you can’t say anything definite bad about him, but you don’t like him anyway.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Paralysis by analysis. Bolles is going in the top-15.

    • Trevor says:

      That is just a silly comment by Rang whom I like as an analyst. How do you spoon feed a LT assignments? Just flat out silly. The idea that he is a bully makes me want him more. I would be shocked if he gets past Panthers at #8 and could see him going to Jacksonville at 4 if he tests as well as I expect at the combine.

      Funny I remember the first time Rob mentioned him as a 1st rounder and best OT in the class he was not even on 99% of the analysts draft boards.

      • Rob Staton says:

        Here’s the thing with Bolles — it doesn’t matter if he was spoon fed assignments. There isn’t another OT in the class capable of locking on at the POA, flipping his hips to turn the DT/DE and driving them off the line. The hip-torque he generates is just elite athlete level. It’s where so many big men fall short. You can run fast in a straight line, jump a mile. Being able to stay light on your feet, stay loose and still move people is a special trait. Then you note his fluid kick slide, his desire to get to the second level and rare ability, in space, to lock onto a DB and hammer them. That is virtually impossible to do for most O-liners. The DB just darts away from them. Bolles wins in space against guys at 205lbs. He has the attitude and grit teams LOVE in the trenches. He wants to hit you in the face and punish you. His second level play in the UCLA game is insane. Never seen anything like it.

        If he was 27 let alone 24 he’d go top-15 IMO. He is rare. And we can find a minor quibble here and there. We can do that for Myles Garrett too. If Bolles was 22 he’d be a top-five lock.

  22. RWIII says:

    Guys: Any thoughts on Dawuane Smooth as a third round selection?

  23. Kenny Sloth says:

    Man, Haason Reddick is a pretty fun interview to watch.

    Jaleel Johnson is a little prickly.

    Kevin King is an honest personality.

    • nichansen01 says:

      I am a huge kevin king fan not only for his athletic profile and play, but for who he is a person. Great husky and I would love to see him a seahawk.

  24. CharlieTheUnicorn says:

    How about… for funsies

    LT…Russell Okung
    LG…Mark Glowinski
    C…Justin Britt
    RG…Isaac Asiata
    RT…Germain Ifedi

    I could get behind this line and rush the ball

    • EranUngar says:

      Maybe…but…

      A rookie guard playing with Ifedi in a new position….brings sweet memories of “work in progress”…”growing pains”…etc.

    • Trevor says:

      I love that OL but would prefer moving Glow back to RG and Asiata at LG. I think that would be a really good run blocking unit.

      Let Fant further develop and back up the OT spots and Rees as the #1 reserve for the Guard spots.

      You could likely get Asiata in the 3rd so you could then use your other 4 picks on day #1 and 2 to restock the defense.

      Any OL that moves Ifedi from RG to RT has me partially on board and Asiata is my 3rd favorite OL prospect in the draft after Bolles and Lamp.

    • peter says:

      Are you and Greg the same poster! And are you both joking around…..I’m not opposed to the changes from the LG-RT. I just think the Okung thing is strange. That dude is now a drive killing machine. Who is older, not stronger, not faster, not smarter, just older. Plus I’m not entirely sure he would even want to play in Seattle’s system.

      I think if they got Okung they would gain a bit of continuity, a chance at injury, some bad games like awful but w/o the benefit of being a basically free Basketball player, just an old first round draft pick, and this time next near we would still be talking about who to draft for a LT as Fant still wouldn’t have developed just through Osmosis and practice squad scrimmages.

      Nope for me. If they team is going to carry Sokoli and play him 8 plays on special teams, go through all of Sweezy’s mistakes only to let him go when he finally resembles on Olinemen, carry Bowie/Bailey for basically what amounted to nothing, and move Britt around a ton and let him quite frankly terrible and a liability until last season I say let Fant play unless they trade up for Bolles. Maybe, maybe if Odhiambo beats him out great. Two super cheap players that are home grown.

  25. EranUngar says:

    The LB direction –

    The potential candidates for the SAM position are truly exciting and the wealth of talent at safety/Big Nickle/Buffalo are just as enticing.

    However, picking an athletic LB that can function in open space, follow and cover TEs and big receivers when needed etc. is actually taking a big bite out of the potential 3rd safety/Nickle snaps.

    At first it made me believe that if we pick one high, we’ll probably pick the other later. It felt bad to to pick between those great players (Reddik/Bowser or Evans/Backer).

    Looking at some LBs tape in the last week I am slowly changing my view on the subject. Reddick and Bowser for example were used as pass rushers a lot and showed talent and strength at it. I can see the Seahawks keeping them on passing downs as part of the NASCAR package (Bennett, Avril, Clark & Reddik) and opening the spot for the Buffalo/Big Nickle role.

    It would make the pass rush faster and quicker to get to the QB and keep 4 hard hitting physical players behind them (Wags, K.J. Kam & Buffalo) to extract punishment and cover against running plays. It could be a way to get that bully mentally back.

    For me, the premium on those LBs should be rushing the passer effectively as much if not more then their cover skills.

    • Rob Staton says:

      You made this point before Egan and I said at the time, it’s too rigid. For starters, nobody has suggested they would go R1 linebacker, R2 big nickel. But the idea of taking a LB at #26 and then a big nickel at the end of round three is hardly preposterous. They drafted Odhiambo and Vannett in round three a year ago and neither played that much. A safety at the end of R3 who could be used as a big nickel for certain game plans while backing up Earl and Kam isn’t bad value. You’re getting depth at two positions. And a linebacker early isn’t there just to play SAM, he’s there to take the pressure off KJ and Bobby. So in one game you might rotate three LB’s and play a big nickel.

      • Shadow says:

        I remember how people complained that Marcus Trufant was a “luxury pick” back in 2003 because we had Shawn Springs and Ken Lucas at CB. Springs missed the first month of that season with a bad hamstring and having Trufant there saved our bacon big time. The cupboard at LB is dangerously bare and secondary is not much better. Plus, the more tools Kris Richard has to work with, the better. We badly need new blood on defense, and if that means we have a relatively high draft pick that doesn’t play much his rookie year, so be it. As long as that relatively high draft pick is capable of playing if/when we need him, that’s a win.

        We saw what happened on defense when Earl was lost for the season. Losing Wagner or Wright for an extended period of time would be almost as bad. Time to reload on defense.

        • Rob Staton says:

          It feels like the approach is going to be — we have 5 picks in the first three rounds. Let’s get a ton of quality depth and competition for this defense. Set up for the long haul, plan ahead while finding guys who can also have an impact today. I’m perfectly comfortable with that. Draft a LB early, a CB early, a S early. Play to the strength of the draft. Make this a really deep unit again.

          • EranUngar says:

            What is so wrong with drafting a LB with pass rushing potential early, a hard hitting S early and a CB early?

            Use the extra 3rd to move up in the 2nd and you have two top quality picks and two more at the end of the 3rd to stack a ton of quality.

            And, yes, I said it before and would still love to have a full time starter with the 1st round pick and someone to play over 50% of the snaps with the 2nd pick in such a quality draft. I agree it is not a must but if you can direct your picks to make it happen, why not?

            As for – ” They drafted Odhiambo and Vannett in round three a year ago and neither played that much” – If that will remain the case I wouldn’t rush to pinpoint those picks as an example of great drafting strategy. would you?

      • RWIII says:

        Rob: Yesterday Brock Huard said that if Seahawks decided to use one of their 3rd round picks. Move up in the first round and grab Ramczyk he said he is all in.

        • Rob Staton says:

          Seattle’s highest R3 pick (#90) can get them from #26 to #21. They might need to get ahead of Denver at #20 so it might not be possible to get at Ramcyzk.

          Ramcyzk is going to be hard to judge because of the injury. What’s the recovery time? What’s his ceiling? Tape is good at times but he isn’t Bolles.

  26. Wall Up says:

    The biggest area of concern for the defense has been the middle soft spot of the zone, covering TEs. Kam & KJ have been doing this admirably as the robber & covering the TE. This is where they can get help in coverage rather than rushing the passer.

    The combination of a LB/SS with cover skills could be best served for their current need in their base defense.

  27. LeoSharp says:

    K.J. moving back to SAM and replacing him with a coverage linebacker, similar to Malcolm Smith is likely what they intended to do with KPL and his highly athletic profile, he obviously hasn’t developed his ability in covergae enough to win the job. The team essentially had a Buffalo Nickel with Malcolm Smith. He fit both the ideals of a safety and Linebacker in the Seahawks system as well as being the fastest LB on the field which is what Pete Carroll has stated he wants out of the WILL position.

  28. Sea Mode says:

    Well, tons of stuff going up over on nfl.com. Gonna post in separate comments for discussion:

    Steelers make AB highest-paid WR. 5 year, $17m/apy

    Wow:
    Big Ben: $21.3m/apy
    AB: $17m/apy
    Bell: offered $12.3m projected franchise tag

  29. Sea Mode says:

    Chiefs finalizing Eric Berry to 6yrs/$78m deal to make him highest-paid safety.

    http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000788318/article/eric-berry-chiefs-finalizing-sixyear-78-million-deal

    (what’s Kam gonna want now?)

  30. Sea Mode says:

    Redskins tag Kirk Cousins. That’s a projected $23.9m cost for this year.

    http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000788320/article/redskins-put-exclusive-franchise-tag-on-kirk-cousins

    How does this affect the draft? Probably not much, since it was more or less expected, barring a huge trade offer. He can win them games, and they get one more year to decide whether to commit long term.

  31. Peanut says:

    I see Sidney Jones is not mentioned in the post, any reason? Don’t fit the profile? Seemed to be very important to the Mini- LOB (UW Secondary) last season.

  32. Sea Mode says:

    In your daily RB news…

    Vikings not picking up AP’s option. (duh) Vikes GM and AP comments sound to me like pretty generic league lingo that they aren’t going to be able to work anything out: http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000788296/article/vikings-wont-pick-up-adrian-petersons-2017-option

    Lacy says Packers want him back.

    Browns place R2 tender ($2.8m) on Isaiah Crowell.

    • Peanut says:

      Jamal Charles is also leaving the Chiefs

      • cyrus says:

        we need jamaal charles

        • Sea Mode says:

          Already have plenty of oft-injured RBs…

        • peter says:

          Or we could draft Alvin Kamara.

          • cyrus says:

            I wouldn’t complain if we took alvin kamara in the first round he is mini marshawn

            • Volume12 says:

              Jamaal Charles could really add something to this team. He’d give the RB room a nice leader and be a great mentor for Prosise. KC & Seattle both use 3 RBs too.

              JS loved this guy in GB and IIRC ET was his teammate at Texas.

              • Volume12 says:

                * A 1 year prove it deal with an option for a 2nd year wouldn’t be so bad.

              • Del tre says:

                We saw Charles do exceptional on the Chiefs when he was the full focus of the defense, on the Hawks he’d just be another weapon and we’d actually be able to run on first down. Signing Charles would be huge for this team. It gives us 5 options at running back if Collins picks up where he left off. Even with injury issues the running back room would be loaded, Charles’ might also bridge the gap of Sherman Smith leaving, a clear cut new leader.
                I wouldn’t mind a bigger deal if its a one year contract.

                • AlaskaHawk says:

                  Why not New England’s Blount? He was only paid 1 million last year and he is a free agent. Good powerful runner, probably get him for 2 million.

            • Hawktalker says:

              Love to have him, no way with our first pick though. Need to focus on needs first.

  33. Sea Mode says:

    Cool video out on Seahawks.com of inside look at how the Seahawks practice.

    Narrated by Pete Carroll, you can practically feel right between the lines the sideways glance at NFL for docking them the pick.

    Would be hilarious if one of the shots they put in was actually the play they got punished for, just so they could later point out how completely normal it was such that no one would even notice it…

    http://www.seahawks.com/news/2017/02/27/head-coach-pete-carroll-provides-inside-look-how-seahawks-practice

  34. Sea Mode says:

    Last but not least, yesterday Mayock talked Seahawk’s needs in his traditional 2hr combine press conference.

    http://www.seahawks.com/news/2017/02/27/nfl-network%E2%80%99s-mike-mayock-previews-seattle-seahawks%E2%80%99-top-draft-needs

  35. JimQ says:

    A projected Rd-7/UDFA – CB to keep an eye on at the combine, that might run under 4.35/40?

    —–CB-Shaquill Griffin, UCF, 6-1/192 Arm length TBD,
    2016: 13-games, 50-tkls, 30-solo, 4-INT (1 for TD), 3-TFL, 15-PBU, 1-BK
    2015: 12-games, 50-tkls, 38-solo, 2-INT (1 for TD), .5-TFL, 13=PBU,
    “”Staying on the theme of running faster than expected, keep an eye on Central Florida cornerback Shaquill Griffin during the final day of the combine. He’s been training at the Michael Johnson facility in preparation for his combine workout, and I’m told the trainers believe Griffin is ready to run “an elite time,” which means under 4.35.””
    From NFL.com profile:
    –“”Strengths: Has good size and strength. Has a disruptive punch and feet to impede in press coverage. Loose and athletic in his movement. Able to flip hips and match receivers without giving up much early separation in his transition. Allowed just 32.9 percent of throws his way to be completed. Possesses plus ball skills. Uses well-timed leaps and strong hands to challenge at the catch point. Is a rake it or take it cornerback with 34 passes defensed over the last two seasons, including six interceptions. Runs through targets looking to jar the catch loose. Aggressive in run support. Looks to play through receivers on the way to the ball. Can wrap up or chop down running backs.
    –Weakness: Slower straight line speed?”” Really? If he runs >4.35/40 sounds like a Seahawk to me.

  36. JimQ says:

    Another top end 40 speed guy to keep an eye on: (Lockett 2.0 ????)
    WR/KR-Shelton Gibson, West Virginia, 6-0/198 Projected Rd-7/UDFA – One of 3 fastest at combine?
    2016: 43-rec. for 951-yds, a 22.12-ypc avg. 8-TD s + 29-Kick returns for 633-yds, a 21.83-avg.
    From NFL.com profile: “”Sources Tell Us “He will end up being one of the three fastest players at the combine. He’s got ridiculous speed. He runs by people like they are standing still like DeSean Jackson used to do at Cal.” – AFC South scout.
    Bottom Line Gibson has good size and is an all-day field stretcher with blazing speed to climb over the top of cornerbacks quickly and the ball skills to finish the catch. While his hands can be a little inconsistent underneath and his routes are underdeveloped, his size-speed combination will offer a team a homerun hitter who forces defenses to keep a safety shaded his way. Gibson could be a low-volume, high-impact starter fairly early in his career.

  37. vrtkolman says:

    After seeing the Chiefs give Duvernay-Tardif $41 million over 5 years, I am thinking we should avoid the offensive line free agency pool. If an average guard got that much, guys like Zeitler and Wagner are going to be getting over $10 million a year easy.

    • RealRhino2 says:

      OTOH, it might be just that the Chiefs are stupid. They gave crazy money to Fisher, too. Maybe it’s like that time Carolina had all their $$ tied up in two top-tier running backs, and the Chiefs’ team of analysts has them convinced that have decent guards is the key to winning football….

      • Hawk Eye says:

        over paying for average talent is a good way to stay in cap hell and never win

        but prices seem to be going up, so draft picks and young talent will increase in value.

        • Hawk Eye says:

          even if they paid Tardif in Cnd $, I think he is overpaid for his talent level.
          Unless he uses his medical degree and saves a life on the field……

  38. cyrus says:

    jamall charles just got released, and the vikings are not picking option on adrian petersons deal so he is a free agent. Do you see the seahawks going after either one of these guys. Imagine C.J. Prosise and Jamaal Charles in the backfield at the same time it would be a miss match nightmare for defenses and since Jamaal Charles was injured the last two years we could get him for a discount. Or if we could get AP all day in seattle WOW

    • vrtkolman says:

      Both are 30 now, and on the wrong side of their careers.

    • Coleslaw says:

      I don’t care about their age or injury history, it would be a deal like the extension we have Marshawn at the end of his career. I personally would want to see Jamaal in Seattle, he’s one of my favorite players, he would come at a discount and wouldn’t start, we’d have a true committee of lethal backs. AP might make more sense, though, being a bigger back and more likely to have a good full season

      • cyrus says:

        AP will probably cost more though, and i don’t think he wants to come to Seattle. Jamaal Charles has more upside to thrive in our offense, think about the last two years in 2015 the seahawks singed a 34 year old RB by the name of Fred Jackson who mainly was used as a third down receiver, 2016 seahawks draft CJ Prosise but he is injured all year and Pete Carroll even said that he was considered about his reliability. I guarantee the seahawks will be interested and after missing two years we can get him at a discount and not have to draft a RB letting the hawks focus the draft on LB CB S and OL. We probaly will add another cheap OL in free agency along with a discount DT.

        • cyrus says:

          jamaal charles could be a STEAL if he is healthy and plays at his 2014 level
          (he torched the seahawks defense that year, leading to a win for the chiefs and the seahawks turnaround to push to the superbowl)

      • Sea Mode says:

        “I don’t care about their age or injury history, it would be a deal like the extension we have Marshawn at the end of his career.”

        You mean the deal that cost us $6.5m for like 5 games in 2015 and $5.5m in dead cap this year? (Not saying it wasn’t worth it at the time, especially for a Seahawks legend, but still, it came at a cost)

        If the price is right, agree with you they might show some interest in AP, but to simply say you don’t care at all about their age or injury history is pretty silly, IMO.

        • cyrus says:

          we wouldn’t pay him marshawn money

          • cyrus says:

            jamaal charles tore his acl twice was just unfortunate not many injures in his career before them

            • cyrus says:

              I would also throw Legarret Blount into the conversation for seattle he runs like marshawn lynch and has a consistent career and helped the patriots to 2 superbowl victories

              • Del tre says:

                Lagarrett Blount is a terrible locker room presence, got Lev’eon Bell suspended, punched a player after a bowl game, all around not a guy that anyone should want around a young locker room, I’m sure we won’t sign him after the shirt he wore after SB49.

            • Kenny Sloth says:

              Ok. Stop that right now.

              Downplaying major season ending injuries like that is pretty irresponsible

        • Coleslaw says:

          No, I don’t care about their injury history because it wouldn’t be a 6.5 or 5.5 dead cap hit. Marshawn had no injuries before that deal and showed no signs of aging. Charles for sure would come A LOT cheaper. It’s low risk-high reward what is silly about that?

          • cyrus says:

            I agree these are two of the best backs in the league why would you take a chance on Charles when you could get him for a discount. the seahawks love giving vets chances Ex: Mike Williams, 2011 Terrell Owens 2012, Fred Jackson and Rubin in 2015, Clinton McDonald and Devin Hester last year. It wouldn’t make sense for the seahawks not to bring Jamaal Charles for a visit and to make him an offer.

    • Steve Nelsen says:

      There is no way the Seahawaks are going after AP or Charles.

      First, we have the 6th lowest available cap space. They have enough room for only one veteran FA, maybe 2 if they are cheap according to John Clayton.

      Running back is not the top need, not even close. JS said they want a veteran at OL. A bargain rotational DL might be in the budget.

      Plus, this is a good year for running backs in the draft.

  39. Kenny Sloth says:

    Rob, do you rate Avery Gennessey at Texas A&M

    • Volume12 says:

      Some of these tackles aren’t even draftable bro. Banner, Bisnowaty, Gennessy is right there too.

      Having said that, in such a weak class desperate teams will reach on these guys.

      • Kenny Sloth says:

        That’s why I asked haha

        I think it’s going to come down to who we visit with on the OL.

        Didn’t Cable personally work out every OL we took last year (possibly every year)

        That being said, I’d love to see a guest piece from you somewhere down the line detailing some potential fits for the team based on your visit tracking.
        If you find the time that is~~

      • Trevor says:

        You are so right Vol. The worst OL class I have seen since I started following the draft. That I why the top 10-15 guys are likely going to be way over drafted. For example one of my favourites Asiata would normally be a late 3rd early 4th type guy and I would not be at all surprised to see him go in the 2nd if he tests OK at the combine.

        Combine that with the money average OL men are getting in free agency and it really puts the Hawks in a tough spot to do much but stand pat and really hope that this current group of guys improve with a whole off season together. Scares the hell out of me to be honest.

        • Sea Mode says:

          Although certainly TEF will help us narrow it down, I was just curious if pre-combine/pro day you guys had any names to watch. Here is the full list:

          SB Julien Davenport OT Bucknell 6066 310 36
          Shrine Dieugot Joseph OT Florida Intl 6052 299 35.63
          Shrine Storm Norton OT Toledo 6075 308 35.25
          NFLPA Ugokwe Jerry OG William & Mary 6072 318 35
          Shrine Samuel Tevi OT Utah 6050 312 34.88
          NFLPA Leamon Javarius OT South Carolina St. 6066 328 34.63
          Shrine Geoff Gray OG Manitoba 6053 319 34.63
          SB Dion Dawkins OG Temple 6037 317 34 5/8
          Shrine Adam Pankey OG West Virginia 6043 313 34.5
          Shrine Victor Salako OT Oklahoma St. 6054 NA 34.25
          Shrine Jonathan McLaughlin OT Virginia Tech 6041 293 34.25
          Shrine Alex Kozan OG Auburn 6033 309 34.25
          SB Conor McDermott OT UCLA 6081 305 34
          SB Kyle Fuller OC Baylor 6044 306 34
          SB Justin Senior OT Mississippi State 6045 322 33 7/8
          Shrine Dan Skipper OT Arkansas 6092 317 33.63
          SB Zach Banner OT USC 6083 361 33 5/8
          NFLPA Eldrenkamp Jake OG Washington 6042 301 33.5
          NFLPA Lee Cameron OG Illinois St. 6042 316 33.38
          NFLPA Braden Ben OG Michigan 6062 335 33.38
          NFLPA Myers Levon OT No. Illinois 6046 307 33.25
          SB Jordan Morgan OG Kutztown 6026 313 33 1/4
          SB Jessamen Dunker OG Florida 6041 306 33 1/4
          NFLPA Levin Corey OG Chattanooga 6034 305 33.25
          Shrine William Holden OT Vanderbilt 6073 313 33.13
          Shrine Kyle Kalis OG Michigan 6041 303 33.13
          SB Dan Feeney OG Indiana 6040 304 33 1/8
          SB Taylor Moton OT Western Michigan 6053 330 33 1/8
          SB Jon Toth OC Kentucky 6047 308 33 1/8
          NFLPA Knappe Andreas OT Connecticut 6083 323 33
          Shrine Avery Gennesy OT Texas A&M 6030 308 33

      • Sea Mode says:

        Anyone interesting among the deep dive prospects? Here’s everyone (I mean everyone…) above 33in arms so far…
        (no idea how much of a mess the table format paste from Excel will turn out. Sorry in advance.)

        SB Julien Davenport OT Bucknell 6066 310 36
        NFLPA Ugokwe Jerry OG William & Mary 6072 318 35
        Shrine Dieugot Joseph OT Florida Intl 6052 299 35.63
        SB Dion Dawkins OG Temple 6037 317 34 5/8
        Shrine Storm Norton OT Toledo 6075 308 35.25
        Shrine Samuel Tevi OT Utah 6050 312 34.88
        NFLPA Leamon Javarius OT South Carolina St. 6066 328 34.63
        Shrine Adam Pankey OG West Virginia 6043 313 34.5
        Shrine Victor Salako OT Oklahoma St. 6054 NA 34.25
        Shrine Jonathan McLaughlin OT Virginia Tech 6041 293 34.25
        SB Conor McDermott OT UCLA 6081 305 34
        SB Justin Senior OT Mississippi State 6045 322 33 7/8
        Shrine Dan Skipper OT Arkansas 6092 317 33.63
        SB Zach Banner OT USC 6083 361 33 5/8
        NFLPA Lee Cameron OG Illinois St. 6042 316 33.38
        NFLPA Myers Levon OT No. Illinois 6046 307 33.25
        Shrine William Holden OT Vanderbilt 6073 313 33.13

        • Kenny Sloth says:

          Basically just Davenport xD

        • Sea Mode says:

          The good news is, the table format turned out just fine.
          The bad news is, I screwed up my filtering and cut off a good chunk of the list. Will repost below just to be correct, although certainly TEF will help us narrow it down, I was just curious if pre-combine/pro day you guys had any names to watch.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Only watched him when watching the guard but wasn’t blown away. Let’s see what he does this week.

  40. Volume12 says:

    For WRs and TEs, I guess RBs too though not so much, for those of us that are watching the combine drills, keep your ears open. You’ll tell instantly who’s a natural hands catcher and who fights the ball simply by the noise the ball makes when making contact with their hands.

  41. BobbyK says:

    AP and Rawls would compliment each other perfectly. Both have a hard time catching the ball and neither can block well. But they sure can run.

    AP has a good year left in him. A healthy AP still commands the respect of defenses. Last year Wilson saw more seven man boxes than ever before, which is bad for the passing game. AP could help get it the way it used to be on running downs.

    I’m not for it, but I’m not against it. Depends on the money.

  42. Hawk Eye says:

    Rob, I just wanted to say, that as impressive as it is what you do here with all the info and stats and analysis, I think it is even more impressive that you have a bunch of people commenting and there is no trolling or bickering or name calling, wandering off into politics or religion, etc. I see some disagreements, but all very civil. Lots of other sites could learn a few things about how to run a comment section.
    You have set the tone and it is a fun place to come to and see what’s up. Much respect sir!

    • Kenny Sloth says:

      +1

      • bankhawk says:

        It truly is a model for what an on-line community should be, from Rob, right on through each an every regular! An ideal off season life-support system for the NFL junky!

    • peter says:

      Agreed it’s amazed me how long this has been able to work. It’s interesting because I truly believe everyone knows they don’t know but that is very, very rare on any other forum. Also if you pay attention it’s cool to see people exchange ideas and in time approach compromises or even shift to another player after further consideration. I know I certainly have.

    • HawkTalker #1 says:

      +1

  43. Coleslaw says:

    I’m jumping on the Alvin Kamara hype train. I think he’ll be drafted before McCaffrey but not sure if it’ll be the first round. If I had to guess I’d say Oakland picks him up. Im pretty sure I read that they let Latavius Murray go

  44. Josh emmett says:

    Where does Brian hill from Wyoming project? Is he a second rounder?

  45. CharlieTheUnicorn says:

    ALVIN KAMARA, RB, TENNESSEE

    Does this guy fit the profile for a 3rd round pick for Seattle? I’m seeing some mocks saying he might slide later and others earlier. Any thoughts?

  46. Misfit74 says:

    I’d like us to take a look at WR Ishmael Zamora.

  47. ZHawk says:

    Dorian Johnson with 35+ inch arms and almost 11 inch hands at 6’5″ 300 Pounds! Here’s a guy to keep an eye on this week.

  48. millhouse-serbia says:

    For whom JS said that he is an elite player and that he love him? It was at the and of his interview.

  49. Richard aka DezSeahawk says:

    Hey Rob, on Walterfootball he listed this Robert Davis WR Georgia State; he seems to be trying to get some attention. 6′ 3″ 219 lbs. 4.44 40 yd., 41″ Vertical, 11-4 Broad, 9 5/8 Hands, 33″ Arms. All that got my attention. Draft Scout here. http://www.nfldraftscout.com/ratings/dsprofile.php?pyid=130263&draftyear=2017&genpos=WR

    • Richard aka DezSeahawk says:

      I forgot, he got 19 reps on the bench, among 3 way tie for 2nd best. Vertical was 2nd best and broad was best of group. Definitely under the radar till now.

    • Rob Staton says:

      I missed his numbers, thanks for highlighting. I’ve added his name to the piece.