The 2020 Seahawks Draft Blog combine review

March 1st, 2020 | Written by Rob Staton

Isaiah Simmons was the star of the combine

What did we learn at this combine?

1. A significant number of top players are choosing not to do some or all of the drills. It’ll be interesting to see if this becomes a trend next year, particularly given the reportedly negative reaction to the switch to prime time. It’s time to pay the players for their time and effort to ensure this doesn’t become a second-tier event.

2. The defensive line and tight end groups are as thin as we feared. The Seahawks addressed their TE need by signing Greg Olsen. Their biggest issue is the pass rush though and we just witnessed the worst D-line workout at the combine in recent memory (more details here). No players ran an elite 1.5 10-yard split. There weren’t any obvious LEO candidates. It’s the least explosive group of defensive linemen we’ve seen in years. Unfortunately, it wasn’t unexpected.

3. There’s a significant collection of highly explosive and athletic offensive linemen destined to go in the top-20. Mekhi Becton, Tristan Wirfs, Austin Jackson and Jedrick Wills likely secured early grades. The question is whether or not Andrew Thomas, Isaiah Wilson and Ezra Cleveland have a shot to last to #27 if the Seahawks need a right tackle by April. The league is desperate for good offensive linemen.

4. There’s excellent depth at wide receiver and several first round prospects. The combine performance overall was underwhelming though. Henry Ruggs ran a 4.28 but that was expected. Many other big names — Jerry Jeudy, Ceedee Lamb, Jalen Reagor, Brandon Aiyuk — ran in the ‘good not great’ range. Tee Higgins didn’t do any drills because he said he fancied a rest. KJ Hamler was injured. It was a ho-hum display from a unit that promised much. The big exceptions are Denzel Mims (who leaves with his stock massively improved) and Chase Claypool.

5. There are some really good running backs in this draft but the well could run dry quickly. Jonathan Taylor’s workout brought back memories of Saquon Barkley in 2018. He could easily go in the top-20 as a consequence. D’Andre Swift and Clyde Edwards-Helaire didn’t do anything to diminish their stock. J.K. Dobbins sat out the combine. As much as the Seahawks need to add a runner, there are limited appealing options beyond the top-four based on their size preferences. Cam Akers is a name to watch though for the middle rounds.

6. Isaiah Simmons is that rare thing — a player worth trading up for. More on that in a moment.

7. This is not a Seahawks cornerback class. Only seven players met the +32 inch arm threshold. Three of the four didn’t do drills. One is 5-10 (and they generally stick to a strict 5-11 or taller rule). One is top-10 lock Jeff Okudah. They’re probably going to be looking elsewhere for some depth and competition here.

8. This isn’t a Seahawks linebacker class unless they have the opportunity and desire to consider Kenneth Murray or Patrick Queen in round one. The Seahawks value fast short shuttle times at the position but nobody got into the Cody Barton and Ben Burr-Kirven range from a year ago (4.1’s). They also like extreme athleticism. That could bring Willie Gay Jr into play — but they’ll check on his character flags first.

9. The safety class provides a nice mix of explosive traits and speed. Kyle Dugger ran a slower forty than expected (4.50) but should still go relatively early after jumping a 42 inch vertical and an 11-2 broad. Antoine Winfield Jr’s 4.46 — combined with his ability to fly to the ball and make plays (plus his bloodlines) will seriously interest teams. He looked outstanding during drills. Jeremy Chinn’s 4.46 forty, 41 inch vertical and 11-6 broad will grab attention. I thought Josh Metellus looked good too.

10. With so many players not working out for a variety of reasons, the pro-day circuit is going to be a lot more interesting this year.

Who looks like a ‘Seahawk’?

I’ve stuck to six realistic targets based on what we know about their physical preferences.

Hunter Bryant (TE, Washington)
All of the tight ends drafted during the Carroll era have run under a 7.10 three cone and have added a decent short shuttle time. Four players achieved that this year — Adam Trautman, Charlie Taumoepeau, Dalton Keene and Hunter Bryant (4.46ss, 7.08tc). I’ve focused on Bryant for a few reasons. Firstly, they traded for Jacob Hollister a year ago in a deliberate attempt to add a specific skillset. Bryant provides a dynamic mismatch target as a move-TE or big slot receiver. I think that’s something they want to feature. Secondly, we know the Seahawks like the way Washington trains its TE’s to block. Although it wasn’t his primary role, Bryant did a good job on tape when asked to block. Thirdly, he has the kind of character and attitude they like. If they want to add another target for Russell Wilson in this draft — Bryant could be a second round alternative if they miss out on the receivers early.

Jonathan Taylor (RB, Wisconsin)
We know the Seahawks have a type at running back. They have to be well sized, explosive and tough. Taylor is 5-10 and 226lbs (ideal for Seattle), he jumped a 36 inch vertical (ideal for Seattle) and he produced countless electric, physical big plays for Wisconsin — posting back-to-back 2000 yard seasons. Then he ran a 4.39 at the combine. He is exactly what they look for in a runner. He was interviewed by PFT during the week and he expressed his desire to play for Pete Carroll and with Russell Wilson in Seattle. The thing is — after this combine — he could be long gone by #27. He’s their type though and it wouldn’t be a surprise if he was a top player on their board.

Isaiah Wilson (T, Georgia)
Hulking size, run-blocking prowess and productive play in the SEC. That’s what the Seahawks have generally targeted when spending a high pick on a right tackle (James Carpenter, Germain Ifedi). Wilson is the next in line. He’s 6-6 and 350lbs with 35.5 inch arms, 10 1/4 inch hands and he’s nearly all muscle. In our weighted TEF formula, he finished second only to Tristan Wirfs as the best combination of size and explosive traits. He’s a formidable run-blocker and combined with Andrew Thomas — created never-ending time for Jake Fromm in the pocket. If he lasts to #27 it would be a major get for the Seahawks.

Jalen Reagor (WR, TCU)
You have to run a 4.4 to be an early pick at receiver for the Seahawks. Reagor’s 4.47 was slower than expected but he gained about 15lbs of muscle for the combine and it appeared to impact his speed and quickness. Even so, with the extra weight he still ran a 4.4. On tape he’s exactly what they look for in a receiver. He’s incredibly dynamic as a downfield threat who can win with easy separation for big chunk plays. He’s quick and sharp on shorter routes. Most impressively though — he’s highly explosive. He jumped a 42 inch vertical and it showed. Despite being only 5-11, he regularly out-jumped taller defensive backs to high-point the football and make catches in the red zone. Reagor also has some kick return spice. Overall he looks like a Seahawks-type receiver and could be a first round option.

Denzel Mims (WR, Baylor)
The Senior Bowl is a big event for the Seahawks. They’ve regularly tapped into the talent on show in Mobile. It’s how L.J. Collier piqued their interest a year ago. Tyler Lockett, Russell Wilson — both excelled in Mobile. This year Denzel Mims put on a show. He followed it up at the combine by running a 4.38 forty at 6-3 and 207lbs and jumping a 38.5 inch vertical. He’s adept at winning 1v1 on the outside either via contested catches or creating late separation on downfield shots. The Seahawks love to take chances downfield and that’s where Mims does his work. I have to say — I didn’t see a 4.38 runner on tape. It’s in the locker though and being able to line him up across from D.K. Metcalf with Tyler Lockett operating inside would give the Seahawks a lightning fast, highly threatening triple-threat receiving attack. He could be a first or second round target.

Hakeem Adeniji (G/T, Kansas)
For a number of years the Seahawks have sought explosive traits for the offensive line. Last year they took the second most explosive O-liner in the draft, Phil Haynes, in round four. They also like linemen with experience playing multiple positions. Adeniji played most of his college career at tackle but he has experience at guard and snapped in practise. He’s 6-4 and 302lbs with 34 inch arms. He was also the second most explosive lineman at the combine behind only Tristan Wirfs. Recently the Seahawks have signed veteran starters on the O-line and then drafted to develop with later picks. Adeniji could be an early day three target.

Kyle Dugger (S, Lenoir Rhyne)
As noted in our combine preview, the Seahawks don’t have a set profile for a safety. They’ve drafted fast players, slow players and everything in between. What they seem to really like is attitude and toughness. Dugger is an alpha male. He speaks with authority and he looks the part. He’s battled football adversity to get this far via Lenoir-Rhyne. He’s a hard hitter and a special teams demon. He jumped a 42 inch vertical and an 11-2 broad. A 4.50 forty is plenty for a man with his skill set. He could play linebacker or safety.

Other names to monitor include:

Justin Jefferson (WR, LSU) — he’s fast and reliable and has the kind of profile they target at receiver.

Cam Akers (RB, Florida State) — Akers is very explosive, well sized and looks the part of a potential C.J. Prosise replacement in the same kind of range (round three).

Cesar Ruiz (C, Michigan) — they love Michigan players and Ruiz is one of the best since Harbaugh took over with his explosive traits, size, quickness and pure talent.

Jeremy Chinn (S, Southern Illinois) — he’s been compared to Kam Chancellor. I didn’t see that on tape but he had a terrific workout — running a 4.46 and jumping a 41 inch vertical.

Nick Harris (C, Washington) — he’s Joey Hunt plus and if they were willing to draft and start Hunt, they might be willing to consider Harris in the middle rounds considering he represents the grit and physicality they desire.

Brandon Aiyuk (WR, Arizona State) — he just screams Seahawks on tape. He does everything they like and he’s a return threat on special teams. He ran a 4.50 but who’s to say he didn’t crack the 4.4’s on a Seattle scouts’ hand-time stopwatch? I doubt they need an excuse to grab him.

Matt Peart (T, Connecticut) — He was the eighth most explosive tester among offensive linemen and he has outrageous size (6-7, 318lbs, 36 5/8 inch arms). He’s a ball of clay ready to be moulded and that’s what they seem to be drafting for the O-line these days.

Raekwon Davis (DT, Alabama) — They’ve been looking for a Calais Campbell type for years. As noted yesterday, Davis’ physical profile is very similar.

Combine winners at each position

This is based on drills and testing…

Quarterback — Jalen Hurts

Running back — Jonathan Taylor

Tight end — Adam Trautman, Hunter Bryant, Charlie Taumoepeau, Dalton Keene

Wide receiver — Denzel Mims, Chase Claypool

Offensive tackle — Mekhi Becton, Tristan Wirfs, Austin Jackson, Ezra Cleveland, Jedrick Wills, Isaiah Wilson, Matt Peart

Interior O-line — Cesar Ruiz, John Simpson, Hakeem Adeniji, Damien Lewis, Nick Harris, Matt Hennessy

Defensive tackle — Justin Madubuike

Defensive end — Jabari Zuniga

Linebacker — Isaiah Simmons, Willie Gay Jr

Cornerback — Jeff Okudah, CJ Henderson

Safety — Antoine Winfield Jr, Josh Metellus, Jeremy Chinn, Kyle Dugger

Where do the Seahawks go from here?

For once there’s a trade-up scenario that makes sense

Every year I’m asked if there’s anyone the Seahawks should consider moving up for and I always say no.

Not this year.

Isaiah Simmons is worth trading up for.

There’s little chance of it happening, of course. The stars would have to align in so many different ways. That doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be discussed.

In 2011, the Atlanta Falcons moved up from #27 to #6 to select Julio Jones. The trade cost the Falcons their second round pick (#59), a fourth round pick (#124) and their 2012 first rounder.

It was a bold gamble, just like any trade. It’s easy to sit here with hindsight and praise the decision. There are countless other trades where the gamble didn’t pay off.

Yet Jones’ extreme physical profile, character and college production at least tipped the balance in Atlanta’s favour.

We’ve arguably not seen a player like Jones since 2011… until this weekend.

Julio Jones
Height: 6-2 3/4
Weight: 220lbs
Forty: 4.42
Vertical: 38.5 inches
Broad: 11-3

Isaiah Simmons
Height: 6-3 5/8
Weight: 238lbs
Forty: 4.39
Vertical: 39 inches
Broad: 11-0

Simmons ticks all of the boxes. He has a tremendous athletic profile. In 2019 he registered 102 tackles, 16 TFL’s, eight sacks, three interceptions and nine PBU’s. He’s a natural leader and was a heart and soul type for Clemson’s Championship team.

This is exactly the type of player you roll the dice on.

Imagine what he’d be like for the Seahawks too. He could easily line up in the Mychal Kendricks role to offer both coverage ability and some pressure/pass rush. He could be a long term replacement for K.J. Wright at WILL. He could be Kam Chancellor with less intimidation but a lot more speed.

You could pretty much ask him to do anything — because he showed at Clemson he can do everything.

If it was possible — and let’s be realistic, it probably isn’t — to pull off a deal similar to the Julio trade, it’d be worth considering. It’s a coincidence that the Seahawks own the same picks that Atlanta had in 2011.

When discussing a trade like this you need to suggest a partner. It’d need to be a team at the start of a rebuild that is valuing picks over draft order.

The only obvious candidate is Carolina at #7. They have a new coach and a fresh start. They’ve moved on from Greg Olsen, Luke Kuechly has retired and I’m not sure anyone is really convinced by their lukewarm support of Cam Newton last week.

Let’s say they were targeting Jordan Love as a late first round pick and felt he would be there in the 20’s as their quarterback of the future. They might be tempted to move down, get their guy and collect a haul of picks.

This would also require Simmons to last to pick #7 of course (although Julio Jones did last to #6 in 2011). If we assume the Bengals select Joe Burrow and the Redskins Chase Young, you’d probably need the following to happen:

#3 Detroit trade with the Chargers for a quarterback
#4 The Giants stick to the trenches (OL or DL) under Dave Gettleman
#5 The Dolphins select a quarterback
#6 Having traded down, the Lions select Jeff Okudah

I appreciate how far fetched and dreamy all of this is. I’m simply proposing a talking point. Simmons could easily be snapped up with the third pick by Detroit after the way he performed in Indianapolis.

Seattle’s defense desperately needs a shot in the arm though. It needs a significant injection of talent — via free agency and the draft.

Isaiah Simmons is the ideal modern defender. He has the freakish physical profile Seattle loves. He has the character. He has the proven production. He has star power.

If there was ever a time to move up in the draft, it’d be for him. And regulars know I’m not the type to talk in that way about trading up.

The Seahawks’ task in free agency just got harder

The clear off-season priority was to fix the flailing pass rush. They finished the 2019 season with 28 sacks, second fewest in the league behind only Miami (23). Their sack percentage was 4.5% — third worst overall.

They had only 126 pressures, sixth fewest in the league. Seattle’s pressure percentage was the fourth worst (19.3%) behind Detroit (18.9%), Houston (18.1%) and Miami (16.7%). They hit the quarterback 68 times — fourth fewest. They had 52 TFL’s — again, fourth fewest.

You might not need an elite, LOB style defense to win a Championship — but you can’t be this bad at creating pressure.

Unfortunately, as noted on Saturday, this is the worst D-line draft class in recent memory. Yes — several names opted not to perform at the combine. Those who did test, however, made it very clear. There’s no speed. No quick twitch. No LEO.

This creates two big problems:

1. The rest of the NFL watched San Francisco make the Super Bowl guided by a dynamic four-man rush. Many teams are going to try and emulate that. That means competing in free agency for the best pass rushers.

2. Several prospective free agent pass rushers are going to be tagged now, because the league knows cheap replacements are not forthcoming. This will thin out the free agent class and make players like Jadeveon Clowney a prized asset.

A difficult situation usually means an aggressive approach

The Seahawks don’t do things by half. When they’ve got a problem to solve, they go after it.

When they didn’t like the look of the 2013 draft options they gave Minnesota their first round pick for Percy Harvin. Two years later they didn’t see a dynamic red-zone target in the draft, so they traded a first round pick for Jimmy Graham.

In 2017 they were forced to replace Malik McDowell with an expensive rental for Sheldon Richardson. In the same year, they had to replace the injured George Fant with Duane Brown — a deal that cost two more high picks.

When they were in desperate need for pass rushers last year after trading Frank Clark, they boldly acquired Clowney and Ziggy Ansah and spent a first round pick on L.J. Collier.

Now the Seahawks are facing a similar dilemma. They can’t go into next season with the same problems on defense. If free agency is too expensive and the draft a dead duck for the D-line, it could mean more trades.

We’ve seen a developing trend of pass rushers being traded on the franchise tag. A year ago, Clowney, Frank Clark and Dee Ford were dealt. The Seahawks could look at trying to fix a deal with Kansas City for Chris Jones or Jacksonville for Yanick Ngakoue. However — both would require serious compensation and a new contract.

Furthermore, you’d be forced to offer the going rate for a top pass rusher. If you pass on paying Clowney in free agency, you’d only be faced with having to pay the same amount (or more) to someone like Jones or Ngakoue, albeit with picks thrown into the mix too.

There’s also the veteran market.

It’s unclear what that will be like. Von Miller voiced some displeasure in Denver’s direction at the end of last season but there’s been no trade rumours since. Although, I suppose, the Harvin and Graham trades caught everyone off guard.

A deal for Miller would be ideal — providing the Seahawks with the kind of premier EDGE Pete Carroll has identified as an absolute requirement. It’d cost at least the #27 pick though, if not more. And that’s if Denver is even willing to entertain the move.

It appears the Redskins are set to hold onto Ryan Kerrigan. Jacksonville are worth a call for Calais Campbell — but they’d be mad to actually make a deal.

The realistic (and affordable) trades all appear to be at other positions. Andy Dalton at the Bengals, Darius Slay at the Lions and Trent Williams at the Redskins.

If they’re going to make a deal — it might end up being out of left field. Keep an eye on rebuilding teams and clubs who haven’t got a lot of cap space.

What might they do?

1. Spend their resources on the defensive line (they have to)

2. Consider trading #27 for a premier pass rusher

3. Bring in a cheaper veteran right tackle as a draft hedge (Williams? Veldheer?)

4. Add a weapon for Russell Wilson relatively early in the draft — either a receiver or Hunter Bryant

5. Put themselves in a position to draft ‘their guys’ rather than needing to aggressively fill needs

You can now support Seahawks Draft Blog via Patreon by clicking the tab below.

Become a Patron!

182 Responses to “The 2020 Seahawks Draft Blog combine review”

  1. Hawkhomer1 says:

    Great analysis Rob. It is gonna be an interesting few weeks.

    • MyChestisBeastMode says:

      Ya, I 2nd that. Rob, your analysis is awesome per usual.

      I’ve got to say, this write-up and draft class have me bummed coming from the perspective of wanting to bolster our D. It feels like a solid O-line addition or two may be our best bet at improving from the draft. Everything else feels lacking for me, outside of trading up or taking a luxury pick i.e. RB Taylor or top tier WR with our 1st (or eventual 2nd pending a trade down). The caveat being if they can nab Raekwon Davis at the optimal spot whether that’s with the 1st pick or getting some trade value and getting him somewhere in the 2nd round.

      Idk, I seem to have felt more excited about prior drafts compared to this. Hope I’m wrong and we crush it.

      Thanks again Rob for your impeccable work!

  2. Volume12 says:

    If they don’t trade their 1st pick and can upgrade the pass rush sufficiently, this years class and some of JS’s comments kinda make me think it’s BPA regardless.

    • Volume12 says:

      And that’s obviously gonna differ from us and other teams. Just because may not like someone or see something in them, doesn’t mean they won’t. For better or for worse.

    • Rob Staton says:

      I think his comments make a bit more sense now. He probably anticipated what we’ve seen. But that in itself makes me wonder whether their inability to fill needs as they want in this draft will likely mean a trade involving #27. It has that 2013/15 vibe.

      And they’re not going to hold onto #27 on the off chance someone like Jonathan Taylor, a running back, is there at #27.

      • Volume12 says:

        Good points.

        I just wish there was someone obvious they’d zero in at DE like Frankie in ’15. Thought Okwara would be that guy and maybe he is, but man this EDGE class is rough if ya want they like.

      • 1976Hawk says:

        Rob,

        What do you think about the option of cutting Justin Britt/KJ Wright to free up more cap room to sign some DE’s? It may be the best way to land guys like Clowney, Fowler, Armstead, etc. (If both of those guys aren’t tagged)?

  3. Rob Staton says:

    Tony P on Grant Delpit:

    “I’m hearing a lot of concerns about LSU safety Grant Delpit and many of those concerns run parallel to the criticisms of Greedy Williams from last year. For Delpit, he is being criticized by many as not being tough or a good tackler – and I would agree with the latter.

    Before the Combine began, I was told that Delpit was likely not going to test well. As we know, he ended up pulling out of Combine workouts with an ankle issue. It will be interesting to see what his marks are once he runs for scouts.”

    • Volume12 says:

      There’s some instances were he seems like he shrieks from contact. I still think he can be a great single high, FS, but teams are gonna have to work out what that’s (what Pauline is referencing)all about.

      It’s not like ET. He just took bad angles and had poor body control because he’s wound so damn tight.

  4. Zxvo3 says:

    Definitely was shocked when I saw the trade up move for Isaiah Simmons. I was like…. is this Rob who’s writing this? But when I first thought of it, it’s brilliant. You get an all around player on defense who wrecks games and adds speed/toughness to the defense. It’s a long shot, but wow what a great idea.

    • God of Thunder says:

      Rob makes as good a case as possible for this trade. Love reading the rationale. But it’s still a long shot to happen. There are too many holes to fill. Seattle has 3 picks in the first two rounds. If they flip the 27th pick they can add at least 2 more picks. Let’s say one of those is a solid 2nd round pick (plus a third and fifth, say). It’s possible to leave the draft with 3 – 4 top notch players. I predict an OT, a receiver — or as Rob says, Bryant instead of a receiver — maybe an edge and a running back.

      • God of Thunder says:

        PS— I know Edge is weak this year. I think they can use a mid round pick to take a chance on a project though. Just a prediction.

        • Mike says:

          Yeah I really think we will see a departure from typical Sneider MO and be active in 1st wave free agency. Something like Everson griffin, clowney, and maybe an extra body with vic beasley as a more discounted reclamation project/depth. At best a mid-late round project player.

          I also think we will draft and athletic DT this year rather than a DE. Let Reed walk and train hos replacement.(raekwon?)

      • EmperorMA says:

        When have the Seahawks (or any other team, for that matter) left the draft with 3-4 top-notch players? Maybe once in history?

        I’d feel better about trading up for a superstar than taking a chance on a bunch of 2nd rounders.

        • Awsi Dooger says:

          I agree with that. The middle rounds are overrated, Sure, anyone can obsess over outliers and remind of this player or that player from the 3rd or 4th round. Big deal. The identifiable cut off point is basically pick 40. Numerous studies have shown as much. Consequently every year I would try to pick within the top 40 as often as possible, and then take a nap until the 5th or 6th round or whatever.

          The chess piece aspect is always overrated. You can fill those spots otherwise. It’s much more important to take 2-3 swings at premium players than to think you have to upgrade 6-8 spots in dullard chess piece fashion. When a team vaults toward the top of the league it’s because they suddenly have stars.

  5. Paul Cook says:

    This has just been awesome reporting and analysis, Rob. I barely look elsewhere anymore. You’re a treasure in this department.

  6. drewdawg11 says:

    I was all for trading up for Simmons when people thought he was going from 10-15. Now that he’s a definite top 10 guy… I’m still on board. He’s a guy who can transform your defense and he would potentially be a foundational player. Hey, I’d trade 2 firsts and another pick for the guy. After that I would attempt to trade up in round two to grab that tackle, or even double down on the defensive side and take Willie Gay. Now you’re probably not keeping KJ and that opens up $10 million. Not ideal because he’s a team leader, but it’s better for the future of your team. It’s all shoot for the moon type stuff, but I respect the hell out of you for proposing it as a talking point. Goodness, I thought pictured a dime defense with Simmons playing the middle backer spot.

    • Chris a says:

      I like the way you think

    • Davido says:

      I also expressed the idea once in a discord way before the combine. The chances are very low but I feel like this defense just needs some supreme talent like most other teams have gotten in the last 5 years by having an early draft choice.

    • GoHawksDani says:

      Man, it would be a fun draft, if we’d trade all of our picks to move up just leaving us with 2 and we’d draft Simmons and Willie Gay :DDD

  7. Trevor says:

    Awesome coverage of the Combine again this year Rob. Great job! Now if we could only get you replacing Jerimiah and his fluff commentary on the NFL network. They could use a British accent on the set to spice things up a little.

    I think you have summed up the Hawks situation and options perfectly by the way. Going to be a fun but challenging offseason with some big moves and surprises I think.

    The trade idea for Simmons likely won’t happen but I would absolutely love it. He is the most sure fire NFL Star prospect I have seen in a while and would be the guy Bobby hands the torch to and the leader of the defense in 2-3 years.

    • Volume12 says:

      Yeah, let me jump on that train. I say it every year after the draft, but I’ve no idea how Rob doesn’t get burnt out and just pumps out piece after piece. Its pretty damn impressive to say the least.

        • MyChestIsBeastMode says:

          Can we start a twitter mob? I’ve never done anything like that before. However, targeting @nfl or all of Jeremiah’s comments with #Robsaiditbetter

          You deserve national attention and a damn $$$ lucrative contract from someone in the scouting/combine realm; more than the all the love you receive from this awesome community at SDB.

  8. Matty R says:

    Hi Rob, thanks for your coverage of the combine. It’s been helpful in gaining an understanding of what the Seahawks might do come draft day and leading up to that in Free Agency. What do you think a contract would look like for Emmanuel Ogbah? He has the length (35.5″ arms) and burst (1.58 10 yd split) that the Seahawks look for in a DE. I know you have mentioned him for FA options, but am not sure how to price a potential contract. Appreciate all of your effort the past few days and thank you for the premium content.

  9. Michael Hasslinger says:

    Thank you, Rob for the excellent combine overage.

  10. Davido says:

    Where is the 15lbs info about Reagor coming from?
    If he really gained 15lbs in a few weeks most of it is water and fat which can not be good for his 40 time.

    • Rob Staton says:

      You need to go and look at his workout again. It was NOT fat. He was all muscle.

      He’s lifted too much. It’s clear. He was 190lbs in college and now he’s 205. He wanted to be a bit bigger for the NFL. It slowed him a little. It’s no big deal.

      • Davido says:

        From the looks you don’t see water this easily. People can be really buffed and lean and still carry some water. The thing is you simply can not gain 15lbs of muscle in a few weeks. For reference, for a trained person to gain 15lbs in a year is super impressive. A friend of mine is one of the most promising european bodybuilders and he gained 22 lbs of muscle in a year and this one of the most crazy gains I have ever heard of and this is bodybuilding.
        If he gained the 15lbs over the entire season than most of it is probably muscle. I was just suprised because I understood it as he gained 15lbs in a few weeks. In that case it’s almost only water and fat.

  11. Volume12 says:

    How in the hell did Denzel Mims run a 6.6? 3 cone? He’s pretty stiff on tape. His hips never move.

    Gonna be a DK Metcalf isn’t he? Just dominates the red line and a deep threat ya gotta respect.

  12. drewdawg11 says:

    What I saw with Mims was a kid who wasn’t as refined as he could be but he had the skills to go up and take the ball away, and when he got a crease he was gone. Perhaps his best football is ahead of him, and let’s be honest, he was playing with a mediocre QB at Baylor. They were a fairly limited offense playing on a defense-oriented football team. He’s exciting to project.

    • Volume12 says:

      Oh, I didn’t mean anything negative by it. Im a big fan of his. Just something I noticed.

      I agree about his projection. He’s absolutely got some exciting traits.

  13. Steve Nelsen says:

    This was your best year, Rob! Great coverage. Thank you for making combine week so much fun.

  14. Tony says:

    I’m for a surprising move up to get simmons. The boost that’ll give the defense. Sign clowney for top dollar and try to nab another pass rush, Fowler? Then nab simmons. That is a bold move to ignite the D. Love if they resign fant too, then grab a 2nd or 3rd rd TE.

    If no one bites for simmons, grab a OL, hopefully Wilson, and get your TE or WR. Go crazy on DL in FA no matter what tho.

    • Mark Souza says:

      The trade up scenario is brilliant. Too many years we’ve been in poor position in the first round hoping a difference maker in a position of need would fall to us. Last year, that slapped us across the head as all the speed rushers were gone by the time our pick rolled around. I think it’s worth it to give up draft picks who’ll likely turn out to be competition bodies in camp for a shot at a real difference maker. In talent rich drafts you don’t need to do that. In this one, it makes sense.

  15. STTBM says:

    Dang, Rob! Wickedly well thought out on a possible trade up. Taylor might also be eorth a trade up, but hes going top 20 at the least…

    What makes your scenario more fascinating is Seattle was enamored with Kuechly, and explored trading up for him, as their MLB need was great. However, then there were a bunch of fast tough LB’s to be had in the secod round (Lavonte David, Kendricks, Wagner), and this year outside Simmons…crickets….Hmmmm…

    I still think Seattle tries like mad in FA, and waits aslong as possible to trade. If they do trade up, it will be for Simmons or Taylor. I think Ruiz, Wilsin, Taylor, a few others are in play at 27.

    Really excellent piece Rob! Hats off to you!

  16. AndrewP says:

    Not so sure Campbell would be that difficult to pry away. No, his talent cannot be replaced without a high pick, but…

    Jacksonville is a team in a dreaded position: without the talent to win big, but also facing significant cap issues. Even with cutting Dareus, they likely won’t have the money to both replace him and build even more talent to win.

    They also have a coach on the hot seat, and a GM in who knows territory. Add in an eccentric owner and..?

    If I’m the Seahawks, I call and ask their price. The ask will be too high (27, or multiple 2s), and you say no thanks. But, you play the long game. If the offseason unfolds and it’s obvious the move is to gain as many assets to build around Minshew, maybe they call back willing to renegotiate.

  17. Denver Hawker says:

    Thanks for all the great coverage this week Rob- I know those were some late nights.

    I don’t know about you, but I think my head is going to explode trying to solve for all the needs between FA and the draft. At least we have a narrowed board to work with now.

    To be SB contender, they need to stick the landing in FA. It’s hard to find immediate average starter quality on OL/DL where they’ll be drafting.

    Looking forward to that post combine mock.

    • Rob I have been thinking about this recently and I would like to know your thoughts or take on guys with Big Chip on their Shoulders Doug Baldwin had it Richard Sherman definitely had it .KJ spoke of it as well as Kam and I believe Russ has well in I remember watching a u tube video where John S called DK that he had been drafted by the Seahawks and one of first things DK said was what took you so long. I guess my question is can you think of guy who could in draft let’s say in the bottom on round two.perhaps have a first round grade and carry a big chip on their Shoulders.

  18. Dawgma says:

    Man, wouldn’t it be nice if the multiple early picks they’ve made on the d-line recently that fit this lofty physical profile weren’t, you know, so awful they can’t even get on the field?

  19. Gaux Hawks says:

    The only remaining — and reliable — sources in my life are now Stephen Colbert and Robert Staton.

    • MyChestIsBeastMode says:

      Oh man, I love me some Colbert! Been watching him since the Daily Show days. I also really enjoy the “Closer Look” pieces on youtube from Seth Meyers Late Night Show. I usually listen to both of their monologues and there is a surprising amount of overlap (sometimes its so close, I wonder if they talk with each other about it). Funnily enough, they seem much more informative than any of the talking heads on “reputable news outlets.”

      Besides that, ya Rob is the best read in the sports realm.

  20. Lewis says:

    One thing I don’t get.

    Simmons looks comparable to Irvin. Why can’t he be a LEO?

    • Tecmo Bowl says:

      Simmons probably can be a Leo. If he wanted to gain 50 pounds he could dominate at 3tech too. Next level athlete

      • Lewis says:

        Sure, it’s just of all the possibilities Rob mentioned, that wasn’t one of them. I was curious why when the body type seems ideal.

        • STTBM says:

          My humble guess: because hes rad as a LB, and a natural there. No need to change his position, hes too good.

        • Tecmo Bowl says:

          Simmons is a Swiss army knife. Plugging him at Leo or even Irvins role would diminish Simmons talent. Think he would be better utilized in a more varied system the Seattle’s. Its cool to think about him in a Hawks uni, just dont think its very plausible.

          • MyChestIsBeastMode says:

            I feel like Simmons comp is “The Honeybadger,” but like a TNMT version who drank the green goo and got all huge.

  21. RWIII says:

    Rob. Everyone is raving about Jordan Love. Are you buying all the hype?

  22. Tecmo Bowl says:

    Scrolling through the last weeks combine articles induces carpal tunnel. Haha The excellence of your blog cannot be understated. Thanks a million for making the interwebs a better place!

  23. cha says:

    Great wrapup Rob. Thank you so much. Not only do I appreciate the summary style of writing but the POV of how the combine will likely impact the next series of decisions the Hawks make. Well done.

    You make a compelling case for Simmons. What other roster work would the Hawks have to do to make this a viable option? I’d think they’d have to fill some major holes in order to feel comfortable giving up that much capital on draft day.

  24. Tecmo Bowl says:

    “We’ve seen a developing trend of pass rushers being traded on the franchise tag. A year ago, Clowney, Frank Clark and Dee Ford were dealt. The Seahawks could look at trying to fix a deal with Kansas City for Chris Jones or Jacksonville for Yanick Ngakoue.” Rob

    Feels like this trend will continue. Why wouldnt a team try to increase their draft compensation from a late 3rd if anything? Tag and trade gets a likely higher pick(s) in hand. If JS swings and misses in FA, a trade has to happen. The pass rush has to be fixed.

  25. LLLOGOSSS says:

    Joey. Bosa.

    I know it’s been dismissed, but I personally don’t see the Chargers generating any interest for a few years, new stadium aside. I’d be seriously working then right now if I was John Schneider. Two 1sts and a new contract is fair to pay for a player of that caliber — who, paired with Clowney — would totally reshape this defensive line.

    • Rob Staton says:

      You personally might not see them doing anything. They have tickets to sell in a new stadium. And that’s all that matters.

      • LLLOGOSSS says:

        Nobody in LA cares about the Chargers, Bosa or not. Every team likes to sell tickets.

        • Rob Staton says:

          It doesn’t matter.

          Do you think the owners are sat in LA right now saying, ‘oh well nobody cares in LA, better trade away our best player to Seattle.’

  26. Aaron says:

    Rob, I know you had not studied Ojemudia yet, but would you think he could be more of a Byron Maxwell type vs a typical Seahawk corner. We know that we prefer to have tall and lengthy guys like Tre, Browner, Sherman, etc. But why force the issue? I don’t think Ojemudia is going to start and be an All-Pro right off the bat. But we should be asking ourselves if we can find someone that can push Tre Flowers. If we could get him in the fifth round, I say we have to pull the trigger. He makes a lot of plays in run support and plays for an old-school football guy in Ferenz. He had a pretty good short shuttle and three cone drill too from what I saw on NFL.com. Thoughts?

  27. Cawww says:

    Rob, thanks for the great content again! You just keep getting better and better and I can’t believe we are lucky enough to have you and this blog. Longtime reader of all your posts and the community in the comment section, but this is my first comment. Not sure where I stand on the idea of trading up into the top 10 (or more), but who would you rather move that far up for: Simmons or Kinlaw?

  28. icb12 says:

    Great content all week. Appreciate all you do Rob.

    And the results of the MOST important 40 yard dash at the combine..

    Rich Eisen with a 5.98!

    Ran mine in Arctic Gear and bunny boots this year at -30F. Pure comedy.

  29. Donovan says:

    Rob – You da man! That’s all.

  30. GoHawksDani says:

    Great post! But I’m not sold on Simmons.
    Unless he can be a premium rush LB putting up 13+ sacks, I don’t see the huge need (LB is a need, but probably not a burning one for 1-2 years). So although he seems like a gem, I don’t see the need.
    Trading up would mean sacrifice a ton of picks. That would probably mean you cannot draft a really good OT, maybe not even an OG or year 1 starting OC. You probably wouldn’t have R2 picks so the top WRs are also off the board. Huge sacrifice.
    I also don’t think PCJS wrote off Barton and BBK. They stick with T2, Hill, Darboh, etc despite their initial issues.

    If they figure out RT, LG in FA. Cut and re-sign Britt for starter OC, add maybe a good value cheaper vet to fight for WR3, re-sign Clowney, add another EDGE, re-sign Reed, add some (1-2) vet DT, then I say the roster is solid.
    For money, we could cut-re-sign or just cut/trade KJ.
    If you say this dude can start at WILL year 1 (or fight for the position with Barton), and he would be a game wrecker, causing turnovers, getting sacks (but then we would shift the defensive mindset too by blitzing a bit more with LBs) and be awesome…then I’m all for it.

    But right now, I see too many holes and question marks (EDGE rusher, DT depth and quality, RT, LG, OC, WR3, RB group, TE depth) to even entertain the idea.

    I’m sort of the same with Taylor. I like his potential, and a freak athlete, but man…those fumbles are bad. Scratch the fumbles and other position needs and I’d be OK drafting R1 him. Scratch just the fumbles or the other needs and I’d be still OK in mid R2, but with these two issues I wouldn’t draft him earlier than R3.
    We have a good back who fumbles some, and a guy with ton of potential. Not sure I need another RB1 while we have 2 of them. At least not at that price. I have a bust-feeling about Taylor. I wouldn’t hate if PCJS would get him, he has high ceiling, but it’s helluva risky move. You might have a Barkley-McAffrey game-changing back, but you can also have a guy who cannot run as well as in college, but fumbles just as much.

    I’d like Isaiah Wilson or Cesar Ruiz in R1. I like Duvernay/Aiyuk/Claypool/J Jefferson in R2. Davis could also be a cool R2 guy. Not sure where Zuniga would go, but if R2, I’d also be happy with him. Willie Gay could also be a good R2 prospect.

    I’d probably go:
    R1 – OT (Wilson) or OC (Ruiz) maybe a really-really good OG prospect
    R2 – WR (Duvernay, Aiyuk, Claypool, J. Jefferson) or Hunter Bryant
    R2 – Raekwon, Zuniga, Willie Gay
    R3 – A really good nCB or if there is no one, maybe an LB (if we didn’t draft WGJr) or if some interesting, good safety falls for some reason (which we don’t mind) it’d be OK to pull the trigger here (Dugger, Winfield, Chinn)
    R4 – RB (Akers, Gibson, or someone else)
    R5 – raw OG/OT with physical/athletic upside
    R6 – TE (if we didn’t draft Bryant). Either one who is a raw receiver and not that athletic but can block as a lineman, or a raw guy (like someone who switched from basketball) with athletic upside but need 1-2 years on PS
    R7 – outside CB prospect

    • Rob Staton says:

      A premium rush linebacker getting 13 sacks? How many of them do you know???

      He’s a machine. He brings relentless pressure, TFL’s, he defends the perimeter, he covers. He is the ideal player for this defense.

    • Sea Mode says:

      While even Rob has been clear that it’s a long shot to trade up like that, every once in a while a talent comes along that might be worth it.

      I mean, who wouldn’t in hindsight have traded our whole 2014 draft class for just Aaron Donald?

      R2- Paul Richardson
      R2- Justin Britt
      R4- Cassius Marsh
      R4- Kevin Norwood
      R4- Kevin Pierre-Louis
      R5- Jimmy Staten
      R6- Garrett Scott
      R6- Eric Pinkins
      R7- Kiero Small

      I know, it’s not always a fair comparison, but it does kind of put some things into perspective.

      And, of course, Rob is not proposing trading away our entire draft class either. Actually, we would still have a full slate of 7 picks if we did the trade as he described.

      I feel like we have solid, cheap depth pieces on the roster. Lots of guys who are still promising and whom we want to keep developing. So we don’t necessarily need a huge draft class to come in and fill roster spots. What we need is a significant infusion of game-changing talent on defense.

      • Matt says:

        Totally agree. We don’t need more members of the middle class on this roster – we need premium talent at several spots. That’s going to cost draft capital and money – but they NEED to do it. RW isn’t getting any younger…neither is PC.

        Sign Clowney and Quinn at DE.
        Draft Simmons and a big time pass catcher.

        And just go for it. You win with great players – it’s high time they trust themselves and do whatever it takes to get them.

      • smitty1547 says:

        WOW that’s a bad draft UGH.

        I thing we need to cut Britt, and Wright(I know it sucks..but) and Dickinson

        Let Ifeidi and Fant go if the money is to high and it more than likely will be.

        Use draft capital on OL Ruiz and Wilson or as close to as we can get.

        Then retain Clowney and another DL free agent with extra cash.

        Still leavening enough picks for one of the twitchier DL prospects and WR

      • Lewis says:

        Well, when you put it THAT way…

  31. Henry Taylor says:

    A trade up honestly might be the way to go this year, theres some blue chip defensive talent (Simmons as Rob mentioned, and I’m not off the move up for Kinlaw hype). There’s also the possibility of the NFL overthinking themselves into letting the most polished LT prospect I can remember fall into the teens, who would instantly be the best lineman they’ve ever drafted.

    Those 3 in particular would have me jumping for joy to add.

    • TatupuTime says:

      Anyone have a picture of him smoking weed out of a gas mask by chance? That would come in real handy on draft night.

  32. SonGoku says:

    Has anyone here read the D-Line article at 12thmanrising? What do you think about this?
    https://12thmanrising.com/2020/02/23/seahawks-fix-4-signings/5/

    • Rob Staton says:

      The problem for Seattle vs the run is the perimeter not necessarily the interior. I don’t think they need Snacks… they need players who can get off a MF block in space (or avoid the block in the first place).

  33. drewdawg11 says:

    That article points out Robert Quinn as being the Leo and I think I’d be cool with that. They do mention signing both Suh and Harrison inside; but I don’t know if that’s going to happen. They like Poona and they could still be after Davis in the draft. One of the other is what I would think. Now, after all this trade up for Simmons talk, I want to know who else would be worthy of moving up in your eyes, Rob? Maybe if Andrew Thomas slides? Jonathan Taylor? I really am of the option that they should be looking to move up in round two, but hey, let’s dream big!

    • Simo says:

      No question Simmons is a dynamic athlete and he would look fantastic in a Hawks uniform, but the cost of moving from 27 to top 10 is just so high. A trade up like this seems so out of character for Pete and John, although they have made bold moves in the past.

      It’s also hard to imagine any trade up scenario for anything other than an impact defender. Unfortunately, Young, D Brown and Kinlaw are also projected to go very high (top 10 likely), so the cost isn’t much more affordable than moving up to #7 as in Rob’s example.

      Rather than a huge trade up on draft day, I suspect they are much more likely to be very active in free agency and perhaps swing a key trade for a veteran player along the way as well.

      As always, a job very well done on this piece Rob. This is by far the best place for Seahawks news and discussion, thanks for outstanding effort!

    • Rob Staton says:

      Nobody else is worth moving up for.

  34. Comfect says:

    So the Jags are planning to tag Ngakoue but he’s not happy about it:
    https://www.espn.com/nfl/story/_/id/28820491/sources-jaguars-use-franchise-tag-de-yannick-ngakoue

    What do y’all (especially Rob of course) think this does to the chances of getting him or trading for Campbell? It would be nerve-wracking but hilarious to end up in another Clowney scenario (or the other end of a Clark trade) and of course 19.3 million for him puts cap pressure on them for Campbell, but not if they end up trading him.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Ngakoue I struggle to work out. Mediocre athlete, lacks length. But very, very productive. I do wonder how much he’s aided by Calais. But you can’t knock the production. If you trade for him you’ll have to pay him elite money. I’d rather give that to Clowney. But he wants out and I think JAX are probably going to have to deal him. So he’s an option.

      • The Jaguars can franchise him but then they lose the money they just got in releasing Dareus. Teams will know that and the Jaguars wont have much leverage. Teams will just wait them out and the compensation coming back to them could look something like the Clowney deal. Personally for me I dont see them going after him

        • Rob Staton says:

          Well, I think they cut Dareus purely so they can tag Ngakoue. I don’t think that is much of an issue. Ngakoue making a power play saying he will never play for them again is the key here. I suspect they will be clever and set some kind of deadline (eg — by March 16th, we want your best offer) and a trade will happen.

  35. drewdawg11 says:

    That franchise is a mess. I wouldn’t be surprised, despite the fact that he’s a total pro, if Calais said “I’m out” and asked for a trade himself. He’s too late on his career to just lose in Jax. Mistake after mistake with those guys. Nick Foles, right after freeing themselves of Bortles? I wonder how long until Myles Jack wants out. Yannick, I don’t think I want to give up picks AND pay the man. I’d rather take a shot at Fowler or Quinn.

  36. Erik says:

    You read my mind, Comfect. I would live to hear thoughts on a Ngakoue trade. Could we afford him and Clooney? Is he a speed off the edge guy that Pete wants? Is he a good fit for our system?

    • Henry Taylor says:

      We could afford him and Clowney, but we might have to get creative with their contracts and/or be brutal with the cuts of players like Britt and KJ. A worthwhile sacrifice to have those 2 guys on the edge imo.

      Yes he’s a speed guy, that’s his game, but he does lack the desired length and 10 yard split that they’ve gone for in the past (that may matter less in exchange for proven production).

      Apart from not matching their usual physical profile, he is a scheme fit. Jacksonville are one of many teams that play a Seattle like scheme so he should fit in fine.

  37. Mark Souza says:

    I don’t get Hunter Bryant as a Seahawk unless Jacob Hollister leaves in free agency. Hollister is our move-TE. Bryant would be a slower, less explosive version who is unproven in the NFL. I would like to see the Hawks add another tight end considering how attrition affected that group last year, just not that guy.

    • Rob Staton says:

      Hollister isn’t very good. He did an admirable job when needed but he didn’t even make the week one roster. The Seahawks need someone in that role who can be a difference maker. That’s what the QB deserves.

      • Brett says:

        He’s also about to get expensive. If the Seahawks decide to place a tender on him as a restricted free agent that will cost a min of $2.1MM against the cap, which is where the original round tender is set.

        I like Hollister and wouldn’t mind him back, but not at that price.

        For comparison, if you draft Bryant with one of the 2nd rounders he is likely in the neighborhood of DK Metcalfs cap hit, which was a shade over $800k.

        • Rob Staton says:

          I think they’ll let him walk and hope to re-sign him at a cheaper cost.

          And that’s smart IMO. He isn’t worth $2m. And you make a great point about Bryant’s potential salary. For me they want a move TE compliment. Bryant is that guy.

    • drewdawg11 says:

      Hollister stepped in and filled a role, but he shouldn’t be retained if we can find someone better. If they did go with Hunter, thank you for your service to our team, Jacob.

  38. Erik says:

    Thank you, Henry Taylor. I wonder where he would (or if he would) fit on Pete and John’s wishlist. Where do you think he ranks on the list of trade or FA signing possibilities? Would he be more preferred than Von Miller, Calais, or Fowler? Others?

  39. Kingdome1976 says:

    Really good work these last few weeks Rob. I can’t say how much I look forward to every article.

    My initial thought about the pass rush in the draft is we should probably draft Okwara. I think it’s worth the gamble assuming he runs good at his pro day.

    I am also thinking maybe we should pay up for Clowney and Fowler. I’m not totally sold on Fowler but he has the explosive traits we desire, he is young and he had really good production last year. We wouldn’t have to trade a pick for him either.

    my 2 cents

    • I just cant see a way they would pay $40 APY for two players. Personally if its Clowney then I believe its a guy more like Quinn or Griffen. Thats my 1 cent anyways.

    • Rob Staton says:

      They have to be aggressive to fix the pass rush. Better to go for it there then be sat here in 12 months having wasted another season.

      But they also can’t be reckless. Clowney, Fowler (or Everson Griffen) and Okwara makes sense. There are other scenarios that don’t.

  40. dcd2 says:

    Great work leading up to and throughout the combine Rob. Every year, I’m more impressed.

    Simmons may be a pipe dream, but you could really scheme at a new level with a guy like him. There probably wouldn’t be a better ‘spy’ for the next 5 years. I could certainly see 10 being the floor for him, as Cleveland has to figure out the Lamar issue twice a year for awhile. In fact the entire AFC is probably drooling over him being able to neutralize (or mitigate) the running from Lamar, Mahomes, Josh Allen, Deshaun, etc.

    Do you have an opinion on John Reid (PSU) as a nickel option? He ran sub-7 for the 4 cone and sub-4 for the short shuttle. He was the only guy to hit both of those marks and also ran in the 4.4’s for a 40. He’s 5’10, 187 (Coleman was 5’11, 185). His jumps were top 10 for CB’s as well. I haven’t looked at any tape, but from an ‘on paper’ standpoint, he seems like the closest comp to Coleman in the draft.

    • Jhams says:

      I have a hard time seeing Cleveland go anywhere but best offensive tackle available. Containing Lamar Jackson doesn’t do them any good if their own franchise QB keeps regressing because he’s getting killed behind a terrible O line.

      • dcd2 says:

        Containing Lamar would probably do them some good, but I take your point. OL, is definitely a need, and likely the biggest.

  41. Matt says:

    This combine really deflated my outlook for next year.

    I was surprised to read your Simmons proposal…and in all honesty, I think it’s the right move. RW will be 32 and this team realistically has a 4 year window before his skills deteriorate (and no I don’t mean he becomes bad, just less dynamic). With that said – here’s my offseason plan:

    Free Agency:

    Sign Clowney and another higher end DE.
    Pay George Fant.
    Keep Justin Britt.

    Draft:

    Go all in on Isaiah Simmons (trade #27, 3rd rounder, and future 1st).

    Pick 1: Simmons – we need difference makers and speed.
    Pick 2 (R2): WR Mims
    Pick 3 (R2): DT Davon Hamilton

    I won’t even try to project the later rounds, but you get a difference maker on Defense. A plug and play DT who is well balanced. And another weapon that can carve out a niche role as WR3.

    This team does not need any more Cody Bartons, LJ Colliers, etc…we really need blue chip talent. And unfortunately, that means we are going to have to be aggressive in both Free Agency and the Draft. Quality over Quantity this year. Again, RW is at a unique age where he still has premium years left, but it’s most certainly on a shot clock. I get the “Win Forever” mantra but realistically there is a shelf life on these things and you need to take full advantage of a good coach and an elite QB.

    Thanks Rob. What do you think it realistically would take to land Simmons?

    • Rob Staton says:

      There are two trades I would look at.

      1. Julio Jones to Atlanta
      2. Patrick Mahomes to Kansas City

      Both deals involved the #27 pick and moving into the top-10.

      For Jones, Atlanta gave up #27, #59, R4, 2012 first rounder.

      For Mahomes, Kansas City gave up #27, #91 and a 2018 first rounder.

      So the difference is significant. The Chiefs gave up two firsts and a third. The Falcons gave up two firsts a second a fourth. So I think the two deals provide a ‘highest and lowest’ margin from which to construct a trade.

      The defense needs an injection of pure talent.

      • drewdawg11 says:

        And they also get to perhaps keep their second rounders. The time is now, and impact players are few and far between when you’re drafting at the end of the first. If they play their cards right, that first next year will be 32. We play in a division with Kyler Murray. It would be nice to have someone like Simmons to shadow that kid. Simmons is the golden defensive prospect worth the gamble.

      • Simo says:

        Unfortunately, (for the Hawks anyway) Simmons is now getting top 3 buzz after his combine performance. Moving from 27 to 3 is considerably more expensive than trying to move up to the 7-10 range. I just don’t see this happening at all.

        • drewdawg11 says:

          The thing is, its conceivable that the teams in that range already need other things more. The QB frenzy could be the one chance for him to fall to 7. Hey, if I were Detroit, I would take him. If I were the Giants, same. Still, Giants need OL, to protect their investment. Miami needs a QB, so unless they take him instead and count on a QB later, that’s a no go. Honestly, its all hypothetical at this point, but if the opportunity presents itself, why not?

        • Rob Staton says:

          He could definitely go top three. And I don’t think it’ll happen either. It’s simply a talking point with some logic — even if it isn’t likely.

          Yet Mike Sando just posted an article where a GM predicted the top-10 picks. Simmons wasn’t included.

          • drewdawg11 says:

            Another point not talked about yet: How fun would it be to trade up directly in front of Arizona to take the guy who would be the neutralizer to their dual-threat QB? Also a chance they could take him at 8.

            • Rob Staton says:

              The entire NFC West would wet their pants if they made this trade.

              • Duceyq says:

                Rob, if you had a choice between Seattle trading up in the draft to take Simmons or using that same draft capital to trade for Von Miller, which sceneraio would you rather or would make the most sense for the Seahawks?

          • cha says:

            It’s very possible Simmons doesn’t go as high, simply due to the position factor. Everyone’s talked themselves into needing a “premium position” guy. QB, OT, CB. When the best player in this draft might be a LB.

      • Matt says:

        Makes total sense. And honestly – I think they need to be aggressive. Unfortunately, pick #27 is just in that no man’s land where I think they can get a nice player, but not a difference maker. To your point, they are in dire need of real, difference making talent.

        Fortune favors the bold.

        • Simo says:

          There’s no reason they can’t get a difference maker at 27, since teams routinely draft them in every round. You just have to make the right choice and be a little patient! The Hawks have drafted difference makers in rounds 2 (Wagner), 3 (Wilson), 5 (Sherman, Kam) just to name a few. Now, not a lot of rookies are difference makers right away, it usually takes 1-2 years. Perhaps Simmons could be an exception and be an impact player right away.

          • There is also the Saints trading up from 27 to 14 two years ago. They gave up 2 first rounders and a 5th round pick. Could be an option if Kinlaw falls that far (assuming they have interest).

            • Rob Staton says:

              Trading up for Kinlaw is a big no thanks.

              The point of the Simmons suggestion was purely and simply because, for the first time in 11 years of doing this blog, he’s worth moving up for. Nobody else.

          • Matt says:

            There is no difference maker at a position of need that can contribute right away. They need somebody who sacks the QB or creates turnovers on Defense. I’m failing to see a guy that has that potential at 27, let alone a guy who can do both like Simmons.

  42. Ashish says:

    If we pick center in first round he can be still backup first year or play guard

  43. HawksGal says:

    Rob, Thanks so much for another amazing year of covering the Combine, Top Notch!

    What do you think of the receiver Devin Duvernay for the Hawks? He can line up pretty much any where and be had a little later than some of the bigger names allowing us to fill positions of need, meets the speed criteria too.

    As a Canadian I’d be thrilled to see Claypool as a Hawk!

    • Rob Staton says:

      I watched Duvernay at the weekend and came away underwhelmed. So many screens and slants. Then I did some digging and he had the most receptions on screens in CFB last year. The Seahawks target receivers who get downfield and make big, explosive chunk plays. They haven’t really gone for the guys who play the short game and rely on YAC. So for me, I don’t think he’s an obvious target.

      • HawksGal says:

        Thanks, I thought the same until I dug a little deeper and saw the moved him from an outside receiver to the slot, I love his straight line speed, great hands and YAC, apparently his route running and blocking needs more work, appreciate it Rob.

  44. Henry Taylor says:

    If they were to add Simmons how do we think they’d use him? His best fit is probably WILL, but that is KJ’s spot, so would they release him?

    Or do they use it as an excuse to keep rolling the 3 LBs on the majority of plays? Moving KJ to SAM, and have what they had going last year but with a LB who can genuinely cover move TEs and slot receivers without any issues. I think that might be one of the more interesting things they could do with the team.

    • Rob Staton says:

      They could do anything with Simmons. He could play SAM and cover/rush like Kendricks and defend the perimeter. That, to me, would be pretty useful. He’d be the ultimate big nickel/linebacker hybrid. He could replace KJ as a long term WILL. He could be the most athletic true strong safety in NFL history. You could put him on a TE (eg Kittle) in certain games or having him spy a QB (Kyler Murray). He can rush, attack the LOS, play in space, cover.

      So many options.

      • Henry Taylor says:

        You’re so right, to the point Im actually kinda annoyed at you for proposing this scenario because it’s probably not going to happen, but now Im gonna spend a month fantasising about it.

        I suppose that’s the point of this time of year after all.

  45. bigten says:

    Similar to the Duvernay question, what are your thoughts now on Donovan Peoples-Jones after the combine? i know you werent found of him going into the combine, but with him having a fantastic combine, and also being to be had later in the draft, think he could be an option? Former 5 star recruit.

    • Rob Staton says:

      One of the downsides of a combine is when players who underwhelmed in college test well, we tend to look at them differently. DPJ was a top-level recruit so we could’ve anticipated a good workout. Yet his play just wasn’t good at Michigan.

      • drewdawg11 says:

        In the words of my buddy who is a UM fan: “That guy is a crucial third down drop waiting to happen.” He loves the talent, but he often made a mistake in crucial moments.

      • bigten says:

        Do you see it as being solely the player (ala McDowell situation with just no heart)? Or could it be the system/supporting players? Im guessing you see it as the player, considering Raegor had better but low numbers (this year at least) but you have shown how much better he is than his numbers and production would suggest. But that Michigan team was hott mess on offense the past few years.

        • Rob Staton says:

          Some players, despite their athleticism, just don’t have it.

          • Mark Souza says:

            I second that. How many times have we seen receivers run 40s in the 4.2, 4.3 range that just couldn’t catch? Daryl Turner and Darius Heyward-Bey come to mind. It was like they wore gloves from a suit of armor. Speed is great for a receiver, probably the 3rd most important trait after hands and route running ability.

  46. SoCal12 says:

    Great writeup as always. Rob, where do you think the talent cliffs are for this draft? I think PCJS like to identify those and aggressively move around to pick around them. If this class seems very top heavy I wouldn’t be surprised to see more moves up this year.

  47. Von says:

    I understand the value of 1st round picks but something crossed my mind. If you’re the Dolphins, and you have 3 1st round picks, why not invest 2 on QBs. If they like Tua/Herbert, why not use #18 on Love as well if he was available? Washington did that with RG3 & Cousins, but Cousins was a 4th I believe.

    • Henry Taylor says:

      Because then you’re admitting you dont have faith in your guy. It’s one thing to use a 4th on a back up you think has upside but you can’t just go pouring 1st round picks on a position where only one guy can play (Taysom Hill notwithstanding).

      And if you say they’re a valuable commodity down the line, ask the Cardinals how that Josh Rosen pick maintained its value.

      • cha says:

        I can definitely understand the feeling of wanting to hedge your bets since QB is such a critical position, but spending 2 first round picks seems like a plan that would fail from the start.

        Best case scenario, you trade away your QB2 for a first round pick. So you’ve spent millions in bonus money, a first round pick, a roster spot, and time developing the guy…in order to get a first round pick back.

        But now you’ve blown a cheap season or two on him. The 3rd and 4th years are more expensive and that whopping 5th year option is now a factor. So is he really worth a first round pick in trade? And if he is, your QB1 better be awesome, because you’ve just sent a pretty great player out the door.

        Tons of potential landmines.

        Take your top guy, and a developmental project late if you want to hedge.

    • Awsi Dooger says:

      As a Dolphins fan I have been arguing for that all season on Miami sites: Try to draft Tua and also Jordan Love. Both are very talented but also have some question marks. It’s not obvious beforehand where it would shake out. Get both of them in camp and seemingly at least out shakes out toward the high end.

      The league is laughably conservative and scared in this regard. We’ve gone through a 40 year conventional wisdom lull in which you identify your guy, don’t bring in any meaningful competition, and then see where it shakes out. It is so ill conceived and pathetic there is no way it remains the norm. The analytics types are just starting to get involved in this sport. Once their logic becomes more accepted it will be raw normalcy to keep emphasizing the quarterback position with multiple swings until you get it right. The chess piece mentality is no longer applicable in a league with Mahomes overcoming a 24 point deficit within one quarter.

      Weeb Ewbank drafted Joe Namath in round one and then followed up with Heisman winning quarterback John Huarte from Notre Dame in the second round. Given the low number of teams they were the 1st and 12th picks in the AFL draft. I remember Namath saying he loved that, especially when Huarte was confident enough to sign with the Jets instead of dodging Namath and signing with the NFL team that drafted him. The Jets were sending a message to Namath and Huarte wasn’t backing down from a challenge. Namath emphasized countless times how valuable that was to him, that he pushed extra hard to establish the pecking order between the two quarterbacks. I remember Ewbank laughing while saying that had been the design all along.

      As a Dolphins fan there is already a somewhat similar example in franchise history, albeit more like the Rosen/Murray situation. Miami drafted Kentucky quarterback Rick Norton early first rounf in 1966 then gave up on him within one season to draft Bob Griese very early first round in 1967. Minus that bold move by general manager Joe Thomas there isn’t a Perfect Season. Heck, Don Shula probably never leaves the Colts to take the Dolphins job. Shula always said the Miami job was so appealing to him because so many stars were already on the roster like Griese, Csonka, Dick Anderson, Mercury Morris, Bill Stanfill, Nick Buoniconti, etc, but Shula emphasized that Griese’s presence was the tipping point.

      Who cares what other teams think if you draft two quarterbacks in the first round? Who cares what analysts think? Who cares what fans of other teams think? There is nothing weaker than succumbing to fear. Succumbing to style is a joke. Why be alone when I can be a clone?

      As babies we are fascinated when other human beings are paying attention to us, reacting to us. Then we go through life paranoid about what other people think of us. Eventually you realize none of it mattered. Nobody gave a rat’s arse about you. They had their own problems.

  48. James says:

    Great job on the Combine, Rob. I encourage all your fans to support your efforts via Patreon.

    I agree that our 2020 R1, 2020 R3 and 2021 R1 would be a fair price for Simmons, and I would do it, but I find it very difficult to believe John would pull the trigger. Maybe his abysmal R1 picks/trades (James Carpenter, Percy Harvin, Germain Ifedi, Malik McDowell, Jimmy Graham, LJ Collier, et al) will finally convince him to go for a sure thing instead of a reach for need. Earl was John’s only R1 home-run, Okung was always injured, and Bruce Irvin was good but we incomprehensibly let him walk FA. Not a pro-bowler in the bunch, except for Earl. John does much better going for best-available after R1.

    In lieu of that, OT seems the obvious way to go. Hopefully Solari will make better picks than Cable. It seems very likely that an OT with a legit R1 grade (Isaiah Wilson, Austin Jackson, Ezra Cleveland, Matt Peart) would be there at #27.

    I cannot see spending a R2 pick on a TE3 or RB4, so I would go WR and OG. If Hunter Bryant is to be an H-back, then maybe. After that, John can hopefully work his magic from R3 on…

    • Rob Staton says:

      It wouldn’t be a TE3. It’d be a big slot 1.

    • Bayahawk says:

      How were James Carpenter and Germain Ifedi “abysmal R1 picks”? I’m genuinely curious how you’ve come to that opinion.

      • Rob Staton says:

        Because some fans think a near-10 year career (Carpenter) and four years of consistent starting leading to a likely big pay day in free agency (Ifedi) sucks. When in reality, both picks did a damn site more than many others drafted in their range.

  49. Volume12 says:

    Maybe it’s just me, but I feel pretty comfortable saying that Isaiah Simmons won’t have a huge impact year 1. It’s gonna take a little bit to figure out how to take advantage of his skill set and where to put him. He’ll be a big time player in a year or two though.

    • drewdawg11 says:

      In all honesty, I think just having him on the field is an upgrade over whoever else played there last season. That goes for LB, and SS. He’s fast than Kendricks and McDougald, he’s bigger than everyone in the back 7 save for maybe KJ, and he’s without a doubt the best defensive player in the draft. Unless he gets injured, he will have a major impact by the time the playoffs come around, which is exactly what you want.

      • Volume12 says:

        I don’t think he’s better than Okudah.

        In a year or two I’d be willing to bet he’s an All-pro caliber player. There’s always a curve with rookies and I just feel like his will be a bit steeper.

    • Simo says:

      I tend to agree, and we should temper our expectations for every rookie including Burrow. It takes time for rookies to adjust to the pro game and the tougher competition. That said, Simmons could still be a step up from KJ or Kendricks, especially by the time the playoffs come around.

  50. SonGoku says:

    Is there a way we can make Carroll and Schneider see this great plan 😅
    Could be an absolute game changer for our defense (along with a good D-Line)

  51. 34shadow says:

    I don’t think paying players for the combine is the way to go, but probably not for the reasons you would think.
    1) Injuries. As it is structured now, players sign a waiver to participate in the drills that protects the league. They also can opt out of any drill for any reason. If the NFL attached payment of some kind to participation in the drills, players would be more likely to push themselves, even if they feel like they are injured. That could actually lead to an increase in injuries.

    2) Compensation. How much would they get? Does a guy from Southwest Alaska State get more than the guy from the U? How much would it take for Joe Burrow to throw a pass? What would they have to do to get their money? If compensation was attached equally to each drills, a player could still decide that $1K for a 40 time is not worth it.

    3) Participation. Some guys are simply not SPARQ’d up. Chase Young, for instance, has millions to lose if he runs a 4.85 40. No amount of compensation will get him to compete. The same thing can be said for any other high-level draft pick. You probably would see a slight increase in drill participation but it still wouldn’t move the needle.

    Overall, I think they need to invest heavily in the player experience. Have them compete in a Madden tournament. Get some NFL advertisers and vendors to show up and give the players a chance to increase their image/develop relationships. Call up some musical artists and give the players a chance to have a private concert. Invest heavily into the food spread, hire more trainers, etc. Essentially, make it for the players and about the players.

    I’m not averse to paying the players, I just think that it would make more sense to invest in the whole week first and then go from there.

    • Mark Souza says:

      I do think the should be paid for a number of reasons. First they’re taking a risk performing at the Combine. They should be compensated for that risk. Second, to make sure you get maximum participation at the combine. To try to assure maximum participation, I would offer one rate for showing up, and additional money for every drill or test participated in.

      The Combine is very important to the NFL for a number of reasons. First, everyone is competing on a level playing ground. The same surface. Electronic timing which takes out the human error factor. A typical 40 with handheld stopwatches and you get 10 different times on ten different watches with a varition band of a couple tenths.

      Second, you get to see player versus player in the drills. Who is smooth, quick and athletic. The differences are much more easily observed when they are in the same place at the same time.

      Third, the common site at the combine means much less travel for teams rather than 70 trips around the country trying to catch individual pro days. The way this year played out felt like the beginning of the end for the Combine – so many players not running or participating. For all the reasons above, I wan tthe Combine to continue strong. Give the players incentive to show up and participate, even the highly regarded players who fear they won’t increase their draft value by participating.

      • 34shadow says:

        You are correct in that they are taking risks. However, they are taking risks because there is a very real reward attached to those risks. If you run a great 40, jump out of the dome or catch everything in sight, you will be handsomely rewarded. Of course the opposite is true as well…

        Also, let’s say everyone gets $10k and an extra $1k per drill, would that be enough to have Chaisson or Moss work out? What if, to collect the money, they just jogged the 40? Would that help anyone?

        In the end, I think the risks are simply too high for some players to participate. For instance, what would’ve happened if DK simply skipped the agility drills? There’s a good argument he would’ve been drafted in the first round. Arguably, he lost ~$5M (the difference between the #32 and #64 pick in the draft).

    • Awsi Dooger says:

      More and more players are going to bail on the combine, or skip specific tests, for the reasons you mentioned. Why should Tee Higgins show up and run 4.65 when there’s an obsession with timed speed at his position?

      In most ways I think it’s remarkable the attrition has been delayed this long

  52. Trevor says:

    Rob if for some reason the Hawks don’t sign Clowney. What is Plan B in your opinion.

  53. Cawww says:

    Watching the combine and seeing so few CBs, DEs, etc fit the Seahawks athletic profiles of each position, what is the one threshold that you wish they would look past/make exceptions for?

    • Rob Staton says:

      None.

      These thresholds created the best team in Seahawks history. The prior regime didn’t have any thresholds and look at the results.

      • Simo says:

        This isn’t a draft suggestion but perhaps they would make an exception to the thresholds for someone like Ngakoue? He doesn’t have the Hawks ideal traits for edge/LEO, but has had excellent production so far in his four year career.

  54. Steve Nelsen says:

    Now that the combine is over we have most of the information we need to start putting together an off-season plan. Pro Days may add some information and Free Agency will be in a constant state of flux as players sign or become available.

    But, the starting point to the off-season plan hasn’t changed. What does Seattle need?
    Seattle had a top 5 offense and was the top seed in the NFC late in November. They had a poor pass rush, did not defend the run well and missed way too many tackles. Ultimately, their offense was derailed at the end of the season by injuries to multiple starters (TE Dissly, RB Carson, LT Brown, C Britt, RB Prosise and RB Penny). Russell Wilson didn’t have enough weapons left to carry a bottom-tier Seattle defense to a championship.

    As it stands today, Seattle has 5 vacant starting positions; 3 on the defensive line and 2 on the offensive line. Plus, they need RB depth, a #3 WR, depth on the OL and depth on the DL.

    5 vacant starting positions
    1. DL 5-tech: re-sign Clowney or another FA/trade. There is not a replacement starter on the roster. There is not a replacement rookie starter in the draft.

    2. DL LEO: Replace Ansah with FA/trade. There is not a replacement starter on the roster. There is not a replacement rookie starter in the draft. (Maybe Okwara or Gross-Matos depending on Pro-Day results.)

    3. DL 3-tech: re-sign Reed or another FA/trade. There is not a replacement starter on the roster. There may be a potential rookie starter in the draft who can help against the run and be a developmental interior pass rusher. Raekwon Davis is an example.

    4. OL RT to replace Ifedi. Pete Carroll mentioned Jamarco Jones as a potential starter. Could sign a low-cost veteran FA as a hedge. Isaiah Wilson is a potential rookie starter. There are numerous other rookies who could be projects to work behind a veteran FA for a year or so. Could re-sign Ifedi or Fant to a low-cost deal if their FA market is not as competitive as they hoped.

    5. LG to replace Iupati. I think either Jamarco Jones or Phil Haynes can earn a starting spot. Could re-sign Iupati for another year as a low-cost hedge.

    Key backups or depth.

    6. RB depth to replace Penny and Prosise. There is not a potential starter on the roster behind Carson. There are potential rookie RBs available in the draft.

    7. #3 WR to replace Brown. There is not a replacement on the roster. There are numerous potential rookies available in the draft. There are veterans for FA/trade but this might not be the best use of salary cap.

    8. DL depth: Re-sign Jefferson and Woods. There are potential replacements on the roster in Green and Collier. There will be low-cost veteran FAs available late in free-agency.

    9. OL depth: Re-sign or replace OT Fant and C Hunt. Jamarco Jones or Phil Haynes will be quality depth if they do not earn a starting spot. There are numerous potential rookie depth players in the draft at OT, OG and C.

    10. TE depth: I think the signing of Olsen fills this need; especially if the team re-signs Hollister.

    • cha says:

      Great list! Are you considering Kendricks’ position filled by Barton/Amadi?

      #7 I think they’ll either tender David Moore or bring him back after he looks around in the market.

      • Steve Nelsen says:

        Yes, I think they bring back Kendricks as SAM and also continue to use him as a “big nickle.” Barton/Amadi are plan B at SAM and nickle.

    • Steve Nelsen says:

      There is enough FA money to re-sign Clowney and to re-sign Reed or a comparable DT and to sign a free agent LEO. But, after that you will probably need whatever is left for rookies, injuries and a few low-budget veteran FAs.

      That means we are going to have to find our RT, backup RB, #3 WR and some OL and DL depth in this draft. There is probably enough picks to get all that done even if they trade back from 27 given the strength of this draft in OL, WR and RB. But, I think if we trade 27, it will make it harder to fill those needs with rookies. And I think creating more vacant starters by cutting Britt or KJ or McDougald would make it harder still.

      If Seattle goes RT, DL, WR and RB with their first four picks, they still need at least one more OL, probably another RB, and probably another DL on Day 3.

  55. all i see is 12s says:

    Not sure if anyone saw this but in Peter Kings article on PFT last night, he writes:
    ” Lots of pass-rush-needy teams asking about Jadeveon Clowney, worried about his inconsistency and injury history.”

    On the surface, much of this is obvious talking points that we have been discussing in depth. However, this is Peter King were talking about. He doesn’t put this stuff out there without real weight behind it. If this truly is a league wide attitude toward Clowney, then I have to believe the Seahawks have even more of an inside track to resign him.

      • all i see is 12s says:

        Cant tell if your being serious, but I’ll take it. I just thought it relevant that a major reporter casting doubts on JC’s true market value. Was surprised it didn’t get noticed more on Seahawks twitter.

        BTW- cant even tell you how grateful I am for your work on this site. It is essential for hardcore Hawk fans.

  56. john_s says:

    After the combine and seeing how players tested, i am of the though that i want some dogs on defense. Kyle Duggar,Rashard Lawrence and Willie Gay are some dogs who are both leaders and can lead the defense for the next decade. They would instantly improve the physicality of the defense.

    1st – Kyle Duggar – I think he fits at SS. Question is what do you do with Blair, but Duggar is a stud.
    2nd – Rashard Lawrence – Undeniable leader of LSU defense. Plays with a fire and passion
    2nd – Willie Gay Jr – his testing #’s are very similar to BWagz. Not saying he’s going to be a HOF player.
    3rd – Khalid Kareem – DE prospect, in the mold of Frank Clark. Unfortunately we did not see him test.
    4th – Denzel Mims – Chunk play guy. Line up DK and Mims on the outside and Lockett in the middle with Olson
    5th – Hakeem Adeniji – RT of the future. I would like to sign Cordy Glenn to play RT for a year
    6th – Rico Dowdle – Fits the measurements. Tough runner
    7th – James Morgan – intriguing QB prospect.

    • Steve Nelsen says:

      Rashard Lawrence could fit as part of the DL rotation.

      I like Denzel Mims as a potential #3 WR in the 2nd round.

      Hakeem Adeniji is a great project but he is more likely to be the RG of the future.

  57. Ukhawk says:

    So now can’t wait for FA to begin on March 15th

    In the meantime, any inside leads on where to best track workouts and team meeting?

    Walter Football has this list so far of Seahawk prospect meetings:
    Bradley Anae, DE/3-4OLB, Utah (COM)
    Zack Baun, 3-4OLB/OLB, Wisconsin (COM)
    Ross Blacklock, DT/3-4DE, TCU (COM)
    Hunter Bryant, TE, Washington (COM)
    Trevon Diggs, CB, Alabama (COM)
    A.J. Dillon, RB/FB, Boston College (COM)
    Kristian Fulton, CB, LSU (COM)
    Yetur Gross-Matos, DE/3-4OLB, Penn State (COM)
    Zack Moss, RB, Utah (COM)
    Julian Okwara, 3-4OLB/OLB, Notre Dame (COM)
    Jalen Reagor, WR, TCU (COM)
    Logan Stenberg, G, Kentucky (COM)

    Liking so Mc e but not all…

  58. SonGoku says:

    John Schneider mentioned that they have to improve the secondary. Maybe this is the year they take a CB earlier. Could Trevon Diggs fall to the second round? Is Tony Jefferson a candidate for a prove-it-deal?

    • Rob Staton says:

      He actually said he wasn’t satisfied with the secondary play. Which doesn’t really mean anything per se. He could simply expect their existing players to perform better.

      • Steve Nelsen says:

        Yes, he specifically mentioned Tre Flowers, Marquise Blair and Ugo Amadi as players who could reasonably be expected to improve.

  59. […] yesterday’s combine review I proposed the Seahawks trade up for Isaiah Simmons. It’s unrealistic, yes. I don’t think it will happen. I think they’ll do what […]